CollectionDX Network

VF-2SS Valkyrie II Super Armed Pack

Comments

20 comments posted
Awww...

While I'll agree that the OVA wasn't really worth talking about, I think it's a shame this design doesn't get more time in the spotlight. I actually really like it and think it's a great compromise between the original VF-1 lineart and what would become the next 'accepted' design, the VF-11 from Macross Plus.

Just because the show is lousy doesn't mean the world must shun the poor robot... be strong, VF-2!

Felixman's picture
Posted by Felixman on 30 August, 2011 - 12:55
As I said in my own comment

As I said in my own comment below, I agree that the VF-11C is a good bridge between in-canon Valkyries and the VF-2SS. It definitely has a similar aura of authenticity compared to the -19 and -22.

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 30 August, 2011 - 16:27
Swiped again!

The second time this month that I have been swiped with a model kit review, I have this in the mail to me as we speak.

Then again it wouldn't be until next year that I would actually build it!

Awesome that you finally got to build one, it looks great and I always thought it was a mysterious model kit.

It hard to believe that the VF-2 is looking like a classic design now.

Great, thanks for giving me a heads up, looking forward to finally building it myself.

Leonardo

Modcineaste's picture
Posted by Modcineaste on 30 August, 2011 - 13:04
Feel free to add your own

Feel free to add your own pics to this review once you've built yours. It'd be nice to have pics of a painted kit.

VF5SS's picture
Posted by VF5SS on 30 August, 2011 - 14:09
I liked Macross II

I liked Macross II actually.

No panel lining the kit?

VZMK2's picture
Posted by VZMK2 on 30 August, 2011 - 13:40
VF-TWOOOOOOO!

I always thought the Mac2 designs deserved more love than they got. I guess the OVA's failure to be super-popular doomed them to obscurity (unlike the stuff from Mac+).

I do remember buying all the Palladium "Macross 2" RPG books though, just for the art. And for the production stuff by Dream Pod Nine, back before they were famous...

I note that a certain site is advertising repops of the old Musasiya resin kit. Not transformable but it looks like a good representation of the fighter mode (and you can build it without the super pack.)

RobotBastard's picture
Posted by RobotBastard on 30 August, 2011 - 14:56
Man, this is one of the many

Man, this is one of the many Macross items I sold off to help buy an airplane ticket...I wish I still had it. Would have loved to build it :(

chachipower's picture
Posted by chachipower on 30 August, 2011 - 15:12
Little planes let you ride on

Little planes let you ride on the big plane.

VF5SS's picture
Posted by VF5SS on 30 August, 2011 - 17:25
yeah thats true, although the

yeah thats true, although the little ones tend to be cooler

chachipower's picture
Posted by chachipower on 1 September, 2011 - 20:26
Aww, yeah- finally the VF-2SS

Aww, yeah- finally the VF-2SS Valkyrie II gets some lovin' on CDX!
And who better to review it than teh Veef himself, VF5SS!?

Many of you have heard me dis on Valkyrie designs after DYRL many times, but perhaps you also might recall that the biggest exception to this dislike is the VF-2SS, for which I have the utmost respect and adoration.
Truly, IMHO, this is the best successor to the classic VF-1 model. It is a very slick, superior multi-role fighter which is clearly been evolved from the experiences of Space War I. It is also quite compact in its features despite its stylish and imposing outward appearance- blink and you don't see it coming to kill you.
But something else works for me here. The VF-2SS was clearly designed as a space superiority fighter as opposed to its VF-1 predecessor which was multi-environment, even though the former can still function just as well in atmosphere. (Atmospheric defense lays instead with the non-space VF-2JA, which I also like though not as much as the one shown above.)

Rather than just being slapped on as an afterthought, the next-gen SAP works as an integral part of the Valkyrie II's design and actually compliments it in a way the FAST Packs of old couldn't. Nothing is lost and all is gained by having a SAP attached, including a massive and accurate railgun and many more micro-missiles per unit. And then it turns around and provides the traditional Gatling cannon and head-mounted lasers.
And, BTW, so what if it's back-heavy? It's a space fighter, so it's not like it'll tip over!

Much love do I have for the VF-2SS and its SAP, much love. (Actually I really liked a lot of the "M2" UN Spacy mecha designs including the OP Macross Cannon!)
The only thing I ever had a problem with was why it has a pair of faux 'air intakes' on the inboard front? All they do is lead air right into the undercarriage where the arms are stored. I never got that. Oh well!

Yeah "Macross 2- Lovers Again" wasn't that great a show, but it absolutely amazes me that the mecha designs didn't take off in Japan, whether designed by the original guys from the '80s-or-not.

