CollectionDX Network

Mugen Calibur Miyazawa Mokei version

Comments

14 comments posted
"The small Masato is plugged

"The small Masato is plugged into the seat via a butt peg and goes along for the ride as you rotate the seat forward."
Sounds like a Saturday night to remember!

I don't know that I'll spend 200 bucks on this thing,but I do like how it has a cockpit with a dude in it,even if it is inaccurate. More mecha figures should have that.

The funny thing about CDX is that it doesn't really advertise toys to me,it advertises anime. I've purchased a grand total of ONE toy after seeing it reviewed (revoltech Gaiking)but every time you guys post a review of a mecha figure I try to go check out the anime. Every anime website consists mostly of teens using Japanese words incorrectly and discussing nothing but the latest series,and while there's nothing inherently WRONG with that,and I do like newer stuff like Haruhi and Macross F,nothing does it for me like old school mech action. Call me old fashioned if you must,but I like this rectangle jeep that turns into a boxy suit a lot better than the newer stuff.

Anyway,my point is,this is the place where I inadvertantly learn about the classics.

kidnicky's picture
Posted by kidnicky on 5 July, 2009 - 08:37
Hobby Link Japan

Hello everyone I got something to say so I'll start off with this:

SPECIAL ANNOUNCEMENT

For those you out there who wants to invest in getting the Miyazawa Calibur version over the Combat Calibur version that costs a portion of your life savings, I just thought I should inform you all that Hobby Link Japan's got the Brave Gokin Miyazawa version on sale, right now for $64.66.

Yeah, you've heard me. %70 off the original 'pick-pocket' price.

Just follow the link right here.

I've bought my earthly colored mecha the week before last, so they've pulled the inventory sale out. This one will cost w/ an additional speedy delivery price that will add up to an estimation of $100.00 if you choose that shipping option so it's up to you. Seriously, with a deal like this at HLJ you won't feel scalped b/c I haven't.

The month is still fresh in the air, so get yours today before it's too late.

Well...that's all that I have to say and thank you.

-R78

Rodimus78's picture
Posted by Rodimus78 on 5 July, 2009 - 11:47
Hmm.... thanks for the

Hmm.... thanks for the review. The grey looks cheap on the toy and really needs to be painted, but I do like that it makes the whole jeep mode grey. I've been waffling on buying this since the first one came out, but just can't drag myself to do it. Even with the crazy sale on HLJ, I still see that $100 and see some awesome vintage Transformers instead. Maybe if the leg articulation was better, or the paint job was more detailed, but as it stands, this toy would require some work by me before I'd put it up on the shelf or enjoy it... and I've already enough WIP toys in my stash.

Prometheum5's picture
Posted by Prometheum5 on 5 July, 2009 - 15:57
I'd think a simple

I'd think a simple going-over with a panel-line pen would do the trick!

AcroRay's picture
Posted by AcroRay on 6 July, 2009 - 08:06
Gray

The gray looks like primer...

Berserk's picture
Posted by Berserk on 5 July, 2009 - 20:13
That probably made the Gunze

That probably made the Gunze Sangyo kit easy to paint.

VF5SS's picture
Posted by VF5SS on 5 July, 2009 - 21:55
Nice review, great at the sale price!

Nice review! I think this would be a really nice item at the sale price. Heck, that'd be preferable to messing with assembling the plastic kit.

Ironic that in the history of Calibur toy and model versions, no one seems to have overcome the hip articulation issues inherent in the design. A true testament to 'anime magic' even in a Real Type robo.

That bare-bones Land Calibur mode honestly doesn't look much better than the vehicle mode of Takatoku's old cheapie VMC collection Calibur. :) No complaint, though - just sayin'...

AcroRay's picture
Posted by AcroRay on 6 July, 2009 - 08:04
Never ever say "anime magic"

Never ever say "anime magic" in my presence >:( It's a BS term used by non-thinkers.

Really the hip articulation just requires a little more effort akin to a Master Grade kit. Even just make the legs plug into the waist a little lower and exchanging the ratcheted joints for ball joints would have helped a little. I understand the fact that the hips are a wheel well doesn't leave much room but even joint between the orange and gray part of the thighs would help. Right now its just a solid piece of diecast that only makes it top heavy.

VF5SS's picture
Posted by VF5SS on 6 July, 2009 - 11:09
"anime magic! anime magic!"

Good point indeed. I'm a bit behind the times, I guess, having never built a MG kit.

Given a buyership willing to pay a product's price comperably higher price, and a project budget able to accomodate the extra parts, R & D and tooling, anything should be possible.

Studio Half-Eye, CMs and other companies have certainly proven that, eh?

AcroRay's picture
Posted by AcroRay on 6 July, 2009 - 20:20
Was there an Autobot toy from this mold

Hey great review...just curious...I remember owning an autobot toy when i was younger of this same mold i cant remember what it was called but it was def an autobot. is that possible? hope someone can shed some light on the that.

Sampy26's picture
Posted by Sampy26 on 8 July, 2009 - 04:26
Deluxe Autobot Roadbuster is

Deluxe Autobot Roadbuster is a recolored Takatoku 1/55 scale Mugen Calibur.

VF5SS's picture
Posted by VF5SS on 8 July, 2009 - 06:48
ahhhh that makes sense!

ahhhh that makes sense! Thanks!

Sampy26's picture
Posted by Sampy26 on 8 July, 2009 - 08:05
Here's a customized Mugen

Here's a customized Mugen Calibur kit has its own solution to the hip problem.

http://nosutaru.fc2web.com/Bangai-modelu/doru-back/kahen-kyariba-/kahen-kyaribar.html

VF5SS's picture
Posted by VF5SS on 9 July, 2009 - 15:27
A bit overrated

I got mine earlier this week and while it's a very nice display piece, articulation is kinda crap from the waist down and the legs aren't super secure in jeep mode. The price ($101 shipped) is perfect though.

megatroptimus's picture
Posted by megatroptimus on 10 July, 2009 - 22:41
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net