CollectionDX Network

X-01 Code

Comments

11 comments posted
...

"I do not think anyone liked Chomedome as a character enough to want a $150 version of him."

Someone hasn't been keeping up with IDW's 'More Than Meets The Eye'

Clashbomb's picture
Posted by Clashbomb on 18 February, 2013 - 12:59
Haha, no I haven't. I've

Haha, no I haven't. I've never really enjoyed Transformers comics for some reason. I've heard that Chromedome has been getting some love in IDW's books, but the new design looked pretty bad to me when I looked it up.

Prometheum5's picture
Posted by Prometheum5 on 18 February, 2013 - 20:29
sterile = boring?

Boring? Really? IMHO, I think he looks great. He's one of the most well-executed and cleanest third party (or official) bots I've seen to date. Maybe his perfection isn't for everyone.

ivanko's picture
Posted by ivanko on 18 February, 2013 - 20:40
He's bit too clean for me.

He's bit too clean for me. Not that I can't appreciate a clean design like say, the Victory Gundam, but he feels incredibly bland and uninspired. There's nothing that's distinctive about him at all.

evaunit01's picture
Posted by evaunit01 on 19 February, 2013 - 02:52
I'll give you that the

I'll give you that the transformation is nearly perfect. It is immensely satisfying using a novel solution. The car mode and mini figure are even quite fun. I just find robot modes to be wholly forgettable. It's only defining feature is that it has no defining features. It almost feel as like a blank body that one would then add kibble and detail to in order to make something identifiable as a Transformer. I agree that it is an odd complaint. We have wanted clean transforming figures for so long, but now that we have one of doesn't seem right.

Prometheum5's picture
Posted by Prometheum5 on 19 February, 2013 - 09:30
I don't understand why his

I don't understand why his head is all the wrong colors.

VF5SS's picture
Posted by VF5SS on 18 February, 2013 - 21:00
Naming

By background, Chromedome was a computer programmer... hence 'Code' I guess. 'Quadruple U' is two double-u (ww) or Wierd Wolf. And, Smart Robin is an anagram of Brainstorm. I think that these fall into the category of 'trying way too hard to be smart, and instead being clunky' names.

I am a huge Chromedome fan, but honestly the aesthetics for this guy just dont work for me. That, coupled with FanProjects ridiculous distribution (he has yet to see a release anywhere in the UK, and was under-produced generally) and the price that he goes for as a Deluxe sized figure, have meant that I dont have him, and dont really intend to pick him up unless he becomes a lot more available and about $15 cheaper. He seems to be technically great, but lacking in the character that the original G1 Headmaster just had in spades.

CyberShadow's picture
Posted by CyberShadow on 19 February, 2013 - 12:33
I don't think they even got

I don't think they even got that creative with "Code." Chromedome...every third letter.

Heavyarms's picture
Posted by Heavyarms on 25 February, 2013 - 21:10
Neat! I know nothing about

Neat! I know nothing about him, but I like it as a robot toy. And hey, an affordable third party TF! I may have to add this to the list. I think I may have found my very first third party TF.

Alexx's picture
Posted by Alexx on 22 February, 2013 - 20:23
Nice review. I love the fact

Nice review.
I love the fact that the head becomes the pilot. I'm not familiar with head masters or if this was done before, but very cool idea.
I have to agree with Adams comment in the show, there def need to be a fetish section for cockpits (with removable pilots). One of the things I also like about Meca Works project.
I don't mind the color scheme but wish the head and weapon blended a little better.

Demonseed's picture
Posted by Demonseed on 23 February, 2013 - 14:49
I like this

The ne defining features, clean bot form, are just what I like. I might just get this :D

The Castellan's picture
Posted by The Castellan on 1 August, 2014 - 21:37
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net