CollectionDX Network

Eva Test Type - 01 New Movie Edition

Comments

28 comments posted
Excellent Review!

There are so many Revoltech EVA figures. I hadn't seen too many English reviews of this one, so thanks for providing such a excellent one. I've been thinking of picking this guy up for some time. Might have to go ahead and pull the trigger.

InfiniteHollywood.com

Newton Gimmick's picture
Posted by Newton Gimmick on 19 March, 2010 - 16:33
Arg

All right, I hate you! I've had, if I'm not mistaken, 6 AssembleBorg with my Revoltech: 2 purple, 4 green... And here I see you having a red one... That's so unfair...

:p

Kouryu's picture
Posted by Kouryu on 19 March, 2010 - 18:11
Seems, and definitely looks,

Seems, and definitely looks, much better than the first EVA-01 Revoltech. 13 hands! Assortment of weapons! Improved articulation! If the 00 and 02 are this good, I may have to replace the old with the new now. Thanks for the thorough review.

seraph2011's picture
Posted by seraph2011 on 19 March, 2010 - 19:08
This is actually one of the

This is actually one of the mysteries of EVA Units that has never been answered, and probably never will: how can the utility wings twist independently of the upper arms they are connected to!? In all animation (movies included), the wings are always held vertically, but the arms can swing forward/backward/outwards independently. AND YET, it is clearly shown in said animation that the wings do not swivel independently for any reason.
Now, all physical representations of Units-00' through -04 have the wings attached correctly, and they pivot via pegs or magnets with the shoulders; some allowing the arms to swing outwards freely, some bending inwards towards the head with them.

It seems to me that this is the first built representation of any EVA to have the wings held vertically and yet allow the arms to swing independently.

WTH.

Ironically, not being able to bring the legs of any Revoltech EVA directly vertically is one of the reasons I never got any of them save for a flying-ver. MP EVA.

Nice thorough review, Wallas. Are you gonna cover Rebuild Unit-02 to show off how its wings are involved from this set? (I'm gonna see if I can cover Tamashii Spec Units-00 and -02 when they come out since I missed my shot at -01...)
------------------------------
CollectionDX Staff

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 19 March, 2010 - 19:31
Yes, both Rebuild 02 and 01

Yes, both Rebuild 02 and 01 Awakening are on my "to do" list, just not sure about the order yet.

Wallas's picture
Posted by Wallas on 20 March, 2010 - 03:29
Nice review. That Zoro

Nice review. That Zoro copycat pose was pretty amusing, I might have to try and pose my awakened Unit 01 or 03 like that...

Also, if you don't mind answering a question, was in hard to get the gun in the gun holdin hand? It took me FOREVER to get the gun in my awakened Unit 01 revoltech's gun hand. I'm curious if anybody else had similar problems or if I just really fail.

TerminusTypeR's picture
Posted by TerminusTypeR on 19 March, 2010 - 21:04
Yes, placing the gun and

Yes, placing the gun and umbilical cable in place is problematic the first time, but it's getting a lot easier the next time you do it.

Wallas's picture
Posted by Wallas on 20 March, 2010 - 03:32
While I absolutely adore

While I absolutely adore this one's aesthetic, Revoltech is not my first choice for Evangelion toys when I have options. As such, I own the F-type 01 revoltech, and that is, admiteddly, a freaking awesome figure.

I think the RD line are much better toys, at least for myself, so I'll be sticking with those when applicable.

Mike's picture
Posted by Mike on 19 March, 2010 - 23:27
I'm spoiled by Bandai's Robot Spirits/Damashii line

I received the Bandai Robot Damashii Eva 2 figure last week, and I have to admit that I love it so much -- much more than any of the Revoltech Evas (of which I have many). You really can't appreciate the distance in quality until you hold a Robot Damashii figure in your hand and compare it to a Revoltech. The Damashii Eva 2 has such an incredible range of smooth articulation, allowing you to achieve any pose with absolute ease. After handling that one for a while, I came to like the Revoltech clicky joints less and less. It is also larger and the look of the plastic used is smooth and ostensibly a higher quality.

