CollectionDX Network

Tensou Gattai Series 03 - Skick Brothers Set

Comments

15 comments posted
This toy is just...not right.

This toy is just...not right. Garish in the bad way, complicated in an ugly way. All the ideas that I see at work are good, though: lots of accessories, heads with lasers in the mouths...the execution just falls flat. And what is with that sword? I'm no swordsman, but generally speaking, having a handle as big as the blade is pretty cumbersome. I know that brave yuusha had a giant sword that interfaced with another robot in the same way, but that was completely awesome.

jacksauce's picture
Posted by jacksauce on 31 October, 2010 - 16:35
Re: This toy is just...not right.

Oh, and don't forget about Cloud's giant blades in "FFVII" (which I never played but are famous in figures).

But, yeah, the Gosei Machines fall flat on their over-exposed faces.

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 3 November, 2010 - 15:57
I haven't collected any of

I haven't collected any of the toys,but I've watched a couple episodes of the show,and it is awesome!

kidnicky's picture
Posted by kidnicky on 31 October, 2010 - 16:40
Re: I haven't collected any of

In the past, if I wasn't thrilled with the toy line, I could still watch the show. But this time the toys are such a put-off that it's influencing my opinion of the show, and I just can't bring myself to watch it.

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 3 November, 2010 - 15:55
Total fail

I see total fail on all aspects of this toy. Bad gimmick, bad design. Yup, it's a total clustercrap.

makaikishi's picture
Posted by makaikishi on 4 November, 2010 - 01:07
Re: Total fail

Wait 'til you see what I have to say about Gosei Ground...

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 4 November, 2010 - 01:54
Only things I see that are

Only things I see that are decent about GoseiGround are the "Headmaster" and the sheer size of the lion... Honestly I wouldn't be surprised if that thing gets a bad review.

Oh. Right. Sorry, this is for the Skick brothers. Not exactly a fan of the headder gimmick overrall, but if I did have to pick one, I would have gone with the Seaick Brothers, mainly because I love the idea of Pirate Robots (C'mon Gokaiger...) such as Captain Shark.

secretcode's picture
Posted by secretcode on 4 November, 2010 - 18:12
Ultimate clustercrap

I need to see their Ultimate clustercrap formation so I can laugh at its sheer and utter stupid design the whole day.

makaikishi's picture
Posted by makaikishi on 4 November, 2010 - 20:22
Re: Ultimate clustercrap

So far as I am aware, we aren't getting any more mecha, so Ultimate Gosei Great may be the final combo in the series... an appropriately disappointing end to a disappointing year, if I do say so myself.

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 5 November, 2010 - 00:25
I've had the opposite problem

I've had the opposite problem with Goseiger. I haven't really enjoyed the show, especially after how much I loved Shinkenger, so the toys have lost a lot of interest for me.

TheMarkSewell's picture
Posted by TheMarkSewell on 4 November, 2010 - 07:09
I like the "Taka Header"

I like the "Taka Header" helmet, reminds me of the Shogun Megazord.

ZeldaTheSwordsman's picture
Posted by ZeldaTheSwordsman on 13 October, 2012 - 07:51
Nice omission

Way to leave out the SRP, genius. And of course you've probably forgotten by now.

Kinda surprised this was the set you rated "least ridiculous", comparing the hats.
I would say the Seaick Brothers set is far better as far as what Gosei Great gets out of it: a hammer, a sawsword, and a stylish pirate hat.

ZeldaTheSwordsman's picture
Posted by ZeldaTheSwordsman on 18 August, 2021 - 02:11
LOL. Just wow.

First off, congrats for becoming the most whiny member of this site I've seen in my more than 10 years of stay here. People here have more or less moved on with their lives and will not likely to answer you back on your rants that you make every now and then. I seldom visit this site and all I see in the recent comments are your rants about old toy reviews and attacking the reviewers themselves again.

Second, I'm one of those people who say the Header gimmick and much of Goseiger's toy line sucks...it's called having a different opinion. Yes, you can have your own opinion in this day and age.

Third, if you want to make a "redundant review," please make it a point to reel in your incessant whining for once and focus on just the toy itself.

makaikishi's picture
Posted by makaikishi on 29 August, 2021 - 22:37
1) Today is your lucky day!

1) Today is your lucky day! I came in to look for a reference, and I saw your response.... and responded to the person you responded to.

2) https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mj40q_nNPFk (part 1)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=b5zUPDJjG3Y (part 2)

3) I feel like this one's aimed at ME specifically. =|

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 16 September, 2021 - 02:50
At the time, the SRP function

At the time, the SRP function had to be entered in manually; all the other information you see there is automated from a drop-down menu. So, at the time (and at this point it's been long enough I genuinely don't remember) it's possible there wasn't anywhere TO enter in the MSRP, except within the text of the review itself.

I prefer over-the-shoulder cannons on mecha, mecha birds, and the three-pointed helmet was appealing too. The pirate hat was dumb, and the miss-matched feet on the other wasn't doing anything for me either.

My selection of the Skick Brothers Set to review was based purely on a lesser-of-evils scale: it was the one that *I* disliked the least.

https://youtu.be/LsLT7lESLbs

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 16 September, 2021 - 02:45