CollectionDX Network

MP-10 Convoy

Comments

23 comments posted
This is incredibly gorgeous,

This is incredibly gorgeous, but I'm waiting for the Ultra Magnus repaint and armor. This thing looks like a beast.

Jmann's picture
Posted by Jmann on 22 October, 2011 - 23:05
cool

It's very cool. I always love Optimus Prime figures. The price is indeed expensive. I'm still thinking about buying this Prime. Maybe I will save some money first T_T

sollblade's picture
Posted by sollblade on 22 October, 2011 - 23:06
I truly believe this is now

I truly believe this is now the definitive Convoy. The looks are some much better and the transformation is amazing.

If only I didn't have three of them robot planes pre-ordered I would have gotten this.

p.s. everyone is going to say you forgot to flip down the little ladder that fills in the gap between the gas tanks and wheel well.

VF5SS's picture
Posted by VF5SS on 22 October, 2011 - 23:06
I also forgot to move the

I also forgot to move the smokestacks...oops

chachipower's picture
Posted by chachipower on 27 October, 2011 - 22:21
Meh. Looks too much like the

Meh. Looks too much like the last one.

Dkun's picture
Posted by Dkun on 22 October, 2011 - 23:32
great review

great review...but for me...I did per-ordered and canceled...and after your your review thank god i did...too many convoy and i am so disappointed how only mp-01 is high die-cast content....like you said most die-cast from this line is just structural. I will dodge masterpiece releases because too me all you get is huge $$ for little. As i said great review and wonderfully done, just after so much die-cast in Mp-01...every release since then has been masterpiece in money only to me. The only Masterpiece I will own will be.from Wal-mart clearance for under 40 bucks..

AJProDie-Cast's picture
Posted by AJProDie-Cast on 23 October, 2011 - 00:45
1 quick note

An amazing review for the most iconic Transformer in existence. I thought i might add a little something though, as you mentioned the articulation has improved a great deal, an added gimmick i recently discovered is that you can extend his feet inward. In other words, Optimus' feet slide out of place for some added articulation, extending the range he can spread his legs apart when standing. This was an amazing move and i found you can pull off some very dynamic poses with this added move. give it a try.

PS: Again I'll say, loving your custom painted Hotrod !

TILL ALL ARE ONE !!

Mazinkaizer's picture
Posted by Mazinkaizer on 23 October, 2011 - 03:31
Nice toy, but....

The presence of the MP-01 figure is far more grand & fitting of an Optimus Prime figure. Can't see any reason to shell out the cash on this one if you've already got the MP-01.

Having said that though, if your buying your first 'high-end' Optimus, this one is hard to beat thanks to all the little accessories & improved engineering over MP-01. But if like me, you really only buy these toys so you can view them behind glass & only occasionally pull them out for a photo shoot etc, stick with the MP-01, it's way more impressive when it's just standing there.

north-exit's picture
Posted by north-exit on 23 October, 2011 - 02:38
I've always wanted an Optimus

I've always wanted an Optimus figure to add to my collection, and I've always been at ends about MP-01. This year i was fortunate enough to attend a comic-con convention where i happened to stumble upon a booth that was selling MP-01. It's a nice looking figure but just didn't appeal to me, die cast is great and all but it felt a little bulky. Personally, having the right articulation is a priority for me, its what brings my figures alive. When i saw the pictures of MP-10 all over the net i was instantly sold !! Now i find myself changing his pose once every few days, each one more admired than the last.

Mazinkaizer's picture
Posted by Mazinkaizer on 23 October, 2011 - 03:27
Great review!

Thank you for the great review. This is one impressive figure, a lot more so than I originally thought. I too was put off by the size and the cost. Right now on my shelf I have my MP-1 Prime next to my MP Megatron and they are in perfect scale. I also have my MP Rodimus next to my re-issue Takara purple Galvatron, which although smaller than Prime and Megatron, are in perfect scale with each other. I sorta like have the original leaders standing taller than their replacements :)

Unless they make a smaller Megatron in scale with this Prime, I will have to hold off on this figure.

SDFcommander's picture
Posted by SDFcommander on 23 October, 2011 - 07:45
Good mold, BAD business

The MP-10 release will probably be marred by the circumstances leading up to it.

Before this, Takara had reissued the original Masterpiece Convoy mold under the banner of "LAST CONVOY!"

Releasing a new version of the same mold right after that seems like a bait-and-switch to me.

SirAzrael's picture
Posted by SirAzrael on 23 October, 2011 - 07:56
I might be skeptical if I

I might be skeptical if I owned any version of the masterpeice Optimus, but I never did break down and buy one. With each release I find myself glad that I did not; especially now! The pricetag is high...but honestly, it looks like there's a lot of display and play value for the money. The trailer has EVERY little thing that I loved about the original, but with a fully articulated Prime to go with it. As it is stated; there will probably be a US version....but I'm afraid if it doesn't have the trailer, I'm just not as interested. The trailer is a fantastic addition!

Alexx's picture
Posted by Alexx on 23 October, 2011 - 12:10
Looks good but

I have to ask, does the head look as disproportionately small in person as it does in photographs? It's the only thing really turning me off of this figure. You make it look really good in your pictures though so maybe it's a matter of perspective.

