CollectionDX Network

1/60 Big Scale Model Kit Gundam F-91

Comments

57 comments posted
It looks like this kit can't

It looks like this kit can't hold the guns it comes with.

The Big R's picture
Posted by The Big R on 8 February, 2010 - 15:55
Ooooooo!

Lookit how majestic he is! Pretty! ^_^

mugoi usagi's picture
Posted by mugoi usagi on 8 February, 2010 - 16:19
I have this set! I haven't

I have this set!

I haven't built it though. I bought it when the Deluxe Transforming Gundam toys were arriving in the US in the late-90s/early-00s, and I thought this was an earlier toy of similar nature- pre-assembled, pre-painted, etc.
Imagine my surprise...

Aside from the finned backpack, the F-91 is one of my fav Gundams (even though I haven't seen the OVA yet). Strike Gundam FTW too.
------------------------------
CollectionDX Staff

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 8 February, 2010 - 16:32
F-91'd

I never realized the scale issues with this one before, my only experience with the older F-91 series was the Sihouette Formula RXF-90KAI and the Cluster Gundams. Those kits weren't bad but they left a lot of room for desire.

I built the MG F-91 where the corrected alot of the scale proportion issues, more accurately developed it in 1/100 scale than its first incarnations or even this kit. However I found myself troubled by the extremely delicate parts from such scale demands. the vents on the chest kept snapping to pieces for starters and some of the body armor kept breaking.
F91's on my list of top Gundams, but its models have never been good to me.
-------------------------
Rob
The Gundam Model Guy

Gunpla Rob's picture
Posted by Gunpla Rob on 8 February, 2010 - 16:51
Wait a minute- I thought the

Wait a minute- I thought the whole point of all mobile suits in "F-91" was to make them smaller, more economic, & more efficient that their UC predecessors? Would that not determine that the F-91 & Co. would be smaller at any scale than previously-established designs?

VSBR (Variable Speed Beam Rifle) was developed for the same reason(s): they could carry physically-smaller beam weapons while at the same time providing the same types of variety in damage & range that a non-VSBR could.
------------------------------
CollectionDX Staff

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 8 February, 2010 - 21:26
I bet you believe in

I bet you believe in Minovsky particles too.

VF5SS's picture
Posted by VF5SS on 8 February, 2010 - 21:45
Heard of, yes. Seen with my

Heard of, yes. Seen with my own eyes, no.

------------------------------
CollectionDX Staff

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 8 February, 2010 - 21:59
Well, of course you haven't

Well, of course you haven't seen them with your own eyes. You'd need infrared or radio to detect them.

TimF's picture
Posted by TimF on 9 February, 2010 - 00:25
I thought Minovsky particles

I thought Minovsky particles disrupted radio waves.

Dkun's picture
Posted by Dkun on 9 February, 2010 - 00:28
Sticks in my mind they

Sticks in my mind they primarily disrupt radar. In some of the earlier series, opponents would use unmanned/dummy balloon-like MS-shaped decoys because radar couldn't define them well, making an attacking force seem larger than it was. (Maybe it also limits the range of radio waves as well...?)

Supposedly, this is why all MS-on-MS combat is within visual range. rather than 'beyond the horizon'. This was also why the psychommu(sp?) system was developed- it could communicate through Minovsky particles without interference.
------------------------------
CollectionDX Staff

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 9 February, 2010 - 05:29
Psycommu

Psycommu seems a lot more about using your mind to psychically control tiny little drone guns that move really fast and shoot robots full of lasers ala Lalah and the Elmeth, Amuro in his Nu Gundam, and Char in his Sazabi.

Ginrai's picture
Posted by Ginrai on 9 February, 2010 - 19:42
No, I mean the only Gundam

No, I mean the only Gundam I've ever seen was the first four episodes of "Gundam Wing", the first two episodes of "Gundam 00", and a bootleg copy decades ago of "CCA". Hence I haven't seen the episode(s) where they're explained, or seen them in effect. I've only read what I've found online.

Hence: yes, I know of them, but, no, I haven't seen them with my own eyes.

