CollectionDX Network

Manticore Megazord

Comments

18 comments posted
Two shout-outs

Oy- two shout-outs in the same review... what are the odds of that happening again? Mwa-ha-ha-ha.

In my opinion, the DX Chouzetsu Gougou Gattai DaiVoyager/Deluxe Battlefleet Megazord from the following year's "Boukenger"/"PROO" ranks only slightly above the MagiLegend/Manticore Megazord here. Though I think I might put the DX Kinkyuu Gougou Gattai Siren Builder (no US-release for this one) slightly above that; both did very little for a lot of money. But surely the DX Jyuken Kyojin SaiDaiOh from "GekiRanger" (2007) (not named yet in "PR Jungle Fury") is on the same rung as MagiLegend- it has an automated transformation (which use magnets to activate), its inarticulate, not very poseable, has a motorized walking action (with legs that move in both modes, which is new), and is basically another big expensive lump of plastic that breaks the trend set by earlier mecha in the series (which is why I won't be covering it for CDX either).

Speaking of things forgotten, I don't know about the "PRMF" version of things (I only saw, like, the first three episodes just to see what was going on), but in "MagiRanger", the MagiLegend here could use the lion paws in robot mode as well, and then switch over to the hands for hanging on to the spear-like Screw Calibur.

The question should really be: "Is this a good deal on a piece of garbage?" ^_^

Good review, NekroDave. I bow in honor of your $11 sacrifice so that we may also not be led astray.
------------------------------
CollectionDX Staff

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 15 June, 2008 - 10:00
Re: Two shout-outs

Oh, one other thing I forgot that's a bit on the glaring side...

The bird sittin' on top of the Mystic Lion here is actually called the Mystic Firebird; the Red Ranger himself (in his regular form) becomes the humanoid-shaped Mystic Phoenix Titanzord that is part of the Titan Megazord. Here, in Legend mode, he creates the Mystic Firebird.

(In "MagiRanger", they were MagiFirebird and MagiLion, respectively.)
------------------------------
CollectionDX Staff

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 15 June, 2008 - 11:03
Nice vid review Dave

Look at you go. :) I'd really like to see you do more videos in the future. :) Either way a great unbiased review as always.

___________________
CollectionDX Writer

Atom's picture
Posted by Atom on 15 June, 2008 - 10:40
Thanks guys, for your

Thanks guys, for your compliments/help, guys. Unfortunately, the space between my buying this toy/playing with it/taking the pics for the review and when I actually wrote the review and shot the video was too long so I forgot a couple things in the meantime.

When I inherited the camera from my brother, I looked around at all my toys to find something that actually had something worth showing on video and this was all I could find! Hahaha. I've since acquired a Five Robo Jumbo Machinder (which you can actually see for a split second at the very end of the video here. I decided to add the failed transformation attempts at the last second and didn't notice it) and I've got a video review for that ready to go. Just have to write the actual text review before I upload it.

"This must be settled the way nature intended....with a vicious, bloody fight!"
Onyx Blackman
Principal, Flatpoint High

NekroDave's picture
Posted by NekroDave on 15 June, 2008 - 11:35
Any differences with the Original ?

Does anyone know if this guy is different from the magilegend, since both the magilegend and Travelion came to our shores untouched ?

"Awww man, that's one ugly zord..." Tommy about BA Drivemax Megazord.

Christopher Andre's picture
Posted by Christopher Andre on 15 June, 2008 - 17:21
Off the top of my head

Off the top of my head (having seen only photos of both), there's a lot of gold paint missing from the megazord; mostly because the plastic was already gold-colored when made. If you look closely, you can see a single colored stripe for each of the four Rangers that make up the Mystic Lion Zord; while that is the same, oddly Yellow's (on the right shoulder) is painted gold! And both the coloring [and possibly materials] for the chains beneath the Megazord's arms were changed to black instead of the original [die-cast metal?] gold.

But features- and molds-wise (much as both of those sucketh), they seem to be the same.

...

Oh BTW, Christopher, that is a great signature you have; Tommy commenting on the DMM. :D
------------------------------
CollectionDX Staff

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 15 June, 2008 - 20:36
11$?

11 $ and lot of complains??? Wow, this thing mus be really bad! Out here, the toy still at 60$ mark!

Berserk's picture
Posted by Berserk on 15 June, 2008 - 18:44
Fused legs of Sentai robots

I wonder if we will be able to see big scaled sentai mechas that don't need their legs to be fused...

Even with the $11 price tag, I still prefer buying MagiKing over this.

makaikishi's picture
Posted by makaikishi on 16 June, 2008 - 22:22
That really isn't all that

That really isn't all that uncommon with big/carrier-type Super Sentai mecha. Most of them weren't designed to walk around on-screen in the earlier series; being designed to remain in place, fly/hover, or use wheels/tractor treads to get about. The problem in recent years, however, is that the big mecha now have the need to walk about with their legs rather than roll or fly-

  • Bakuryuu Gattai MaxOhJa ("AbaRanger", 2003)
  • Choukyodai Kidou DekaBase Robo ("DekaRanger", 2004)
  • Densetsu Gasshin MagiLegend ("MagiRanger", 2005)
  • Chouzetsu Gougou Gattai DaiVoyager ("Boukenger", 2006)
  • Jyuken Kyojin SaiDaiOh ("GekiRanger", 2007)

That is what's wrong with these toys nowadays- they're being designed with legs that aren't utilized or apparent in toy form. Notice, also, that it's just bang-bang-bang-bang one right after the other for the last five years. The Revolver Mammoth from "Hurricanger" did have wheels in the series, but it also had moving armored sections that looked like legs; which carried over to the toy. All before this, if a carrier had a humanoid-shaped form, there was an indent to imply a split between legs, but they were non-functional and couldn't move.

