CollectionDX Network

Grendizer Spazer

Comments

35 comments posted
Riding the spazer would

Riding the spazer would produce some crotch thrust action.

You can't escape it.

VF5SS's picture
Posted by VF5SS on 1 February, 2010 - 14:08
not a huge fan of jumbos...BUT

Never really like jumbos and the whole genre'...but this is one of the coolest things I have ever seen...as with all popy versions (I only saw and got some shogun ones) makes me truly wish i ahd a time machine that also flew...to go back to japan in the late 70's and get all this stuff...

AJProDie-Cast's picture
Posted by AJProDie-Cast on 1 February, 2010 - 14:10
Jumbo Machinder Grendizer Spazer

The photo of the Terebi-kun magazine clearly says at the top: "500 (kids) will win a giant Spazer every month!!". That's one heck of prize to win from a kids magazine.

Vifam7's picture
Posted by Vifam7 on 1 February, 2010 - 14:21
Well, that translation's

Well, that translation's certainly a step in the right direction!

Still..."every" month? I have a feeling there aren't more than 500 in total out there...

Anyway, thanks for the rest of the comments, guys! Yes, this one time, I will permit crotch-thrusting, Andrew! :P

--
Sanjeev

Sanjeev's picture
Posted by Sanjeev on 1 February, 2010 - 17:20
Nice find on these piece!

Nice find on this piece! Pretty nice play feature to be able to put him into his spazer :P

Dre2Dee2's picture
Posted by Dre2Dee2 on 1 February, 2010 - 15:07
Nice toy? But prototype? I'm

Nice toy? But prototype? I'm afraid not...what you got there is the cheapie SHOGUN WARRIORS half assed version with the stickers instead of the Duke Fleed "action figure", stuffed inexplicably in a Popy box...sorry Sanjeev, but you gotta keep hunting!

;-P

Harvey's picture
Posted by Harvey on 1 February, 2010 - 17:57
Sanjeev, thanks for showing

Sanjeev, thanks for showing the Spazer in the S.A.R. video ! I dont have any jumbos of my own but I remember envying some kid that had like 10 of them in their boxes when I was real young, they were almost as tall as me haha, I was freaked out by such huge robots, mesmerized actually, anyways for something so expensive to be shown and handled in the manner you did was great. Id expect someone to do the ol' Spinal Tap "Dont touch it" routine with something so valuable. I freaked when I realized a child could sit on it! Handle bars?! Awesome.

Thanks for sharing.

chachipower's picture
Posted by chachipower on 1 February, 2010 - 18:08
Totally cool!

This is really beautiful and in great shape. One question though: Are you concerned about scuffing up the cardboard on the inside of the spazer by putting Grendizer inside it?

Ginrai's picture
Posted by Ginrai on 1 February, 2010 - 18:58
OMG!!! 10k Grail and you are

OMG!!! 10k Grail and you are torturing it by hosting on top of a "walmart" rack!!!

Bring it over to my house.

Battousai's picture
Posted by Battousai on 1 February, 2010 - 19:03
Yeah, it's a little scary

Yeah, it's a little scary looking, but it's been confirmed to be safe there...so long as no drunken people who think it looks like a giant crab knock the entire shelf over or anything like that.

"You can't sell it until you get it from him, but you gotta sell it to pay him to get it to sell it".
---Jerilock, talking about me trying to raise the money I need to pay for the toys I already bought....

NekroDave's picture
Posted by NekroDave on 1 February, 2010 - 19:06
I think we established in

I think we established in the skullbrain thread that it was in fact sold in stores, along with being a mail away item. Furtheremore, it seems you've got the store bought box and the mail away one is just a plain cardboard box with "Jumbo Machinder Spazer" written on it. No artwork, although it came with a big cardboard poster of a kid riding it.

"You can't sell it until you get it from him, but you gotta sell it to pay him to get it to sell it".
---Jerilock, talking about me trying to raise the money I need to pay for the toys I already bought....

NekroDave's picture
Posted by NekroDave on 1 February, 2010 - 19:04
Awsome score! Congrads! And

Awsome score! Congrads! And thanks for shareing, heard of this long ago but only now really seeing it. Fantastic review! :D

BraveMSW's picture
Posted by BraveMSW on 1 February, 2010 - 19:26
When I got my boxed Magnavox

When I got my boxed Magnavox Odessey2 a couple years ago,the rubber band around the instructions/warratny card/etc. was all wierd and brittle.