:P
------------------------------
CollectionDX Staff

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 9 February, 2010 - 00:33
Gundam Wing No Such Thing

With the exception of the model's similarity to Wing Gundam Zero, I don't see anymore Gundam Wing here & there's no such thing as Minovsky Physics in Gundam Wing.

-R78

Rodimus78's picture
Posted by Rodimus78 on 10 February, 2010 - 15:42
I had dropped the subject on

I had dropped the subject on request from the writer. But now that you bring it up...

Did I say Minovsky particles were part of anything other than the UC timeline? No.
------------------------------
CollectionDX Staff

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 10 February, 2010 - 17:13
That is another story }:) ANYWAY

"I had dropped the subject on request from the writer. But now that you bring it up...

Did I say Minovsky particles were part of anything other than the UC timeline? No.

."

No, of course you didn't, but dwelling it?...THAT IS ANOTHER STORY TO LET GO. }:)

ANYWAY on to the Gundam F19, I would really love for Josh or you Veef to contact a Bandai Japan Rep, or go to Japan as VIPs & Bandai HQ & just ask Gundam directors to reconsider developing a Perfect Grade version of the F19 as somewhat of a homage to this unique model kit because it looks way ahead of it's time & it definitely deserves the Perfect Grade treatment.

If not, you can always go to the upcoming Toy Fair to ask about it.

-R78

Rodimus78's picture
Posted by Rodimus78 on 10 February, 2010 - 22:38
I'm fairly certain neither

I'm fairly certain neither Veef nor Josh have any say in what Bandai does or doesn't make.

---------------------------------------------
A master of mind control who hides inside a Ford Pickup

kidnicky's picture
Posted by kidnicky on 10 February, 2010 - 23:42
Clarification

"I'm fairly certain neither Veef nor Josh have any say in what Bandai does or doesn't make."

I said they should ask Bandai about making a PG F91 on their field coverage, NOT command them to do it.

-R78

Rodimus78's picture
Posted by Rodimus78 on 11 February, 2010 - 00:05
All I meant was,I really

All I meant was,I really don't think anyone at Bandai cares what two random customers think.
I agree it's a pretty good idea but I'm sure a big company like Bandai has the forseeable future all planned out.

---------------------------------------------
A master of mind control who hides inside a Ford Pickup

kidnicky's picture
Posted by kidnicky on 11 February, 2010 - 00:11
Counter-Clarification

Okay dude, I appreciate & thank you for the counter-clarification.

You might be right about Bandai not caring what 2 customers think, but they might be flattered and grateful for their thoughts on paying homage to this high grade piece when they give the green light for the PG F91 which is highly probable.

-R78

Rodimus78's picture
Posted by Rodimus78 on 11 February, 2010 - 02:05
Highly probable? If we

Highly probable? If we still haven't gotten a Nu-Gundam PG, I don't think we're going to see F91. The way I see it, Bandai released the recent MG and basically washed their hands of it... it's a pretty niche Gundam. CCA is much more popular, and like I said, we still don't have a Nu PG.

I'm also still trying to figure out who this magic person Veef is going to ask about the kit is.

http://prometheusrising.wordpress.com

Prometheum5's picture
Posted by Prometheum5 on 11 February, 2010 - 09:20
Actually, in high enough

Actually, in high enough concentrations, they do indeed affect the visual spectrum.

Mike's picture
Posted by Mike on 9 February, 2010 - 04:24
I thought the beams of the

I thought the beams of the beam sabers were made of minovsky particles.

---------------------------------------------
A master of mind control who hides inside a Ford Pickup

kidnicky's picture
Posted by kidnicky on 9 February, 2010 - 20:41
All MS/MA/space-only ship

All MS/MA/space-only ship reactors- with perhaps a few notable exceptions?- use the particles for beam weapons (and later shields). They still need fuel for maneuvering, but the fuel is energized(?) by particles before it's squirted out of the nozzles.

The thing about VSBRs is they accelerate/decelerate the particles to change the type of damage inflicted (high-powered narrow speed for sniping, or wide-angle lower powered for more overall damage), which beam weapons previously couldn't regulate in the field.
------------------------------
CollectionDX Staff

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 9 February, 2010 - 21:11
Just stop.