I do have to wonder why it is that they've been doing this lately...

...

Dude, MagiKing pwnes more than a few of first lead mecha from some of the other series!
------------------------------
CollectionDX Staff

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 17 June, 2008 - 17:02
Does anyone else find it odd

Does anyone else find it odd that this was put out by Bandai Creation, and not just plain old Bandai? They are 2 distinct branches of a parent company,

------------------------------
CollectionDX Admin

JoshB's picture
Posted by JoshB on 17 June, 2008 - 08:43
I was under the impression

I was under the impression that BCreation was a US branch-only, and that they're the ones who come up with stuff that either that appears only in PR or wasn't in Super Sentai.
------------------------------
CollectionDX Staff

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 17 June, 2008 - 17:07
Y'know, I did notice that

Y'know, I did notice that but I wasn't sure if it was significant since all the Power Ranger toys I'd actually bought in a store previous to this one were Jumbos, and hence also from Bandai Creation.

"This must be settled the way nature intended....with a vicious, bloody fight!"
Onyx Blackman
Principal, Flatpoint High

NekroDave's picture
Posted by NekroDave on 17 June, 2008 - 15:10
Thanks for the review. I did

Thanks for the review.

I did see one at my local Toys R Us for about £25, I considered taking the plunge myself but in the end opted against it. Quite glad I made that choice now.

Personally I think the other problem with a lot of the larger mecha these days is that they don't serve a purpose within the line as a whole. Aside from the chest swapping this toy doesn't interact with any of the other Magiranger/Mystic Force toys, and even the chest swapping doesn't really make sense for this toy. The same goes for Dekabase Robo, aside from storage functions it had no interactivity with any of the Dekaranger line (I must say that I did like this one on the show though).

If they're going to keep releasing these it's time for a return to the 90s style carrier mecha that actually brought together all the component mecha, or at least something that feels like a key part of the line rather than something that was thrown in at the last minute for the sake of it.

James O's picture
Posted by James O on 19 June, 2008 - 09:12
Hopefully, this year

We might have a REAL ultrazord-like formation, since saidai-oh combines with the wolf, cheeta, jaguar, lion, chameleon and tiger gekibeast to form a new combination.
Also, even if the whole line looks odd to me, go-onger will also have a carrier zord that combine with the other!

"Awww man, that's one ugly zord..." Tommy about BA Drivemax Megazord.

Christopher Andre's picture
Posted by Christopher Andre on 19 June, 2008 - 10:39
I've been praying for a

I've been praying for a new Ultra-class combo since 1996 when the Zeo Ultrazord graced the small screen. We've had wanna-bes like the Riding TimeRobo Alpha, Ultimate DaiBouken, and SaiDaiGeki Fire & SaiDaiGeki Touja, but none of them has ever come close, IMHO, to the original Ultrazord/Kyuukyoku Daizyujin (which remains the standard by which I judge all others).

(Ya know, I take that back- the Revolver Gourai-Senpuujin & Revolver Tenrai-Senpuujin were pretty damed close, in my mind.)

BTW, Christopher, we didn't see RinLion and RinChameleon combine with any GekiBeasts other than when Geki-Rin Touja was formed. While the DX toys could certainly do it, they only did it just once in both the series and the movie.
------------------------------
CollectionDX Staff

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 19 June, 2008 - 13:25
Yes we did

In lesson 47 (Pika-Pika! My Path), both "teams" team up to form SaiDaiGekiRinTouja. This was its first and last appearence
"Awww man, that's one ugly zord..." Tommy about BA Drivemax Megazord.

Christopher Andre's picture
Posted by Christopher Andre on 19 June, 2008 - 21:54
Oh-? So it seems! I am

Oh-? So it seems! I am mistaken. Well, like I said earlier, I didn't care much for the GekiBeasts mecha, so I could easily have forgotten that combo. In this case, the show was better than the toy offerings for the year.
------------------------------
CollectionDX Staff

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 20 June, 2008 - 04:28
does anyone know, or care

does anyone know, or care enough to have wondered what the notches and tabs on the back of the mystic lion zord are/ were intended for? 'm only asking this now because I finally got around to pulling my manticore megazord out of storage. I guess I never really notices those pieces before, but now they're the only thing that has kept my attention about this toy. I agree with the prevailing opinion on this toy- it flat out sucks. I'm going to put this in a special place, right next to my american drivemax, silver titanus, and artillatron- and that place is oddly enough, back in the box.

ImAnAutobot's picture
Posted by ImAnAutobot on 12 February, 2009 - 00:40
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net