CollectionDX Network

12PM C-3PO

Comments

10 comments posted
Just like 3PO said to R2 upon landing on Tatooine,

"I wish I could quit you!"
As a mostly apostate Star Wars fan, my wallet and I are both a little galled at how fantastic this turned out, and I think I'm really going to have to get one. I'd rather wait for confirmation that R2-D2's definitely on the way, but I feel like by that point this will be a lot harder to find.
Couple questions though: Is there any place on the stand for the spare accessories, or do those just have to go back in the box? That one's not really a big deal either way, I can't imagine displaying him with any thing other than his open hands. With as much metal as this is, is there a big risk of scratching and paint chipping? The leg sheathes around the hips make me a little nervous, though I can't actually tell how much metal on metal contact there is.

Edit: Even as a 12PM X Chogokin hybrid, this sets the bar ridiculously high for the 12PM line's debut...
Edit dos: From all the press photos up to this point, 3PO's lit eyes are yellow, but in your pictures they're blue (at least, on my computer they are). Is that just a "final product may vary" sort of thing?

SpaceRunaway's picture
Posted by SpaceRunaway on 22 February, 2013 - 15:36
It's actually not the 12PM line's debut

It's actually not the 12PM line's debut - I believe the Wild Tiger from Tiger & Bunny came out first.
http://www.amiami.com/top/detail/review?scode=FIG-IPN-5032
It's also quite superlative, with some diecast and many individual light-up parts (it requires SIXTEEN watch batteries!)... so together the two definitely constitute a major raising of the bar, with both items being extremely impressive but together showing Bandai's discretion regarding which high end gimmicks each character design demands.

As reported by CDX (via Timeless_Dimension), there are a few other Perfect Models planned, including R2D2 and Bunny, though I don't believe any of those have had release dates announced yet...
http://www.collectiondx.com/news_item/81312/new_toy_line_bandai_12pm_perfect_model

recognizer's picture
Posted by recognizer on 22 February, 2013 - 18:40
Oops

My mistake, I didn't realize it had been out for a little while. I think seeing it in the NYTF galleries, plus not having heard anything led me to think that it wasn't out yet, despite that mental leap not making any sense at all.

SpaceRunaway's picture
Posted by SpaceRunaway on 22 February, 2013 - 21:17
I'd say paint chipping is not

I'd say paint chipping is not an issue as it appears that the metal is that color all the way through. I could be wrong, but it seems that way. The booklet does warn to be careful around certain joints for scratching, but i've handled this a lot and seen no issues.

As for the lights, they are more white than they appear in these pictures. I think perhaps it's just my camera.

JoshB's picture
Posted by JoshB on 22 February, 2013 - 17:39
Its probably anodized then

Its probably anodized then which is much better than painting a color over it. Anodizing penetrates the metal a bit. They use that process on a lot of pretty car parts and CNC machined parts to make em look better. Its a resistant coating, but a deep enough scratch will reveal the metal color.

chachipower's picture
Posted by chachipower on 22 February, 2013 - 19:43
Thanks Josh

Also, as gorgeous and amazing as this figure is, reading about Takahashi's process is what sold me, so thanks for linking to that. It's great that the creator is also dedicated and passionate enough about the original material that he wouldn't compromise on the details. As stated, his goal was to capture the awe of seeing ANH for the first time, and I think he did a pretty dang good job.

SpaceRunaway's picture
Posted by SpaceRunaway on 22 February, 2013 - 21:26
It's so dignified!

Wow, man, looking at the face and torso and arms of this thing really makes me appreciate what an elegant, visionary design C3PO is. Metropolis inspiration aside, I think one of the defining characteristics of 3PO is the way his appearance epitomizes the idea of a "protocol droid" - his smooth, gently curved design and golden finish would class up any room he's operating in. Even if he wasn't performing his communications function, any person of prestige would be proud to have such a stately device in their home. And with that, I've convinced myself that I need this toy...

recognizer's picture
Posted by recognizer on 22 February, 2013 - 18:29
I thought we werent allowed

I thought we werent allowed to post up porn?

Great sexy pictures Josh!

chachipower's picture
Posted by chachipower on 22 February, 2013 - 19:48
This thing is gorgeous.

This thing is gorgeous.

Jmann's picture
Posted by Jmann on 22 February, 2013 - 23:43
Just bought this yesterday

nippon-yassan.com has it for $280! More than $100 less than anywhere else I've seen. Can't wait to get this, this review made it look so gorgeous, the fan in me told in no uncertain terms "You will own this"

Ayelborne's picture
Posted by Ayelborne on 2 March, 2013 - 15:29
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net