Just stop.

VF5SS's picture
Posted by VF5SS on 9 February, 2010 - 21:25
Is this why every thinks us

Is this why every thinks us Gundam fans are insane?

Dkun's picture
Posted by Dkun on 9 February, 2010 - 21:33
No...

It's just Eva that's insane!

Leonardo Flores
CollectionDX Staff Writer-West Coast Bureau

Modcineaste's picture
Posted by Modcineaste on 9 February, 2010 - 23:52
Actually, most of this I got

Actually, most of this I got off of Wikipedia and MAHQ.net, not having seen it first-hand.

I'm not as big a Gundam fan as you may think by my nerd-spaz above. Truthfully, the only appeal to the franchise I find at this time is the mobile suits and a smattering of the ships.

Insane? Maybe. Disabled? Yessir, yessir.
------------------------------
CollectionDX Staff

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 10 February, 2010 - 00:12
If you have never seen the

If you have never seen the originating material for the character or have nothing more to say about the figure then please don't post.

VF5SS's picture
Posted by VF5SS on 10 February, 2010 - 07:39
Am I the only one who wasn't

Am I the only one who wasn't sure why we were getting a history lesson on Gundam from someone who's never watched it?

---------------------------------------------
A master of mind control who hides inside a Ford Pickup

kidnicky's picture
Posted by kidnicky on 10 February, 2010 - 11:48
Wait, is this CDX or MW

I'm confused. Someone help me.

RobotBastard's picture
Posted by RobotBastard on 10 February, 2010 - 12:42
The line blurs every day it seems.

I hear you!!!!
I hear you!!!!

More and more over the last 2-3 years, I see more and more new folks commenting here and more and more it's like MW. So much argument over pointless details that make no difference to my two favorite 3-letter words: TOY FUN. A reason I don't even read that board anymore. RJ is slowly turning into mini-MW...

so now I just check TBDX, CDX and a few others that are fun and don't get bogged down on how many bolts a Zaku has, or what color the lasers are in Macross.

but here,
EVA has been discussing minutia of Gundam, a show he says he's never seen.

Everyone else doesn't care / is mildly offended that he's talking about a show he's never seen - ironic as many of you guys go on and on about other shows *you've* never seen on the boards. Oh how many times on RJ I've laughed as you guys wax poetic about shows you haven't even watched. How many of you have actually never watched the entire Voltes V, but got the SOC?

To me, being "a true fan" is a pointless contest. It doesn't matter if you've seen the show or not. If you like something, you like it. Just because you slogged through 100hrs of Gundam episodes doesn't make you any better than anyone else.

But on topic: This kit to me is utterly useless. It can't hold its gun. either of them. Am I the only one who noticed this in the review?

The Big R's picture
Posted by The Big R on 11 February, 2010 - 10:21
It does stink that it can't

It does stink that it can't hold the guns well, but I think the F91 works just as well armed with its beam saber and hip cannons (which don't really need to be held :P) I want one for my 1/60 shelf.

http://prometheusrising.wordpress.com

Prometheum5's picture
Posted by Prometheum5 on 11 February, 2010 - 10:36
Honestly I can live without

Honestly I can live without the beam rifles and what not. It's got the hip cannons and I'm good.

Dkun's picture
Posted by Dkun on 11 February, 2010 - 10:48
Mmm, I've thought that for a

Mmm, I've thought that for a while too- with a flexible weapon like VSBR, why do you need standard Beam Rifles or Beam Bazookas/Launchers at the same time, especially if you have two of them?

------------------------------
CollectionDX Staff

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 11 February, 2010 - 16:40
Watching the movie answers

Watching the movie answers all of your questions.

VF5SS's picture
Posted by VF5SS on 11 February, 2010 - 17:21
I uh... Meant the toy.

I uh... Meant the toy.

