CollectionDX Network

Orguss Orgroid

Comments

26 comments posted
Awesome toy.

This is a totally cool toy. I need to get one of these to go with my Nikick!

P.S. Pretty sure that sweet box art is by Artmic founder and president Suzuki Toshimichi.

Ginrai's picture
Posted by Ginrai on 18 December, 2009 - 15:52
(*drools*) So- there was a

(*drools*)

So- there was a toy made of the Orguss...

I always saw models and non-poseable figures in the magazines my Dad had from that era, and I had always wanted a toy of it, but I didn't know the show at all compared to Macross.

I want one.
------------------------------
CollectionDX Staff

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 18 December, 2009 - 16:25
Cockpit removal.

Thanks for the review of a great and perhaps occasionally overlooked toy (it always seems a bit overshadowed, if understandably, by Takatokus Valkyries).

My question is, how easy is it to remove the cockpit? My Orgoid (with green canopy, a common variant) has a pilotwhich is a bit out of position and it would be nice to get him sittign back correctly...

Eva_Unit-4A - there were several Orguss toys made; Toybox DX has the low down in their Datafiles section.

F-ZeroOne's picture
Posted by F-ZeroOne on 18 December, 2009 - 17:10
This one of the very few

This one of the very few non-jumbo, not named "Voltron" Japanese toys I had as a kid. I don't recall having any packaging for it and I think it used to frustrate me because I never quite knew how it was supposed to transform.

"This must be settled the way nature intended....with a vicious, bloody fight!"
Onyx Blackman
Principal, Flatpoint High

NekroDave's picture
Posted by NekroDave on 18 December, 2009 - 17:22
My Valkyrie

It's interesting to note that as much as a huge Macross fan I was I never owned a full sized Valkyrie/ Jet Fire when I was a kid. Even now I still don't own one as I'm waiting for a proper reissued 1/55 scale Hikaru DYRL VF1A with the proper Strike Valkyrie components. Accordingly this Orguss was my Valkyrie during my childhood and thought it was the coolest ever and glad I kept care of it and appreciate it even more after have watched the first 8 episode of Orguss.

Where did you get your Orguss at Dave?

The Canopy pops right off with little or no effort as it sits in there with friction only. The blue control panel that Kei sits in pulls out easily so you can rearrange the figure. But be careful maybe later ones they might have glued the canopy in.

Eva, shouldn't be too difficult to get one for your collection they usually sell between $60.00 to $140.00 each on Y-Auctions and I'm sure you would give one a good home!

Thanks for liking my review!

Leonardo Flores
CollectionDX Staff Writer-West Coast Bureau

Modcineaste's picture
Posted by Modcineaste on 18 December, 2009 - 17:41
Macross Nerd Alert

Macross nerd alert! Only the VF-1S Hikaru came with Strike armor. The VF-1A was only depicted with Super armor in the show and that was released by Bandai in the Origin series last year.

Ginrai's picture
Posted by Ginrai on 18 December, 2009 - 19:55
...which I covered for CDX,

...which I covered for CDX just this year, BTW. ;D

And, as I clearly state, even though TT made the Valks, they were not around to release them for DYRL, making the 2008 OoV line the first time the Super VF-1A Hikaru has ever come out in 1/55 scale.
------------------------------
CollectionDX Staff

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 18 December, 2009 - 20:58
You're right....

....That was a nerd alert!!!

LF

Leonardo Flores
CollectionDX Staff Writer-West Coast Bureau

Modcineaste's picture
Posted by Modcineaste on 19 December, 2009 - 02:04
It was long time ago, but I

It was long time ago, but I want to say I got it secondhand at a flea market.

"This must be settled the way nature intended....with a vicious, bloody fight!"
Onyx Blackman
Principal, Flatpoint High

NekroDave's picture
Posted by NekroDave on 20 December, 2009 - 15:53
Everyone has their own

Everyone has their own taste, blah blah blah, but this is an essential piece in any Japanese Robot collection. Its beauty and execution are nearly unmatched, then or now. A great review of a legendary toy!

The Enthusiast's picture
Posted by The Enthusiast on 18 December, 2009 - 19:05
EVA,not only were there

EVA,not only were there several different toys of this made in Japan,I'm pretty sure there were "grey area" type boots avalable in the U.S. in like grocery stores and such. You know,like those chintzy versions of the Macross Valkyries you could find back then.

kidnicky's picture
Posted by kidnicky on 18 December, 2009 - 19:49
Ha! I actually have this!

I actually have this toy packed away in a box somewhere. I've had it for years. I think it's still in good shape too.

Jak Crow's picture
Posted by Jak Crow on 18 December, 2009 - 20:43
Orgoid cockpit.

Modcineaste, thanks for the advice on the cockpit. Will have to try it!

F-ZeroOne's picture
Posted by F-ZeroOne on 19 December, 2009 - 14:32
Orguss is one of my

Orguss is one of my weaknesses. If you didn't pick up the boxed dvd set that came out a while ago, you really need to. It's like peering into an alternate, yet familiar universe.