What's the deal with that carnival ride?

kidnicky's picture
Posted by kidnicky on 1 February, 2010 - 19:44
*Mouth agape*

That is the sexiest thing I have ever seen........ Ya know it's funny about the rubber bands, on my Mekanda jumbo I found that some of the rubber bands that retract the blades in the arm spinners were deteriorated while some were perfectly fine, elastic and all (no they weren't repros from what I could tell)... odd how that works.

"I had a choice, buy a new car or buy a Jumbo Machinder Green Ghost C3...it really wasn't a hard choice to make."

Jerilock's picture
Posted by Jerilock on 1 February, 2010 - 20:22
Congratulations, Sanjeev,

Congratulations, Sanjeev, and thanks for doing this review!!!!

The Big R's picture
Posted by The Big R on 1 February, 2010 - 20:58
What a grail! This is one I

What a grail! This is one I can really get behind. Hell, the SOC Grendizer was what led me to TBDX and this crazy hobby to begin with. LOL

Most excellent score and excellent specimen. You enjoy that puppy.

japester's picture
Posted by japester on 2 February, 2010 - 01:32
Heh...Harvey, if I had to

Heh...Harvey, if I had to hunt for another of these, I'd pass out!

Ginrai, I'm definitely not sweating scuffing the cardboard. I've been playing with this thing pretty consistently since I got it and there's definitely no damage so far. I'm not worried.

Battousai, that's a Target rack, thank you very much! ;)

Dave, you're right--I remember that post now. No one posted a scan (or photo) of the cardboard poster, so I totally forgot about that...

That Grendizer-in-Spazer ride has actually shown up in at least a couple carnivals in the US, kidnicky. Totally want one! Repairtechjon is on the case!

Jerilock, yeah, "vintage" rubber bands are a tricky thing. I've owned a couple Voltes V DX's and both had perfectly supple treads on the Volt Panzer...but I've heard plenty of stories of them crumbling on other specimens. Now, a crumbly one and a perfect one...in the same toy? That's just weird! Hey, but stuff happens...like orange Bazolers, apparently!

Jape, I'm with you, dude. I think the SoC Grendizer is what led me to TBDX and these communities. Thanks, bruh.

--
Sanjeev

Sanjeev's picture
Posted by Sanjeev on 2 February, 2010 - 18:02
Congrats

Congrats Sanjeev... It feels good, right? Fonding your Holly Grail...

Berserk's picture
Posted by Berserk on 2 February, 2010 - 20:13
As far as scratching the

As far as scratching the cardboard,IMO it's well worth the risk. People who buy toys and keep them sealed in package or locked away in storage are missing the point.
You need to dock Grendizer in the spazer,wheel him around the room,and shoot some missles at your vinyls.

BTW after our Revoltech Grendizer discussion,I started watching the show,and it's pretty cool.

kidnicky's picture
Posted by kidnicky on 2 February, 2010 - 20:41
I tend to agree. If the

I tend to agree. If the damage were severe (like, ripping up the color printed layer of the cardboard), I might have considered removing it, copying it, and installing the copy...but it's not at all. If there are a couple tiny creases, whatever. Time and entropy destroy all things. Enjoy 'em while you have 'em.

But at the same time, I *do* respect the guys who lock them away. It's just a different collecting mentality, I guess.

--
Sanjeev

Sanjeev's picture
Posted by Sanjeev on 3 February, 2010 - 10:20
POPY: GRENDIZER SPAZER

Congratulations, Sanjeev, and thanks for doing this review!!!! My grails are the Airwolf Replica Helmet (fully functional),the POPY Navette (from Ulysses 31)and the BANDAI Soul of Chogokins.

grendizer1975's picture
Posted by grendizer1975 on 3 February, 2010 - 13:46
Ah, Navette from Ulysses 31!

Ah, Navette from Ulysses 31! Very nice!

I'd love just to have the main ship, the Odyssey. Did High Dream ever release their version?