I'm still waiting for Yamato to pick up the license for this guy and give us a 1/60 version. That right there is my Macross Holy Grail, along with a ver2.0 1/60 VF-1S Strike Hikaru, DYRL SDF-1, and VF-11C w/ SAP (which is the only in-canon successor design I like so far).


VF5SS, there was one little thing I have a pick about in your otherwise-excellent review. I thought you were a little harsh about the hip transformation. No Valkyrie VF-1 model ever has- or will?- feature a completely accurate transformation. And, seeing as this is a model, it's perfectly understandable to have a little parts-swapping. Yeah, the model is starting to show its age, but I don't think those three hip connectors are it.

EDIT: Oh, and coincidentally, I got to attend the Centennial of Naval Aviation at Naval Air Station Whidbey Island (NAS-WI) on July 30, 2011, and I saw several modern military planes with model numbers on them, including a Eurocopter Coast Guard helicopter. So I don't think that's as unusual as you may think.

Answer: me.

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 30 August, 2011 - 16:15
Macross II- Lovers Again

I just saw this:

Manga Entertainment recently put Macross II: The Movie (dubbed) with no breaks onto YouTube! Runtime is over 1:30hr.

(*watches the first 30min*)

Wow, I forgot how bad that dub was; it's been over 15 years since I first saw it.

UPDATE: Damn, they left out the last two segments, and they're not anywhere else on YouTube. =(

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 30 August, 2011 - 17:51
Dubbed

I, was twelve years old in! The first attack! Seven! Years ago!

RobotBastard's picture
Posted by RobotBastard on 30 August, 2011 - 18:35
Did they make a DVD of it

Did they make a DVD of it with English subs?

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 31 August, 2011 - 15:59
Side panel translation

"Star mecha of Super Dimensional Fortress Macross II, the OVA (Original Video Animation) that debuted in May '92, Nexx' personalized Super Armed Pack Valkyrie II has been rendered in 1/100-scale 3D. By re-constructing one unit you can transform it into a Battroid, Gerwalk, or Fighter. Construction accomplished via single-screw-held (一部ビス止め, "ichibu vis[e] tome") Snap Fit. For the benefit of those who desire the most realistic construction, and those who prefer the simpler finishing method, both a set of seals (stickers, I think) and a set of decals are included."

sleet01's picture
Posted by sleet01 on 31 August, 2011 - 15:39
Oh neat. I always thought

Oh neat.

I always thought the star of Macross II was Ishtar and her two friends.

VF5SS's picture
Posted by VF5SS on 31 August, 2011 - 16:07
Oh, good call. That should

Oh, good call. That should be "Star mecha". Let me fix that for... me.

Edit: weird, I can edit this post, but not that prior one?

sleet01's picture
Posted by sleet01 on 1 September, 2011 - 12:11
I got ya covered dude.

I got ya covered dude.

VF5SS's picture
Posted by VF5SS on 1 September, 2011 - 13:28
I've always loved this Valkyrie design.

I've always loved this Valkyrie design.
Their I said it.
...in a public place for all to read.
...and I'll probably be tarred and feathered over Macrossworld for heresy by some troll. Shrug. So be it.
I always though this mecha design was a perfectly logical extension of the original VF-1 (though I don't buy into the whole 'head shield' with the rail gun thing. I mean why?)
I've had this model for years. Bought it when it first came out from a store, 'Heros Club' (later called SF SF...or was it the other way around, cant remember) where the owner of the store had put one together in battleroid mode. Every seam filled and smoothed, graphics painted on instead of applied, lightly weathered. One of the most beutifull things I've ever seen.
Seems every few years I pull it out thinking 'this time i'm going to do it.' Then I think back on that model sitting in that glass case in that store and sigh. There is no frick'n way I could ever come close to that level of finish that I saw way back when so why bother. Instead I spend some time looking at the parts, lovingly put it all back in the box and back on the shelf.
Someday though. Someday.

Toysouldiers's picture
Posted by Toysouldiers on 1 September, 2011 - 11:30
It seems that what the

It seems that what the consensus of MACII is: Most people like the Mecha (which I do) but dislike the actual anime (having just re watched recently since it first came out, it's better than I remember but still just OK).

I personally prefer the mecha from MacII than Mac7.

Unfortunately, besides this kit, all the other MacII kits are high end collector resin kits.

Leonardo

Modcineaste's picture
Posted by Modcineaste on 1 September, 2011 - 12:21
I have a small amount of

I have a small amount of nostalgia for the design because I bought back in the early 90's that Macross II roleplaying book.

VZMK2's picture
Posted by VZMK2 on 1 September, 2011 - 18:08
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net