Now to wait for the inevitable Ultra Magnus/Nemesis Prime/Shattered Glass/Crystal Version/Lucy Draw variants. It's cool that Takara went back and improved the design of the most popular character but how about an actual Ultra Magnus next time? Too bad they're just remaking Starscream though I wouldn't mind a Megatron that doesn't snap in half when you try to transform him.

The Galaxy Ranger's picture
Posted by The Galaxy Ranger on 23 October, 2011 - 12:49
I saw some promo pics of the

I saw some promo pics of the Ultra Magnus armor on TFW2005. I definitely will have to pick it up. It's rough right now, but I'm sure it'll be amazing once it's actually announced.

Jmann's picture
Posted by Jmann on 24 October, 2011 - 23:10
I haven't ever gotten an MP

I haven't ever gotten an MP Optimus/Convoy before, so I am tempted to get this. However, at $250 and a smaller size(I'm guessing about 18 cm or so) I can't justify buying this thing. Besides, as many other people have said, I'd rather wait for an Ultra Magnus release.

evaunit01's picture
Posted by evaunit01 on 23 October, 2011 - 20:56
Picture Tip

Quick picture tip: Try using .png instead of .jpg for pictures with lots of red in them. JPEG compression really makes the color red look weird with lots of artifacts and color bleeding. Really nice review, though! Wishing I had the money for one of these now!

P.S. No missile launchers in the repair bot? No metal plates in the trailer walls for little magnet-footed Diaclone pilots to walk on?

Ginrai's picture
Posted by Ginrai on 24 October, 2011 - 00:11
question

i noticed that...do you set the camera or format the pictures after???

AJProDie-Cast's picture
Posted by AJProDie-Cast on 24 October, 2011 - 17:56
In many cases, it'll actually

In many cases, it'll actually be the digital camera's sensor or internal color processing (or even the automatic white balancing) that has trouble with bright, vibrant reds. However, if you suspect the file format is part of the cause, you may want to see if your camera can shoot in "raw" format, which you may then have to convert into a regular image file before you edit it.

recognizer's picture
Posted by recognizer on 26 October, 2011 - 19:45
I do some post processing but

I do some post processing but my reds look fine in the original picture. It isnt until I upload the pictures that the spots appear. I think the site compresses the files to save space and the compression probably brings out those artifacts. I will try the .png suggestion next time i get something with lots of reds.

chachipower's picture
Posted by chachipower on 27 October, 2011 - 22:25
I LOVE the head sculpt on

I LOVE the head sculpt on this. The original MP Prime's one was... a little off? Not that it looked bad, but it didn't look like the Prime I imagine in my head. This one does.

... however, the rest of the proportions I don't like. He has gorilla arms and legs, and I'm not crazy about it. For 60 bucks, I'm in, but 250? That's a pass even for me. :(

Dre2Dee2's picture
Posted by Dre2Dee2 on 24 October, 2011 - 07:21
I've gone from being a GIANT

I've gone from being a GIANT transformer fan (I own like 250-something TF toys) to basically not caring. Sure part of that may be the quality of the films (allthough I liked them more than most online fans),part of it might be starting a family and having less space,but most of it is HasTak going to the same well so many times.
Nothing against this figure,on its own,it looks great. But how do I justify buying this when I already have at least 12 toys of the same character? Yeah,each one's slightly different,but at the end of the day I own,like I said,at least 12 red and blue toy trucks,from Hotwheels size to huge size,that turn into toy robots with windshield chests. Do I really need one more?
It's not just OP,either,TF is all rehash now. How many Megatrons are there? How many Bumblebees? Soundwaves?
And in all these cases,the iconic versions most fans prefer are still the originals!

Towards the end of my TF collecting,I felt like one of those poor souls collecting Batman TAS figures in the 90's. "Let's see,do I already have Arctic Sky Surf Assault Batman,or was that Beach Party Urban Camo Batman?" "Well,which Batman's your favorite?" "The blue and gray one I bought first,of course."

kidnicky's picture
Posted by kidnicky on 26 October, 2011 - 17:29
selective collecting

Why not sell all your G1 rehashes and reinvest in only Transformers that are fresh, new concepts? For instance, Hatchet from the last movie line is one of the most unusual, fascinating Transformers in years - he's a jet that transforms into a four-legged beast with a head coming out of the engine nozzles and a cockpit on its tail. The movie toylines and the general "Transformers" lines that came in between the movies have gotten out a lot of really unique products in the smaller price points, like Ransack the biplane and the whole Real Gear line. Since the end of the Armada/Energon/Cybertron era, the products have diversified a lot and when you set aside the products that are continuing the "Classics" line, I think the post-movie Transformers line franchise is showing more originality in theme and design than it has since the early years of Beast Wars.

recognizer's picture
Posted by recognizer on 26 October, 2011 - 19:35
The biplane was a little

The biplane was a little flimsy but I did like it. I'll have to check out Hatchet.
I don't think I'm at the point where I want to sell off anything yet,I just feel like I'm at a point where I should be selective about what I add to the already huge pile.

kidnicky's picture
Posted by kidnicky on 26 October, 2011 - 21:08
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net