Dkun's picture
Posted by Dkun on 11 February, 2010 - 17:29
So did I. Self-sustaining

So did I. Self-sustaining weps on a giant robot- like rifles and swords, are not very practical when you can have them mounted directly to said robot. They don't have to be contented with holding a weapon or physically pulling a giant trigger to fire. Weapons are but an extension of the robot's potential, and should not preclude hands that are forced to grab them when those can be used for grabbing on to the side of a ship, base, or habitat. And, a pilot can lose a hand-held weapon too easily, whereas they're always available when mounted. This is why I like mobile armors- all their stuff is built internally (save for bits and the like).
And my opinion certainly extends beyond the realm of Gundam when I say that too.

...I learned that one from playing too much "Mech Commander". ;)
------------------------------
CollectionDX Staff

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 12 February, 2010 - 05:47
Stop posting in this thread

Stop posting in this thread if you aren't going to be on topic. I'm getting tired of you constantly derailing my review threads.

VF5SS's picture
Posted by VF5SS on 12 February, 2010 - 07:50
Heh...I've watched the

Heh...I've watched the entire Voltes V, but I didn't get the SoC! :P

Anyway, I don't think it's just the fact that EVA's never seen Gundam, but feels he can talk about it. It's more the pedantic tone. Eh...whatever.

--
Sanjeev

Sanjeev's picture
Posted by Sanjeev on 11 February, 2010 - 15:10
I don't think I'm any better

I don't think I'm any better than anyone else for watching more anime than them,if anything it makes me a worse person,since I could have spent that time doing something worthwhile.

That being said,when someone who hasn't seen a certain movie is explaining it to me,who HAS seen it,what sense does that make?

And I saw a couple eps of Voltes V but did not buy the toy. :)

---------------------------------------------
A master of mind control who hides inside a Ford Pickup

kidnicky's picture
Posted by kidnicky on 11 February, 2010 - 21:30
What a coincedence! Just

What a coincedence! Just bought some gundam kits today meself. :P

In the last picture of the review, what version of RX078 is that? :)

Dre2Dee2's picture
Posted by Dre2Dee2 on 8 February, 2010 - 17:34
PG

Thats the Perfect Grade RX-78-2. great kit.
-------------------------
Rob
The Gundam Model Guy

Gunpla Rob's picture
Posted by Gunpla Rob on 9 February, 2010 - 09:57
I almost bought this years

I almost bought this years ago at Tokyo Kid. The MG came out a couple years ago and I picked that up instead. Did you buy this from Warrhead recently? If so nice score.

Anavel's picture
Posted by Anavel on 8 February, 2010 - 21:56
Actually it used to belong

Actually it used to belong to Ginrai.

VF5SS's picture
Posted by VF5SS on 8 February, 2010 - 22:18
Bought this a long time ago...

...and wasn't impressed. I got it to continue my collection of 1/60 scale-ish Gundams, but after getting this one, I realized I should have probably skipped it given its lousy quality. Good thing I only spent $35 on it.

Jak Crow's picture
Posted by Jak Crow on 9 February, 2010 - 16:09
Impressive Gundam

I should've known that this is a prototype for the Perfect Grade Gundams to come. Even though the sliding cockpit is an impressive function, this model toy sadly needs a core interior & a pilot figure to sit in. In that way it'll be make the Gundam more organic in a sense, but let's be fair: It's a very interesting & impressive prototype of it's time.

You're very fortunate Ginrai gave it to you. It's a keeper.

-R78

Rodimus78's picture
Posted by Rodimus78 on 10 February, 2010 - 15:22
$$$

Well, I sold it to him, not gave it to him. :)

Ginrai's picture
Posted by Ginrai on 10 February, 2010 - 15:25
Ohhh

Ohhhhh...I see sir.....Ohhhh. :(

-R78

Rodimus78's picture
Posted by Rodimus78 on 10 February, 2010 - 16:40
This is the worst thread ever

Jesus Christ.

SpaceRunaway's picture
Posted by SpaceRunaway on 11 February, 2010 - 16:17
Verily. On behalf of Earth,

Verily.

On behalf of Earth, sorry, Andrew.

Sanjeev's picture
Posted by Sanjeev on 11 February, 2010 - 17:32
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net