I'm not dumping all over the Revoltech line, I love 'em actually. They're a bit cheaper and usually come with lots more accessories than Bandai Damashii figures, and I appreciate the wide range of characters any particular revoltech line usually encompasses. I.e. Bandai will probably never do a beserk Eva1 nor beserk Eva2 for the Damashii line, two figures that Revoltech already has in the bag.

Regardless, great review.

Icarus II's picture
Posted by Icarus II on 20 March, 2010 - 03:25
Diging This & Not Digging That

I dig the new Eva 1 toy & I think it's better than the SoC version, but I don't dig the Microman knockoff bonus toy in the sealed bag. It should've been a treat for our mouths to eat, not for our hands to play.

-R78

Rodimus78's picture
Posted by Rodimus78 on 20 March, 2010 - 13:16
Gah, that looks fantastic!

Gah, that looks fantastic! I got the first one a good while back, but it looks good enough to buy him again. I REALLY like the swords on this one when compared to the sword in the first. Just some minor changes, but they work for me. I'll have to track this one down.

Alexx's picture
Posted by Alexx on 20 March, 2010 - 18:03
Got it, not in love.

I try not to be unrealistic about my toys but, even by 'tiny plastic wannabe of fictional giant robot' standards, I find the Revoltech line to be too flimsy for my tastes. Pretty to look at and poseable as hell, sure, but solid? I let my Figuarts uses my New Movie Evas as punching bags.

For units as iconic as the Evangelions, I don't mind spending more for a truely mind-blowing toy experience. I got the Soul SPEC New Movie Eva 00 and THAT figure is utterly awesome... someday, I'll have the cash and inclination to buy it's unit 01 partner.

These Revoltechs are fine if you love all things Eva or just want a tiny Unit to put on you desk at work but for the really superb representations of the designs, I feel you should look elsewhere.

Felixman's picture
Posted by Felixman on 20 March, 2010 - 23:44
I can't disagree with a

I can't disagree with a single thing you said here.

------------------------------
CollectionDX Staff

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 21 March, 2010 - 01:35
I love Evas. But my love is

I love Evas. But my love is not hardcore enough to but a 100+ toy (this is how much -I- would have to pay for it considering where I live) when I like a lot of other mechas as well. I don't need my toys big or uber-awsome, I want to have a nice-looking representation of the character on my room expo and for that purpose, Revoltech delivers well enough.

Because being a student collector in Europe SUCKS!

Wallas's picture
Posted by Wallas on 21 March, 2010 - 03:15
Felixman! Hey!

I couldn't agree more with you about the Revoltech line. I do own two actually but there still in the box. There supposed to be for people who don't want to drop 85+ for an SOC and such. But what the hell save the extra $45 and buy an SOC you can be proud of to put on display. Revoltech in truth do suck and are over priced for what they are recently, they went from $15 to $35 over the last couple years for what? Some of you collectors probably spend more on a date night with your girl or wife or buddy hanging for beers. Save the 85+ buy yourself a toy that you won't get bored with like some collectors on this site and appreciate it.

Lizardspock's picture
Posted by Lizardspock on 24 March, 2010 - 21:42
If you aren't a student

If you aren't a student living in a country where you spend the 85 dollars on the toy, then another 45 on shipping AND next 25 on import tax like I am than I might just ignore you right now.

I was planning to spend 60 dollars and buy the HCM Pro versions of 00 and 01 once on my local auction site, but they dissapeared before I could act. And then my wacky salesman put these Evas up for 20 dollars total each. So the choice wasn't that hard.

Especially when Deluxe Transformers cost 27 dollars in my native shops.

Wallas's picture
Posted by Wallas on 26 March, 2010 - 18:27
Touché

I see your point and, if I had to pay an EXTRA $25 on large imports, I'd be a lot pickier too.

Still, it's all a matter of choice and perspective. If the Revoltech's leave you completely satisfied, then that is fantastic and I congradulate you for filling that hole in your collection.

