CollectionDX Network

Attack Tomahawk

Comments

15 comments posted
HATS OFF TO Modcineaste

you did a great review and a great job painting this guy. He looks awesome! Superb job!

Ligerbomb72's picture
Posted by Ligerbomb72 on 10 October, 2011 - 17:21
all that extra ammo just

all that extra ammo just means they explode faster :3

also didya ever notice that in the show the Tomahawk and Defender have green eyes but all the old box art and models say they should have red eyes

the Yamato toys also had red eyes to match the old box art

VF5SS's picture
Posted by VF5SS on 10 October, 2011 - 18:26
... Huh.

... Huh. Somehow I missed that. I guess I always just assumed the Yamato toys had green eyes.

Dkun's picture
Posted by Dkun on 10 October, 2011 - 20:07
You always point out those

You always point out those nuances that I don't ever seem to notice!

You also pointed out the VF on the lower legs of Valkyries that are on all the model kits but never seen in the TV series!

Very cool and thanks for pointing that out.

Maybe when I do the 1/72 Destroids I will use the green eyes!

Thanks!
LF

Modcineaste's picture
Posted by Modcineaste on 11 October, 2011 - 09:58
The Model Graphix May 2011

The Model Graphix May 2011 issue has a big Destroid section. Each article features screen caps of Destroids from the TV series showing the green eyes. Most of them are so off model that I began to wonder if the editor had a sense of humor or if the Destroids were just never drawn correctly :3

VF5SS's picture
Posted by VF5SS on 12 October, 2011 - 16:17
Green camera-eye! That should be very important!

As VF5SS-san pointed out, seems like we have been completely brainwashed by the old box-art....

It must be very important...
Like, I saw people bashing a photo of a cosplayer who wore PINK boots as a sailor moon cosplay "Her boots should be RED!" (but the fact was that the cosplayer just referred the live-action version's Sailor Moon in Japan).

Let's take a look at the original art.

Greeeeeeeeeeen! )@o@( Oh!

How about modelers in Japan? They know the fact?

Let's look at my friend's work.

Well...can't make sure. That must be a kit I gave him, though.


He's built kits of Tomahawk so many times, see another one...
http://tiny.cc/tomahawk_by_phantom
He colored RED! Even a veteran modeler like him also misses the point!

Very, very interesting......(^o^)

SamuraiAvenger's picture
Posted by SamuraiAvenger on 7 June, 2012 - 21:03
Oh do you know the person who

Oh do you know the person who runs the Nosutaru website? How did his original stop motion project work out?

VF5SS's picture
Posted by VF5SS on 7 June, 2012 - 21:10
The Stop-motion project has been suspended?

>>VF5SS-san,
Yes, I know him. We haven't met for a long time, though. I had a chance to talk with him on-line the other day.

I haven't asked about the stop-motion film "Gurudass". Vol.3 has been the last release...since.. 2009?
But looks like staffs still meet, continuously.

I think stop-motion film, I mean, the technic and passion are great.
I wanted to support him, somehow...but he didn't listen to other people's opinion.
You know what...the problem is ...the story sucks :p

SamuraiAvenger's picture
Posted by SamuraiAvenger on 8 June, 2012 - 12:15
I watched his website as he

I watched his website as he did build ups for all the models he used in the production. I was always curious about getting a copy of his stuff but I am sorry to hear the story isn't that interesting.

VF5SS's picture
Posted by VF5SS on 8 June, 2012 - 16:29
Cheap....that's what he intends!

>>VF5SS-san
Well, that was my opinion.
It really depends on what you expect.

Like, some enjoy songs by Hatsune Miku, while some don't understand those kinds of vocaloids.

Nostalgia-san intends to make a manga-like film with a cheap taste...like Aoshima's manga in 70s "Atranjer". Aoshima released actual manga series, while there were also manga artcles enclosed in Atranjer's plastic models.

Legendaly Atranjer's manga (link)
(Just a flash applet comes up. To proceed by clicking a picture of arrow right/be back to click the left arrow)

Yesterday, I asked him about the next movie.
As he said, "We want to change the taste to more like a cinema film on the next stuff. Old ones were TV-show-like, though." I guess he pointed out about camera-work or something.

SamuraiAvenger's picture
Posted by SamuraiAvenger on 12 June, 2012 - 15:24
Wow, simply awesome work! At

Wow, simply awesome work! At first glance I thought it was an old diecast toy that had chipped paint and turns out its a kit... great job on that silver pencil effect. I only have experience painting gloss things but I want to get into doing weathered old dull paint job effects in the future. Your kit reviews are inspiring.

chachipower's picture
Posted by chachipower on 10 October, 2011 - 22:10
Thanks Ligerbomb and CP! It

Thanks Ligerbomb and CP!

It is much appreciated being recognized for my model kit work! Thank you!

Yes I only started to use the Silver pencil effect within the last couple of years. they can be picked up at most art supply stores. Having tried many different techniques to get this effect , the silver pencil by far looks the best. I first saw it on a P-51 model kit and it blew me away because it really looked like chipped metal, I've used it ever since.

Josh B and I have discussed doing a Model Kit tutorial for CDX, I just haven't found the right kit that meets all the criteria to cover most the techniques I want to showcase. I say it will happen for sure next year.

Thanks again!

Leonardo

Modcineaste's picture
Posted by Modcineaste on 11 October, 2011 - 10:06
Model kit tutorial?

Please do. I could use the points. T 3 T;

Dkun's picture
Posted by Dkun on 11 October, 2011 - 10:31
Head closeup is funny

It looks like a face with the eyes popping out and the mouth agape.

"GET A LOAD OF THAT MELTRANDI! WHOOOOOOA!"

RobotBastard's picture
Posted by RobotBastard on 12 October, 2011 - 15:15
I remember Macross world had

I remember Macross world had a big discussion about the recent Waves 1/72 Tomahawk and the frog face look to it. A fine line between a cool looking Detroid and a frog face!

Modcineaste's picture
Posted by Modcineaste on 12 October, 2011 - 16:30
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net