CollectionDX Network

Jushen Yong Ji Wang (Giant Saver)

Comments

14 comments posted
Great first review

And a really interesting subject. I grew up in Hong Kong, and the access to Japanese toys seemed to have been a lot easier there (to the point that I had some stuff that never came out in the States, and after coming back to the US trying to figure out what I had has been a real pain), but there was no shortage of bootleg stuff either. I'd be lying if I said that my interest in the Chinese toy market has historically been in anything other than the crazy bootlegs, but as rapidly as that market is evolving, it's going to be really interesting to watch. If anything else, at least the quality of the toys is getting much better.

Also in the picture of the open scroll I was struggling to figure out what it was supposed to be, and then I realized the picture was upside down.

SpaceRunaway's picture
Posted by SpaceRunaway on 15 May, 2013 - 00:01
Unfortunately I realized the

Unfortunately I realized the scroll picture was upside after the review was posted. Being one of the few Chinese characters I know, it somehow just didn't click the entire time i was processing the pictures. I do wish I spent more time learning Chinese as a kid so I could find interesting toys easier but all I can really do now is search taobao with some generic key key phrases and hopefully find something cool.

siningy's picture
Posted by siningy on 15 May, 2013 - 19:21
I've been aware of these for

I've been aware of these for several months now, but I didn't know how to go about obtaining them since they come from China.

Despite some, I'll say, "awkward" coloring, these look quite interesting! I like how the henshin device is integrated into the mecha, and if left out there's a big gap. Clever.
I would not mind getting any of them at all, and it would serve as a nice fill in my Super Sentai collection even if it does originate from China.

It's ironic- I want this more than I wanted any of the real Super Sentai robos for the past almost-three years.

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 15 May, 2013 - 01:40
I knew I had to have these

I knew I had to have these the moment I saw them on taobao as well! I had picked up a different animated Chinese Sentai toy as well which was totally disappointing but the Giant Saver figures were much better than I expected. If you are interested in buying some, you can use a service like Taobaoring.com to help you order. Prices seem to very a lot for the figures, I saw them going for up to 100USD in larger department stores or you can get them as low as 20 USD from various taobao sellers. Search 巨神战击队 for the figures and way too many results should come out.

siningy's picture
Posted by siningy on 15 May, 2013 - 19:33
What is Taobaoring.com? Is

What is Taobaoring.com? Is it a search engine? Translation engine? A Chinese store for English consumers?

...I may have to go through a third party to get these, since none of the Japanese toy sites I frequent have them.

Obviously you want to save some material for your other reviews, but how is the quality on the other transformable figures?

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 15 May, 2013 - 21:25
Sorry, should have clarified

Sorry, should have clarified that. Taobaoring is a proxy buying service for international customers that want to use taobao.com. I don't have any experience with them but they seem to be reliable and there seems to be a lot of praise for the service. Personally, I don't think the other two Saver's are as well made as Giant, and a lot of the beast designs just aren't as well thought out. There is a certain charm to the two combined modes but I guess the simplest way to describe them would be a giant clusterfuck. I'd still probably choose these over many of the recent super sentai releases though.

siningy's picture
Posted by siningy on 15 May, 2013 - 21:52
I've seen a video of the

I've seen a video of the 12-part combo. Yeah, it's a cluster****, but it grabs at me a lot more than anything from the last few Super Sentai Series in terms of cluster****s... and coming from me, that is saying something. O_o

I'm looking forward to your other reviews from this series! They will help me decide of I want the the whole lot, or just a few of them.

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 16 May, 2013 - 02:02
The animal modes are mostly

The animal modes are mostly rather lacking (as you noted in the review), but I love the gimmick of the scroll inserting into the chest and opening up. I hope we'll see some even more interesting stuff come out in the future from the people behind this.

recognizer's picture
Posted by recognizer on 15 May, 2013 - 13:20
I'm hopeful this will mean

I'm hopeful this will mean PLEX will step up their game, and remind them that they don't need electronic or motorized gimmicks to make toys good. All that this one does is transform. Yeah, it looks a little awkward and kinda bootleg-ish, but for a first real attempt, they did pretty well at imitating Super Sentai but making their own spin on it at the same time.

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 15 May, 2013 - 13:57
Why are these more

Why are these more interesting looking than sentai robots for the past several years?

VZMK2's picture
Posted by VZMK2 on 16 May, 2013 - 07:59
Warning

Careful when you use Taobaoring service, they are like ebay without the ebay/paypal protections. Dont buy from any sellers with low rating and dont buy items that have low rating on it as well. If it's too good to be true then they arent legit.

Battousai's picture
Posted by Battousai on 16 May, 2013 - 13:01
Hmm... in that case I may

Hmm... in that case I may need a third party who can help me get these.

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 16 May, 2013 - 15:43
More information

Taobaoring is your 3rd party service, but they take no responsibility on your purchase. You go onto Taobao.com and pick up purchase, paste the link on Taobaoring for them to buy them on your behalf.

However, the tricky part is knowing and picking what is right on the Taobao.com. This set has a mini SD version which is crappy, but there are sellers who lurks around posting them as the larger (this version on the review) and sell them for dirt cheap.

Also Taobaoring does take very long maybe a couple of days to get back on their process. Its not an instant turn around pick and pay type.

This set of 12 which would combine into the "megazords" is around $80 dollars before shipping and middleman fee. After everything is done you are looking at around $150.

Battousai's picture
Posted by Battousai on 17 May, 2013 - 08:59
I didnt expect to find a

I didnt expect to find a review here. Nice job. I have all 3 of the sets as well. While a clusterf***, its still pretty nice how everything goes on (the combined mode is essentaily complete once you make the 8 part combiner, 12 parts just adds more weapons and armour). Once completed it is a sight to behold. and the fact that they made nearly all of the holy beasts have a special feature was neat (thought not all of them are outstanding).

Btw the 'man' combination scroll plays three sound effects. Press the button/head twice quickly plays one alternate sound effect and hold the button for a few secs plays another.

Roanstalker's picture
Posted by Roanstalker on 19 May, 2013 - 14:22
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net