CollectionDX Network

Alteisen

Comments

9 comments posted
Hip ratchets

The hip ratchets on this figure are widely known to be excessively tight, but I had never heard of them actually breaking (though I can believe it, as the joints make me a little nervous on my own figure). Comparatively, my Unifive/Banpresto/Bandai Huckebein Mk.II figure from the same series had his entire left leg snap off at the hip the first time I tried to move it. Hmmmmmm.

The joint system of the entire Alteisen figure is very oddly designed, with the way the waist and hips are articulated at odd angles that give it flex you wouldn't think it should have. The comment I've made to people is that it's like a testbed for odd jointwork, eheh. It makes it slightly complicated to repose (a bit like a revoltech figure), but gives it a lot of range.

It's a real pity that yours broke, because with working joints, the figure is surprisingly flexible and dynamic considering its bulked up design.

quinjester's picture
Posted by quinjester on 10 January, 2009 - 15:04
Thanks for the sympathy on

Thanks for the sympathy on my figures hip breakage and you have my sympathy on your Huckebein, which I also have and will put up my review shortly. all I can cay is, thank god this figure looks cool just standing in its docking base.

-Dan
CollectionDX LLC
Vice President/Co-Owner
"the other fat bearded guy at CDX"

Shogundan's picture
Posted by Shogundan on 10 January, 2009 - 15:21
this version has exactly

this version has exactly what I wished the model kit version had.... A speed loader..
the design of this robot it total awesome all over.

curse you Shogundan... now i'll have to explain to my missus why I spent more money on a toy "that looks the same as one I already have"... O.o

they will all taste oblivion!... which tastes just like redbull...
which is disgusting...

godmagnus1's picture
Posted by godmagnus1 on 10 January, 2009 - 15:49
ahh finally a review for the

ahh finally a review for the unifive alteisen,i might buy him but those ratchet legs really freaks out ^^;.......but hey he is not that expensive anyway :) thanks for review man!!

Bahim Z 360's picture
Posted by Bahim Z 360 on 10 January, 2009 - 18:08
Come to think of it ....how

Come to think of it ....how tall is he?

Bahim Z 360's picture
Posted by Bahim Z 360 on 10 January, 2009 - 18:30
Oops, sorry, I updated the

Oops, sorry, I updated the review. Alteisen stands about 6.5 inches tall

-Dan
CollectionDX LLC
Vice President/Co-Owner
"the other fat bearded guy at CDX"

Shogundan's picture
Posted by Shogundan on 10 January, 2009 - 20:46
Oh wow I love the design of

Oh wow I love the design of this. Call me weird but I've always really liked fat/bulky robots. Plus red is my favorite color. Something else to add to my list of stuff I want.

Slayer1583's picture
Posted by Slayer1583 on 10 January, 2009 - 23:51
Ehhh!!

It was a good try. But the shoulder joints are too basic. They stick out too far.

Where do I begin, the leg joints are so wierd. Everytime I try to pose it, there is great fear. Especially since my max factory GGG hip joint just fell apart in my hands.

All in all, lots to diecast coupled to the worst qaulity plastic, almost model qaulity plastic.

Cheap cheap cheap plastic

happosai8's picture
Posted by happosai8 on 11 January, 2009 - 23:09
Other than the fact that I

Other than the fact that I sorta got a lemon when I purchased my Unifive Alteisen (the right square claymore container wouldn't close properly)and that one of my cats pissed all over the box, I rather like this figure.

If you can get it at a reasonable price (5500 yen is more than reasonable, because the original price was around 13000 Yen or somethin'), then I recommend you to get it. Although the plastic is thin, it is quite flexible and can prevent breakage. Never had a problem with the ratchet joints either.

nikodiablo's picture
Posted by nikodiablo on 27 January, 2009 - 06:30
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net