CollectionDX Network

ZordBuilder System - Samurai Megazord

Comments

12 comments posted
Contemplating...

Great review. I'm actually contemplating on getting this anyway, along with the SharkZord (the US counterpart of the Kyoryu OriGami).

Vavilos's picture
Posted by Vavilos on 24 April, 2013 - 21:30
Don't do it, you're gonna be

Don't do it, you're gonna be disappointed. Seriously.

Get the DX Shinekn-Oh (or Deluxe Samurai Megazord); you will be getting your money's worth, even if the price still stings a little.

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 24 April, 2013 - 23:04
i knew this thing wasn't

i knew this thing wasn't gonna be much good, considering BA's fairly recent history with tuning sentai mechs to the PR market, but seriously? they removed the triple-changing feature? what a load of crap.

wilcosu35's picture
Posted by wilcosu35 on 25 April, 2013 - 00:09
Unimpressed with ZordBuilder

From the first time I saw this toy, I knew the quality had gone done from what BoA used to do in the past. I do like the proportion of the figure, giving it a more human-like outline. But, like you EVA, I did not like seeing that the folding gimmick got removed sans the TurtleZord. The Dragon FoldingZord got the shaft on this; BoA shouldn't have had to remove the Zord's folding gimmick and make it look squat as hell.

The matter of the ApeZord not folding into a Badge/Emblem mode hurt the toy down the road as when forming the BoA version of the Samurai-haoh, or the Gigazord, where it hung down and dragged. BoA should have done a re-release of the ApeZord and given it the folding gimmick that it's Japanese counterpart, Saru Origami, had in order to balance the Gigazord out.

I have all the origami like you do and my view is most likely colored by owning those toys for nearly two years, but I like seeing quality put into a toy. I had the original MegaZord and Thunder MegaZord as a child and remembered the fun I had playing with them and that in hindsight, they were fully of quality (despite inaccurate decals). I agree that if you gave a child a Shinkenoh, they would find it more accurate.

I never bought any of the Samurai toyline and will not do so anyway.

Senjuto's picture
Posted by Senjuto on 27 April, 2013 - 01:15
They definitely cut corners

They definitely cut corners on this and the whole Samurai line, but...

I really don't care. What you're left with is a toy that, while a little mediocre on its own, is incredibly fun to mess around with and combine with all the accessory mecha, especially due to the much, much more varied joint system and IMO enjoyably stylised proportions compared to the original. Is the original Shinkenger line better? Definitely. Is this line a hell of a lot cheaper (now that the days of 1500 yen Mogyuudaiohs on Mandarake seem to have passed), easier to get, and considering the Ha-oh/Gigazord, kind of the same thing in the end? Yep.

...still wish I had the minipla etca

Rankarana's picture
Posted by Rankarana on 25 April, 2013 - 10:59
I actually really liked mine.

I actually really liked mine. It's literally half the price of the Japanese one. Expecting it to live up to that is insane. In all honesty, I think the BoA version has way better proportions than the original.

Jmann's picture
Posted by Jmann on 25 April, 2013 - 11:04
A sad effect of PR's declining sales, this was.

Power Rangers was in really sad shape monetarily and at the time this and the first three auxiliaries were molded there was no guarantee of a network picking up the show. So they wound up having to go really, really cheap when they made the new molds, hence things like the dragon's deformity. Having the sword for a tail wasn't so much a deliberate flaw exchange as it was a consolation prize.

Also: Only the Core 5 are called Foldingzords in the show. Because, well, only the core 5 fold.

ZeldaTheSwordsman's picture
Posted by ZeldaTheSwordsman on 18 June, 2013 - 01:39
I noticed the naming-thing as

I noticed the naming-thing as well. All the others are just "Zords", but those five specifically are "FoldingZords". They can't call them "Samurai Zords" because that was already done in a previous series.

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 18 June, 2013 - 02:18
Just saying since you called

Just saying since you called the Beetlezord the Beetle Foldingzord in your review of it. ;)

You're going to be pleased if/when you get to the Clawzord, at least about one thing: The connection to the lion is a lot stronger.

ZeldaTheSwordsman's picture
Posted by ZeldaTheSwordsman on 18 June, 2013 - 13:56
"You're going to be pleased

"You're going to be pleased if/when you get to the Clawzord, at least about one thing: The connection to the lion is a lot stronger."

Funny you should mention that...

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 18 June, 2013 - 15:56
Ooh, now I'm intrigued

Ooh, now I'm intrigued

ZeldaTheSwordsman's picture
Posted by ZeldaTheSwordsman on 21 June, 2013 - 20:40
Bandai America, STOP ACTING LIKE A BUNCH OF MR. KRABS CLONES!

It's official. Bandai America has become a cheap toy company that is being run by Mr. Krabs clones. What happened to the Bandai America when I was a kid? What is the appeal of these toys? Bandai America was for the future, but they also believed in making products that were meant for kids AND adults. When I was a kid, Bandai America was awesome. Bandai America today? It fails very miserably. I got this thing for Christmas in 2012 from the Toysrus exclusive Samurai Gigazord set. At first I liked it, but now I just don't care for it. I am very disappointed at BOA right now. Bandai America, you are not the same toy company anymore. I am glad they imported the DX Samurai Gattai ShinkenOh from the 2009 Super Sentai Series Samurai Sentai Shinkenger. Too bad I already OWN a DX Samurai Gattai ShinkenOh. I can't believe I'm saying this but, NOBODY and I mean NOBODY over the age of 13 should like the ZordBuilder System toys. Only little kids are allowed to like these toys. I really don't get how anybody can enjoy these cheap pieces of unrecognizable plastic. I really don't. I DO own the other PRS ZordBuilder System sets. I don not have SharkZord, LanternZord, Small ClawZord, and Scorpion creature, and I will NEVER buy them at all. I do own the 2010 MMPR Dino Megazord and the PRMF Gosei Great Megazord, And I happen to find them to be okay. The only good PRS ZordBuilder System set in my opinion is the ZordBuilder System Samurai ClawZord (Even though it's called Claw BattleZord in the show). I will also NEVER buy anymore ZordBuilder System sets. I've had it. If BOA ruins the Kaizoku Sentai Gokaiger mecha toys, so help me god I'm going to get so mad that I'll burst into flames and then explode. PS: I am Mugenlazlo from YouTube. How are you doing, EVA_Unit_4A? I'm doing good.

Gaozilla's picture
Posted by Gaozilla on 11 July, 2013 - 09:50
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net