I HAVE this figure, and it's Eva-02 cousin, and they left me feeling frustrated and unhappy. My Tamashii/Bandai Soul SPEC Eva-00 gives ME total satisfaction so, despite the price tag, I'm after it's companion peices.

Every collector, regardless of income, needs to pick their battles. You're wise to stick within your means and not invite debt: My finances and living expences are such that I can spare $100 or so a month on anything, including overpriced Evangelions that make me giggle like an idiot when I pose them.

Felixman's picture
Posted by Felixman on 26 March, 2010 - 21:13
Too Bad

It's too bad that Kaiyodo didn't bother to make EVA-U01's neon-green signature colors to really glow-in-the-dark.

And that's a real bummer there.

-R78

Rodimus78's picture
Posted by Rodimus78 on 21 March, 2010 - 02:29
I've never seen a figure or

I've never seen a figure or model do that. That would be so bad-ass it would hurt.

------------------------------
CollectionDX Staff

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 21 March, 2010 - 03:14
We need to pool pics of our

We need to pool pics of our crappy Mini Assemble Borgs.

they are a crisis

VF5SS's picture
Posted by VF5SS on 21 March, 2010 - 10:05
Sweet-Mini-Borgs

They wouldn't be so crappy if they were made to taste yummy, chewy & gummy.

-R78

Rodimus78's picture
Posted by Rodimus78 on 23 March, 2010 - 04:40
Meh, one day, I will buy a

Meh, one day, I will buy a perfect EVA! I am a pretty hardcore fan as well, but because I am Dutch, I can't get even a normal Revoltech here, and should I find one, then they wuld be the same price as some Chogokins on Ebay these days-.-... It's true. Being a sixteen year old collector of TF's, for now, and a lover of many mecha in EUROPE... Sucks!

Tabris's picture
Posted by Tabris on 24 March, 2010 - 14:12
The closest I've gotten to a

The closest I've gotten to a perfect physical representation of the EVAs is the Tamashii Spec versions. The only thing missing from them is the Holding Frames they are stored on in the Cage. Otherwise, they have the right weight, accessories, materials, and posing of any model, but aren't out of proportion or stylized like a Revoltech. Plus, you can take ALL the armor off, which no other model or figure has ever done to this point!
The only thing that hurts them is their price (USD$80) and some of the earlier ones (Units-01 and -00) had some weak joint designs which were upgraded in later releases.

------------------------------
CollectionDX Staff

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 26 March, 2010 - 19:43
About those...

Do you actually like the 'Inner Angel' gimmick the SPEC Evas have? I find it more annoying than anything... I didn't drop that sort of money to stare at a skinny dude in tights.

I'd be MORE irked if the figure didn't completely rock but I sorta feel like they wasted some effort there.

Felixman's picture
Posted by Felixman on 26 March, 2010 - 21:19
Naw, the superior joint

Naw, the superior joint designs in the feet and shoulders boost it above any model or the SOCs up-to that point. And considering we never saw them completely 'naked' in series or movie, I thought it was an awesome feature to have fully-removable armor. (The only thing I regret is not knowing about the Refined version- not Rebuild, mind you- until AFTER I got the one I have now.)

I have a 1st-gen LM-HG Unit-01 w/ Docking Frame I'm thinking of selling since the Tamashii Spec fills all the same needs, without me having to paint and assemble it.
------------------------------
CollectionDX Staff

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 26 March, 2010 - 21:28
Awesome review! Im looking

Awesome review!
Im looking forward to the limited Lawson Edition of this to buy it as i cant find this very easy and the limited will include a Geofront Pyramid base :D

Chris_ace's picture
Posted by Chris_ace on 10 June, 2010 - 09:31
I'll be totally honest,

I'll be totally honest, Evangelion is the mecha anime I hate the most along with every moe/mecha series made. The EVA's and Asuka are the only good things about it (I hate everything about that emo Shinji)

mrtrainfreak12's picture
Posted by mrtrainfreak12 on 12 October, 2013 - 16:39
Great Figure

I was cheking this review and I liked pretty much the figure, the weapons are great, and have such cool poses : )

Vash109's picture
Posted by Vash109 on 22 October, 2013 - 00:26
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net