CollectionDX Network

Getter 1

Comments

13 comments posted
Looks nice. I wonder if

Looks nice. I wonder if they'll revisit getter 2 or 3.

jacksauce's picture
Posted by jacksauce on 25 March, 2010 - 23:11
I usually don't buy an SOC

I usually don't buy an SOC without reading some reviews, preferably here on the trusted CDX, but I took a chance on this one. I got this last week, and it's one of the best SOCs I have, certainly my favorite so far. Well articulated for great posing, good metal content (except the feet), good number of accessories (love the guns), looks great, comes in a cool-looking box. I did have some difficulty getting the cape in place, but once I did, I don't have the problem you do with it falling out. Also didn't have the problem with the front part falling off, but it does seem as though it could with minimal force.

seraph2011's picture
Posted by seraph2011 on 25 March, 2010 - 23:33
As someone who got to hold

As someone who got to hold this in their hands, I like this piece a lot. This is the version of Getter 1 that I think of first when someone mentions Getter Robo to me. It feels nice to the hands and poses well.

Dkun's picture
Posted by Dkun on 25 March, 2010 - 23:37
Great piece of Chogokin, got

Great piece of Chogokin, got mine about a week ago as well and am quite pleased.Plenty of weight and very posable as stated in this excellent review.
No problems what so ever out of the box. I can now pass on the earlier GX-06 which I could never get past the "purple turkey legs"!
I'm overall partial to the GX-51 Getter Dragon's design, but its a different SOC anyways. I'm hoping too that the other two characters get produced.
Also agree this would make an excellent "back version".

Send Lawyers Guns and Money...

Astroman's picture
Posted by Astroman on 26 March, 2010 - 00:05
Must...resist...

urge...to...get...into...SOC...rising...

RobotBastard's picture
Posted by RobotBastard on 26 March, 2010 - 09:48
Just Give in!

I'm there with you! I finally gave in as if there is a Toyline I'm going to collect it might as well be SOC because its what a Japanese toy is suppose to be and feel like! I think I'm ready for my third one most likely it will be GX25 Garada or GX 26 Doublas to battle my OG GX1 Mazinger!

This one looks great!! Looking forward to picking one of these up as well!!!

Leonardo Flores
CollectionDX Staff Writer-West Coast Bureau

Modcineaste's picture
Posted by Modcineaste on 26 March, 2010 - 11:32
SO close...

I will not lie: That looks like a great figure and I'm torn between it and the fairly recent Getter Dragon from the same show. I KNOW Shin Getter Robo is probably inevitable and that puppy will be mine but...

Am I the only one in the world who loves the 'New Getter Robo' version of this robot? Post about an SOC of that sleek-but-classic update and I'm 100% sold.

As it stands... I'm 85% sold and rising. Curse you GX-45 Mazinger Z, for introducing me to small-yet-awesome Gokin!

Felixman's picture
Posted by Felixman on 26 March, 2010 - 12:24
New Getter 1 was an

New Getter 1 was an interesting take on the design I thought. A lot sleeker than the usual Getter Style with lots of defined edges, but still keeping that nice chunky feel to the robot as well.

If Bandai made an SOC version of that at this price, I'd be really happy.

Dkun's picture
Posted by Dkun on 26 March, 2010 - 13:19
I love the New Getter

I love the New Getter version. But, I'm a crazy Getter fan, who likes almost ALL the Getters (and has about a dozen versions of Getter One/Getter Dragon, and about half that of the others). The only one I don't like is the pink one from the 'Shin vs, Neo' series.

seraph2011's picture
Posted by seraph2011 on 26 March, 2010 - 23:50
not bad...

not bad for its price... detail, articulation and accessories are impressive.. but if i have the means, id get the fewture version since im into robots that are modified and/or upgraded.. nice review guys!

overclocked's picture
Posted by overclocked on 26 March, 2010 - 14:31
So what's better, the SOC or

So what's better, the SOC or the Aoshima one? I'm guessing the SOC but I like how the other one has the clear green with the chrome bits underneath.

VZMK2's picture
Posted by VZMK2 on 26 March, 2010 - 18:07
GX-52 Getter 1

I bought mine from HobbyLink Japan weeks ago and I'm really pleased with it. I hope they would release Getter 2 and Getter 3 and Getter Dragon and Getter Poseidon. I would definitely buy them all!

grendizer1975's picture
Posted by grendizer1975 on 26 March, 2010 - 18:19
Getting this one soon

Great review, Josh.

I am getting this one soon... I have to complete my SOC obsession.

mazpinoy's picture
Posted by mazpinoy on 25 November, 2010 - 22:38
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net