CollectionDX Network

AV-98 Ingram Unit 1 1/24

Comments

27 comments posted
1/24 Mobile Police Patlabor (The Movie) AV-98 1st

Congratulations, excellent review ATOM.

Oh my God, this masterpiece comes wrapped in silk!

I am still undecided whether to buy it or not.

In the past I wanted the Reactive Armor version from Patlabor 2 by Volks. It was a Garage Kit, however, in 1/24 scale and so it did not move nor light up.

This version is worth buying, definitely but the price and the lack of space in my warehouse, sorry I meant my room, are pushing me to pass on.

grendizer1975's picture
Posted by grendizer1975 on 29 July, 2009 - 17:19
It was Atom.

Atom reviewed this, not Josh (didn't this happen the other day?). Unless (and I mean this entirely seriously, 'cause I don't know) his name is really Josh (at which point, sorry!) Amazing figure, though. Does look quite incredible, if somewhat expensive.

Rankarana's picture
Posted by Rankarana on 29 July, 2009 - 17:51
He seems...

...insistant on crediting everything I do to Josh. Yes we have pointed this out to him before...

________________________________________
CollectionDX - Assistant Editor - Writer

Atom's picture
Posted by Atom on 29 July, 2009 - 18:00
Yeah- feels like:

(Dr. Lazarus walks in, triumphant)

"He- he has saved us! Commander Taggert has saved us!" (*all disoriented Thermians cheer*)

(Lazarus frowns, instantly deflated) "It's just not fair..."

ROFL
------------------------------
CollectionDX Staff

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 30 July, 2009 - 11:08
great review and ?

great looking item, is anything diecast other than the framework?

AJProDie-Cast's picture
Posted by AJProDie-Cast on 29 July, 2009 - 19:11
Diecast

The fully extended baton is as well. That's the true sign it's a Japanese toy, it includes a 4 inch die-cast metal spike as an accessory. :)
________________________________________
CollectionDX - Assistant Editor - Writer

Atom's picture
Posted by Atom on 29 July, 2009 - 19:14
the shield

is the arm shield???

AJProDie-Cast's picture
Posted by AJProDie-Cast on 29 July, 2009 - 19:21
No

...the entire inner core of the thing isn't enough? :)

________________________________________
CollectionDX - Assistant Editor - Writer

Atom's picture
Posted by Atom on 29 July, 2009 - 19:27
I love, love, love the

I love, love, love the designs in Patlabor.

Livaïe's picture
Posted by Livaïe on 29 July, 2009 - 19:34
awesome review, looks like a

awesome review, looks like a MUST have for me. I was impressed with CM's teeny version and this is just mindblowing...SILK

by the way what kind of camera was used for the video?

chachipower's picture
Posted by chachipower on 29 July, 2009 - 20:11
Camera

That would be a Cannon HV30. I just got it recently so I am still pretty rough with the editing side of things. But give me time, I promise I'll get better. :)

________________________________________
CollectionDX - Assistant Editor - Writer

Atom's picture
Posted by Atom on 29 July, 2009 - 20:17
Is it real silk?

Is it real silk?

VF5SS's picture
Posted by VF5SS on 29 July, 2009 - 20:15
Gah! I really DO need to

Gah! I really DO need to get this, but I have neither the space to display it or the free cash to grab it any time soon...

Have you noticed any potential wear points now that you've had it for a bit? The one thing I worry about is the individual fingers wearing out like they do on Perfect Grade gundam kits. Are they a rugged and robust assembly?

Prometheum5's picture
Posted by Prometheum5 on 29 July, 2009 - 21:47
Bah!

Now I want to have one...! Great review!

Berserk's picture
Posted by Berserk on 29 July, 2009 - 23:38
Bah part 2

sooo me too, I was on the fence...but damn the review won me over....sigh....

AJProDie-Cast's picture
Posted by AJProDie-Cast on 29 July, 2009 - 23:38
I knew it was incredible

I knew it was incredible when I saw the Japanese reviews, but still, MY GOD IT'S FULL OF STARS.

Mike's picture
Posted by Mike on 30 July, 2009 - 14:58
Soo cool!!

To be honest this is teetering on the edge of my max price point for Patlabor figures. It looks so awesome and the scale is incredible. All it's short of doing is firing live rounds! Well I suppose they have to keep something for the next edition! XD

Secretly I've been hoping this would force a further price drop on the 1/48 W.H.A.M! AV-98, as it's currently 30% off somewhere; I think it will go lower.

With the 1/35 Gundam Fix, SDF-1 1/2000, and now this 2009 is going to end BIG!

"The optimist proclaims that we live in the best of all possible worlds, and the pessimist fears this to be true." - James Branch Cabell 1926.