I have a few of these 1/40 scale orgroids, and they really are wonderful. I need some missiles for the gun though.

Now you need to take the next step and get the olson special....

------------------------------
CollectionDX Admin

JoshB's picture
Posted by JoshB on 19 December, 2009 - 15:39
I love this toy. Super

I love this toy. Super satisfying takatoku goodness. Unfortunately I still need to track down a gun and brown cockpit bubble at a minimum. Great review!

Anavel's picture
Posted by Anavel on 19 December, 2009 - 21:45
Since Bandai acquired TT,

Say, that poses an interesting question:

Since Bandai acquired TT, does that mean they still have the molds for this as well? I'd love to get a reissue of this to set alongside my TT 1/55 Valks!

------------------------------
CollectionDX Staff

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 20 December, 2009 - 15:44
I was not aware of the

I was not aware of the fourth tank mode that Orgroid was capable of! I've always thought the Orguss designs were neat, especially the Gerwalk mode which reminds me of an ostrich a good bit.

Dkun's picture
Posted by Dkun on 20 December, 2009 - 14:57
Yeah- I liked all the modes

Yeah- I liked all the modes except for the tank, which didn't really stick for me.

The Orguss was like a- how do I say this?- "grown-up SD Valkyrie", but still cool.

(BTW, I still have a 90s SD Valk model.)
------------------------------
CollectionDX Staff

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 20 December, 2009 - 15:42
I always thought the Tank

I always thought the Tank Mode was kind of funny. It think it was only used once in the TV series and even then the scene was kind of forced and the Orguss didn't do any fighting in that mode.

VF5SS's picture
Posted by VF5SS on 22 December, 2009 - 11:29
Tank Mode

You're correct, the Orguss' tank mode was used only once in the show's climatic battle for the final episode. For some reason I've kept wondering if it's 4th mode was more of an afterthought during it's conception.

-R78

Rodimus78's picture
Posted by Rodimus78 on 23 December, 2009 - 05:33
Sort of like Gerwalk?

Wasn't the story that Gerwalk was an "accident", where Kawamori drew a sketch of a half-transformed Valkyrie and said "hey, that looks kind of cool"?

RobotBastard's picture
Posted by RobotBastard on 23 December, 2009 - 14:11
I don't know for sure

I don't know for sure, you've gotta ask Kawamori or Mikimoto themselves about that one. I wouldn't be surprised if the gerwalks or the Org-Tank modes were accidental.

That's how the origin of the sugar cookies were made, by an "accident".

-R78

Rodimus78's picture
Posted by Rodimus78 on 23 December, 2009 - 14:28
This is one of those

This is one of those interesting toys that I've always liked and respected from afar...but never seemed to break down a just buy one. I'd ideally like the Olsen Special because the colors just seem better suited to the design, but they're just not too easy to come by.

Plus, whenever I have any extra scratch to throw at a Y!J auction, I end up going for something else. One of these days, though, I'll pick one of these babies up.

I would, however, rather go for a modern reissue from Bandai. The "Origin of Valkyrie" reissues may have been a little iffy, but the Valk reissues from around 2002 were PERFECT. They even corrected some design flaws from the original toys. As for an Orgroid reissue...well...I'm not holding my breath...

--
Sanjeev

Sanjeev's picture
Posted by Sanjeev on 23 December, 2009 - 11:08
Oh yeah?

Would you hold your breath for a 'SoC Orguss' Sanjeev?

Anything's possible in the post-modern world of toyfare.

-R78

Rodimus78's picture
Posted by Rodimus78 on 3 January, 2010 - 01:27
Not at all, my friend, not

Not at all, my friend, not at all!

See, I can accept a modernization of the original Takatoku/Bandai 1/55 VF-1 Valkyrie toy (namely, the new Yamato 1/60 2.0 VF-1's) because I have a very solid love of the design and original media from when I was a kid.

A modernization of the Orguss--even if executed as brilliantly as Yamato's 2.0 Valks--would do nothing for me. I'm not interested in the cartoon, and all I know of the design comes from the (few) experiences I've had with the original 1/40 (and, incidentally, the Revell "Robotech Nebo" model kit!).

So, that is the toy I want; thus, a Bandai reissue would be perfect.

--
Sanjeev

Sanjeev's picture
Posted by Sanjeev on 6 January, 2010 - 11:10
Orgroid

The Orgroid was the only one from that series that eluded me .. 32 years later .. and it still does .. I managed to buy out all the stock an import company had of every Mech from the show except the Orgroid .. i ended up with 8 of every one .. the Rovers were so cool .. the joints at the shoulders were a super weak point on those as the knees were on Ishkick and Ishforn .. after many moves and a terrible flood in the late 80s all are gone .. sure would like to have the diecast ones back .. anyone know of any paper models of these mechs??

Vyceroy's picture
Posted by Vyceroy on 25 August, 2013 - 21:30
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net