--
Sanjeev

Sanjeev's picture
Posted by Sanjeev on 3 February, 2010 - 14:22
Ulysses 31

I ended up with two Navettes in Near Mint condition, one even boxed. I also got the Elion/Elios shuttle (both by Popy) and the Odyssey (by High Dream). The High Dream offering is quite expensive but it is anime accurate, comes with a display stand and doesn't shoot missiles. The Iris is very well made and resembles an eye. The lens is simply amazing. If you still haven't got it Sanjeev go and buy one from France or Belgium. It's definitely worth it.

grendizer1975's picture
Posted by grendizer1975 on 9 February, 2010 - 17:18
POPY - ULYSSES 31 - LA NAVETTE D'ULYSSE

http://www.flickr.com/photos/45871998@N02/sets/72157622942564351/

Enjoy.

grendizer1975's picture
Posted by grendizer1975 on 9 February, 2010 - 17:21
Heh...when you posted about

Heh...when you posted about the Navette, I did a search to refresh my memory and your flickr page was one of the first things that came up!

Anyway, I'm still on the fence about High Dream's Odyssey. I mean, it's gorgeous, but I feel like I should hold out for the Popy toy. Now there's another hard-to-find toy!

--
Sanjeev

Sanjeev's picture
Posted by Sanjeev on 10 February, 2010 - 13:09
Yes, but how does it smell?

Yes, but how does it smell?

Mike's picture
Posted by Mike on 5 February, 2010 - 02:25
Like VICTORY. ;) -- Sanjeev

Like VICTORY.

;)

--
Sanjeev

Sanjeev's picture
Posted by Sanjeev on 5 February, 2010 - 14:38
It's certainly nicer to

It's certainly nicer to smell victory than defeat.

Thank you, thank you, I'll be here all week....

"You can't sell it until you get it from him, but you gotta sell it to pay him to get it to sell it".
---Jerilock, talking about me trying to raise the money I need to pay for the toys I already bought....

NekroDave's picture
Posted by NekroDave on 5 February, 2010 - 18:10
Spazer Auction

Spazer auction

well damn.

Seems like records are being set this year for desirable toys.

joshua fraser's picture
Posted by joshua fraser on 18 February, 2010 - 21:52
And I thought Sanjeev

And I thought Sanjeev overpaid. This being a $5000 toy seems like a lifetime ago now.

"You can't sell it until you get it from him, but you gotta sell it to pay him to get it to sell it".
---Jerilock, talking about me trying to raise the money I need to pay for the toys I already bought....

NekroDave's picture
Posted by NekroDave on 18 February, 2010 - 23:22
UGH! I wanted this Spazer so

UGH! I wanted this Spazer so badly when I was in Okinawa in the early 70s. I would see it in toy stores from time to time, but was never able to buy it. Though I do have an eraser version of it. I have about 10 or 12 pencil erasers made in the forms of different superheros.....Grandizer in the Spazer, Grandizer, Mazinger, Kamen Riders, etc......man I love these toys. Thankfully I never used them to actually erase anything!

JakeC's picture
Posted by JakeC on 8 December, 2010 - 02:07
I had my Grendizer jumbo out

I had my Grendizer jumbo out a little bit ago to snap some pics and found the order form, or entry form (not sure), for the Spazer that came with it when I bought it new in Okinawa. I posted a photo of it here: http://www.facebook.com/update_security_info.php?wizard=1#!/photo.php?fbid=489897225822&set=o.323534131408

Would be cool if someone can translate it. Also curious what the #111 is in the upper right corner.

JakeC's picture
Posted by JakeC on 11 January, 2011 - 01:59
Grendizer Spazer box

Hi. Could you please let me know the box measurment? I am going to make a box to store my spazer....Thank you!

getta123's picture
Posted by getta123 on 8 September, 2013 - 20:50
Grendizer Spazer box

any update?

getta123's picture
Posted by getta123 on 11 September, 2013 - 23:31
Did I just see some Gumby

Did I just see some Gumby figures on your shelf? I never knew it was possible for those two things to occupy the same space! :D (it's a fun show!)

Also, I wish someday I can find a Grendizer Spazer but Given my 14 year old dreams will most likely never becoming reality, I should suck up to the fact I'll never get this:( (sweet vinyls btw!)

mrtrainfreak12's picture
Posted by mrtrainfreak12 on 11 September, 2013 - 23:43
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net