Wizartar's picture
Posted by Wizartar on 3 August, 2009 - 10:19
Hobby link japan

has wham model for 30% off, the shipping is only 12 usd...seems like a good deal if that figure is your goal

AJProDie-Cast's picture
Posted by AJProDie-Cast on 5 August, 2009 - 19:56
Great Figure

but, what is the little clear piece of square plastic supposed to represent? I haven't watched any Patlabor, so forgive my lack of knowledge. Also, Atom, does it seem like the holster for the pistol has an insanely powerful spring action? When I open the leg on mine, the gun comes flying out. The inside leg panels on the mech's right leg (gun holding leg) seems a bit looser than the other leg. Has anyone else noticed this? Overall a great toy for what it is. The detail is incredible.

elliotbaltazar's picture
Posted by elliotbaltazar on 5 September, 2009 - 06:43
plastic square

I don't know what it represents but I think it's supposed to unlock the light-up feature switch on the back. I myself am confused about which way the thing is supposed to go in. When I first went to turn the lights on it wouldn't budge so I disassembled as much of the housing as possible and kinda delicately forced it. Then I noticed the slot for the little square. It points to it in the directions but not very clearly. I can't read Japanese. It still confuses me a little, as it still has problems, even with the plastic square inserted... Hope that helps.

Atom, any insight??

Also yes, mine has a quite powerful spring mech., and one leg panel does seem looser than the other

Tardbot5000's picture
Posted by Tardbot5000 on 28 September, 2009 - 15:00
The plastic square

The plastic square represents the operating system disk of the Patlabor units.

------------------------------
CollectionDX Admin

JoshB's picture
Posted by JoshB on 28 September, 2009 - 18:49
"and one leg panel does

"and one leg panel does seem looser than the other" Yeah same as mine.

north-exit's picture
Posted by north-exit on 7 October, 2009 - 08:58
Gorgeous

I'm not that big a fan of the show or movie but I saw this guy at the CC Yamato booth and I had to have it. I'm a sucker for high detail. And god, he's gorgeous. Picked him up for $260 incl shipping at BBTS. So amazing. The review says it all.

Tardbot5000's picture
Posted by Tardbot5000 on 23 September, 2009 - 23:36
Clear, Plastic square, and loose leg panels

Thanks for the help on the square and the responses on the leg panels. I also got mine at BBTS. They are an incredible online retailer. By the way, I haven't had any problems with the lighting mechanism on mine. I don't think the plastic square affects the switch for that. I have found that those tiny little bullets are extremely easy to lose if you put them in the leg magazine. They have a tendency to fall out and disappear. I am eagerly waiting for the Fewture Shin Getter One now.

elliotbaltazar's picture
Posted by elliotbaltazar on 11 October, 2009 - 07:25
Was this meant for Unit 2?

Hey I've just been enjoying my time tinkering with my figure, but noticed someting on the battery pack casing. On it theres a hook, and was wondering what it was for? I Now know that Yamato is gonna make a Unit 2 Ingram, so is it a part to be meant to hold the Riot Gun that comes with gun lovin Ohta's Unit 2?

Thought it would'nt hurt to ask, and ATOM you think you wil do a review on the CLAT Ingram? Was impressed enough to consider getting a repaint if the paint job seems good enough. Although you could've said the shield's black trim for Unit 1 was prone to rubbing off easy...

unit450's picture
Posted by unit450 on 11 November, 2009 - 04:53
Make your 1:24 Ingram even cooler? Accessorize!!!

Great review. Yeah they designed the Ingram 1 to be easily modified for later units. Look at the styrafoam. They already knew how big the shotgun was going to be. I mean there is really no good reason to have such a large space for such a small revolver.

Well i dont feel like buying unit 2 just for the shotgun. So I happened to dig out my Yujin "The Gun Collection" Pump action shotgun from one of my random toy boxes. The shotgun is about the right size for the Ingram. It is a small line of scaled weapons that shoot plastic bullets.

Yes you read that correctly. My little shotgun SHOOTS plastic bullets. You pump the foregrip, top load a small plastic slug, close the breech and pull the trigger. a ram rod is spring loaded and pushes the bullet out. not terribly far but cool for added geekiness.

http://img576.imageshack.us/img576/3005/dsc0192a.jpg

Or you can get these keychain gashapon Wii-mote and Wii games.

http://img221.imageshack.us/img221/2003/dsc0202m.jpg

Solscud007's picture
Posted by Solscud007 on 12 December, 2010 - 11:30
Great Figure!

I really love the detail, articulation, and gimmicks it features.

GundamPrimeZero's picture
Posted by GundamPrimeZero on 10 January, 2014 - 18:27
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net