CollectionDX Network

Daitarn 3

Comments

16 comments posted
I watched this video last

I watched this video last night - you need to get some sleep, man! Haha. It's good to see you back in the review saddle, though. Hope to see more in the future.

quinjester's picture
Posted by quinjester on 21 June, 2010 - 12:05
question

would you say this release is closer to Voltes V (was worth the money) or Dancouga/Raideen/Zambot... fell apart, flimsy connectors/accesories and low die cast...NOT worth it!

AJProDie-Cast's picture
Posted by AJProDie-Cast on 21 June, 2010 - 12:55
Closer to Voltes, for sure.

Closer to Voltes, for sure. I'd put it up there with ideon and godmars.

------------------------------
CollectionDX Admin

JoshB's picture
Posted by JoshB on 21 June, 2010 - 15:53
haha "patented Chachipower

haha "patented Chachipower technology".. Yeah I was a bit over the top in excitement during the rumor phase, prototype phase, preorder phase and release phase. When I finally had it in my hands I couldnt let go, its a darn solid release. I agree, the accessories are better left in the box, Ive no need for em, especially the fans. Funny watching enemies get slapped around with them in the show, but annoying to use with the figure. I watched the video and I thought you were trying to sound sexy with the toy then I realized you were probably up late doing the review lol its a lot of stuff to go over!

I know I am obviously a big fan of Daitarn and this release, but really guys, check it out for yourself.

chachipower's picture
Posted by chachipower on 21 June, 2010 - 17:02
Watching the anime transformation...

Holy cow, and I thought Voltron had a long "reaching the cockpit" sequence! There's like a mile of monorail track within Daitarn.

atom smasher's picture
Posted by atom smasher on 21 June, 2010 - 20:18
GX-53 DAITARN 3

It's a real pity that this anime was never aired in the States. I remember watching it on Antenna Sicilia (a now defunct sicilian private TV station)every evening - Sundays included - before going to visit grandma. I remember clearly tying up my shoelaces and then untying them again to gain time and watch more Daitarn before having to go to grandma.

Anyway, the show was the first Sunrise anime (correct me if I'm wrong) to be aired in Italy. The plot was very interesting as the enemies were a bunch of megalomaniac psychos each one with a particular obsession - in short the kind of people you meet every single day. One was obsessed with strength, another with making Kung Fu movies, the female commanders were obsessed with eternal beauty and so on and so forth. One of the generals was even obsessed with shrinking means of transport and collecting them as scale models!

The anime had a lot of interesting ingredients. The protagonist Haran Banjo was a wealthy playboy, a true Don Juan but with the agility, intelligence and strenght of James Bond. He was always accompanied by two babes - Reika Sanjo (the brunette and my dream girl) and Beauty Tachibana (the stupid and jealous blonde). Banjo was also helped by the funny teenager Toppy and the extremely calm Garrison Tokida, his butler.

As leaders of the enemy cyborgs we find the beautiful Koros and her companion Donzauker (who looks like a retrograde robot).

But what made this anime popular in Italy and Malta was the original Italian opening and closing theme, which is still music to our ears today - thirty years plus later! The original Japanese BGM are also catchy as well as the humour throughout the show! There were also various allusions to Frankenstein and many themes such as love and jealousy which made the show more interesting.

The design by Kunio Okawara is astonishing and I remember waiting for Daitarn's transformation in every single episode - if I remember correctly it is the longest anime transformation! I also loved the Mach Patrol/Mach Attacker - I have the large diecast version by Clover too!

Oh and by the way, the Daitarn Snapper is used as a lasso in the show whereas the Daitarn Javelin's four pointed spear looks like the number 3.

I bought mine from HobbyLink Japan too! If I'm not mistaken Bandai intends to issue another Kunio Okawara and Sunrise creation later this year - Muteki Robo Trider G7 (Invincible Robot Trider G-7) in their Soul of Chogokin line.

1-2-3.....DAITARN 3.

grendizer1975's picture
Posted by grendizer1975 on 21 June, 2010 - 20:18
Toppo

The name of the teenager in Japanese was Toppo. In Italian it was Toppy.

grendizer1975's picture
Posted by grendizer1975 on 24 June, 2010 - 19:11
nice...

i dont have any idea who this robot was and all that... but i think he's pretty solid, the 70's look is there but overall, the toy looks more like a modern robot. This definitely goes into my wants list of tall robots. nice review chief.

overclocked's picture
Posted by overclocked on 21 June, 2010 - 21:08
is there never any urgency

is there never any urgency in the transformation? The pilot has the time to change outfit and a couple of back-and-forth before lining up the ship to dock. This comes even before the cockpit clamp hookup onto the monorail journey...zzzzzZZZ. wake me when it's done :P

RType's picture
Posted by RType on 21 June, 2010 - 21:35
if i recalled

that all happened in a short while like 10 secs to a minute max?

exia00astraea's picture
Posted by exia00astraea on 22 June, 2010 - 01:52
fun unit...

IN srw this guy was fun to use. ah... the sun attack dynamic kill, DAITARN CRASH!!

exia00astraea's picture
Posted by exia00astraea on 22 June, 2010 - 06:52
Nice review of a cool toy

I liked your review, it brought back memories of when I was a kid; I remember having one of the old Daitarns growing up but I think parts of him might have broken off. I really wish I knew what happened to him and the other "Shogun" toys that I used to have like the flying saucer looking thing with the bird beak and firing claws. Anyhow, pity this new one costs so much, $200 for a toy is a little much to justify but it's nice knowing that there's a new version of something I used to have as a kid.

Riceball's picture
Posted by Riceball on 22 June, 2010 - 09:58
unifive

unifive released that shogun toy,... I bought one for same reason...80 USD including shipping on Ebay
it was from the orginal "power rangers"...
the link to the review is...
http://www.collectiondx.com/review/chogokin/varidorin

AJProDie-Cast's picture
Posted by AJProDie-Cast on 22 June, 2010 - 11:39
All too Tempting

This really does look fantastic. I am very tempted.
The matchbox sized Mach Attacker is awesome on it's own.

TimF's picture
Posted by TimF on 22 June, 2010 - 21:22
Figured I would chime in

Figured I would chime in since Ive had a few months with Daitarn. I pulled him out of my display case today and Im sitting here writing and looking at him and I had forgotten how darn heavy, tall and awesome he is. You would think I would be sleeping with him in my bed since I am a big fan, but it's been in my display case since I put it in there to look pretty a few months back. This is definitely my vote for chogokin of the year.

chachipower's picture
Posted by chachipower on 31 December, 2010 - 21:16
Is it big enough to get into

Is it big enough to get into a fistfight with Iron Gear?

blitzkriegomega's picture
Posted by blitzkriegomega on 3 June, 2013 - 12:08
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net