CollectionDX Network

Vegetius (Glow)

Comments

11 comments posted
Glow

Clear and Chrome is always great, but I forget how cool Glow in the dark is. A Great toy!

Nice Review!

LF

We'll fight them on the Beaches!

Modcineaste's picture
Posted by Modcineaste on 30 July, 2008 - 10:30
Sweet

Nice review. I don't own any vinyls, because they're not really my sort of thing, but this one looks so damn cool I might actually make a feeble attempt to catch one on the aftermarket!

However, due to my lack of experience, I am wondering about something. Is this figure hollow and squishy, or a solid chunk of material?

Gareth Infinity's picture
Posted by Gareth Infinity on 30 July, 2008 - 17:57
Well, I don't have mine in

Well, I don't have mine in hand yet, but I'd guess that it's pretty firm. Vinyls are always hollow, but some are squishier than others.

While this glow figure is nice, I think I'm glad I decided to go for the regular non-glow version. It just looks a bit more natural to me than this does..

"This must be settled the way nature intended....with a vicious, bloody fight!"
Onyx Blackman
Principal, Flatpoint High

NekroDave's picture
Posted by NekroDave on 31 July, 2008 - 13:35
I got the non-glow as

I got the non-glow as well... The glow looked silly to me on this one. I mean, the whole character is silly, but it looked like a 3 year old that got into mom's makeup box.

------------------------------
CollectionDX Admin

JoshB's picture
Posted by JoshB on 31 July, 2008 - 14:02
Well...

Out of curiosity, what does the non-glow look like? It's possible I may like that one better as well.

Gareth Infinity's picture
Posted by Gareth Infinity on 31 July, 2008 - 20:20
Vegetius

You can see the regular color Vegetius here.

"This must be settled the way nature intended....with a vicious, bloody fight!"
Onyx Blackman
Principal, Flatpoint High

NekroDave's picture
Posted by NekroDave on 31 July, 2008 - 21:34
Ah!

Okay, thanks. I can see the appeal in that one as well but I think I still like the glow better. Not like I'm ever actually going to own one, anyways...

So for now, this will have to do for my recent glowie lust (took me by complete surprise...I haven't always been like this!)

http://www.bigbadtoystore.com/bbts/product.aspx?product=KAI10084&mode=retail&picture=in

Gareth Infinity's picture
Posted by Gareth Infinity on 1 August, 2008 - 07:52
awesome pictures!

awesome pictures! great review! I think i'll buy one of these and throw away my desk lamp!

The Big R's picture
Posted by The Big R on 31 July, 2008 - 21:23
To me glows always look like

To me glows always look like the toys that sat at the bottom of the ol' toy box covered in a combination of dirt, dried spit and the after effects of candy being held in sweaty little hands. I never wanted to touch them back then and it's carried over to my adult life.
Honestly, it kind of blows my mind that $65 is the asking price here. Don't get me wrong though, there is a lot urban vinyl that I feel deserves to command these prices, but it's not often standard kaiju.
On a half serious note, if you go into the baby toys section of your average grocery store, or even the pet toys section in your local Pet Smart, you can find similar toys for less than $5. Some of them are actually really cool. I don't mean this as an insult to the product, just an observation.

xiombarg's picture
Posted by xiombarg on 1 August, 2008 - 10:49
Well, the major factor with

Well, the major factor with the price is the # of pieces run. With dog toys, you are running hundreds of thousands of pieces, no articulation, no paint apps. So its no wonder that they are so cheap. Also, those are made in china and thailand. Japanese vinyl is low run (often under 100 peices) so you can't get the volume discounts.

------------------------------
CollectionDX Admin

JoshB's picture
Posted by JoshB on 1 August, 2008 - 11:23
AHA! So now we see what

AHA! So now we see what Sanjeev and his arch nemesis SkyDeviler look like in a battle pic together. Yikes .

repairtechjon's picture
Posted by repairtechjon on 1 August, 2008 - 19:48
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net