CollectionDX Network

Voyager-class Decepticon Lugnut

Comments

15 comments posted
Lovable, loyal Lugnut

I can't wait for the day when Lugnut will finally slip-up and say, "For the glory of the Royalty!" XD
------------------------------
CollectionDX Staff

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 27 June, 2008 - 12:14
I just wish his light piping

I just wish his light piping worked. I had the issue where the cockpit wouldn't stay closed, but I didn't have to open him up to fix it. It just takes a little finagling when transforming him back to shut it. I do really like him though. One of my favorite of the TF:A voyagers I have.

Mike's picture
Posted by Mike on 27 June, 2008 - 15:21
Of the four I have so far

Of the four I have so far (Lugnut, Dlx. Prowl, Dlx. Bumblebee, and Voy. Starscream) this one seems to give me the least grief so far- the only big issues being the turquoise panels on the tails doesn't perfectly stay together (it can be ignored easily enough), and the upper arms' trans. joints don't stay locked in place when you bend his shoulders back down.
Oh, yeah- the nose doesn't stay perfectly together in bomber mode for me either, but I can accept that since it doesn't space apart much more than a millimeter or two, and it sticks together easily enough; if I bump it and it comes apart, no big deal.
Yeah, the piping was a real loss that I was hoping would work out this time.

I just cracked open Starscream not 15min ago. Someone has a serious crush on the VF-19 [from "Macross 7"] over there... He's a cross in jet mode between that and a real F-35 Lightning-II next-gen stealth fighter. But, the lack of undercarriage kibble which I so highly-praised on Lugnut returns with a vengeance on 'Screamer', so that was a real let-down. :-( (On the other hand, Starscream's got a wicked-ass Automor-- I'm sorry, "Auto-conversion", feature!)
------------------------------
CollectionDX Staff

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 27 June, 2008 - 16:28
I adore Starscream. I have a

I adore Starscream. I have a tendency to keep him in Gerwalk mode. I wish there were Macross toys of this quality at this pricepoint.

Mike's picture
Posted by Mike on 27 June, 2008 - 16:43
This version of Starscream

This version of Starscream will be the first of the back-stabbing Decepticon I've ever owned.
Well, no... I do own the US-exclusive Supreme-class Starscream from "...Cybertron", but even though he looks kinda cool, it wasn't all that its size lived up to.

Anyways, the fingers on this new Starscream are really loose, his head tends to pop-off when you change him back to vehicle mode, and the thigh-twisting joints are a little on the loose side- considering they're supposed to ratchet around! Oh, and I popped-off both of his back landing gear the first time I tried to extend them. But otherwise, he's a really cool toy.
This was the first "...Animated" set I saw, and I really wanted him (despite the exposed undercarriage), right alongside Prowl and Voy. Optimus Prime. However, I'm still debating if I want to get Voyager- or Leader-class Bulkhead.
------------------------------
CollectionDX Staff

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 27 June, 2008 - 17:12
My starscream's pretty good

My starscream's pretty good quality, the fingers only popped off once on mine, and his thigh joints are nice and tight, but I don't get the delicious ratcheting noises. About Bulkhead, I think theres a point in owning both of them, since t hey have different transformations/gimmicks.

Mike's picture
Posted by Mike on 27 June, 2008 - 18:20
I somehow never had the idea

I somehow never had the idea to put Starscream in Gerwalk mode (I'm just a dumb kid, I don't yet own any transforming Macross toys, but I do have my eye on those Toynami 1/100's!), and now that I have, I just love the figure that much more. Thanks for the idea!

Gareth Infinity's picture
Posted by Gareth Infinity on 28 June, 2008 - 18:15
Hey hey hey--

We're all kinda getting off-topic here; this review is about Lugnut, not 'Screamer. His review I'm expecting to have out sometime next week.

And don't worry- I'll take a pic of him in GERWALK form as well. ;-)
------------------------------
CollectionDX Staff

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 29 June, 2008 - 01:08
My apologies

Right, about Lugnut. I've been considering buying this guy, and your review made him look all the better, but if I find myself with a spare $20 he won't be my first priority.

Gareth Infinity's picture
Posted by Gareth Infinity on 29 June, 2008 - 11:26
What did I tell you about the Punch

The Animated toys are great so far! I was lucky enough to find a Grimlock on their first day out on the shelves, but I passed on Lugnut but I'll eventually pick one up. So far I've got to say Animated's show is great, the pacing between the voice actors is almost back to Beast Wars. Thats easy to say with Kaye as roughly half the cast, but really with how he delivers some of the humor.

Rise of the Constructicons: "..........I'm Okay!!"
-------------------------
Rob
The Gundam Model Guy

Gunpla Rob's picture
Posted by Gunpla Rob on 28 June, 2008 - 08:14
I think it's an absolute

I think it's an absolute coup that they got the actor who voiced five Megatrons in a row to now perform his heroic rival in the next series. And to be honest, he really does a good job; Kaye is a fantastic actor, and his Optimus is unique but not in a bad way. I've got all of "Beast Wars" on DVD, but I've not heard him in any of the other series, so I can't really compare that way. But, looking at his profiles in both Wikipedia and IMDb says a lot about his talent. And he has the skill and experience to perform many unique voices.
------------------------------
CollectionDX Staff

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 29 June, 2008 - 01:04
Agreed!

Kaye's got a great heroic voice, we've just had to see him as a villian for so long. The first time I heard him speak compassionately about something was when he was on Gundam Wing as Kushrenada, but that was still something of a villain, but never a hero until now. I know Matt Moylan loves to throw in a few Beast Wars Megatron jokes at him as Animated prime, especially in his bit for the TF Collectors' Club magazine:

"I find that the best weapon is the rediculously large battle axe... yessss....."

His Grimlock is especially great, I almost thought it was Gregg Berger the first time I heard him speak. But Animated's Voice talents are already a strong bunch and keep they getting better: Lance "Bishop" Henrichson as Lockdown and Townsend "The Tick" Coleman as Sentinel Prime but they've got some of the G1 voices too, John Moschitta reprising Blurr and I think even Susan Bluu got a cameo as Arcee.

-------------------------
Rob
The Gundam Model Guy

Gunpla Rob's picture
Posted by Gunpla Rob on 29 June, 2008 - 08:39
I know for certain that

I know for certain that Susan Blu returned once as Arcee in the season-1 episode "Thrill of the Hunt" in a sequential flashback. However, Blurr has not spoken yet on-screen.

Speaking of "Beast Wars" references, they introduced a character recently in "Autoboot Camp" called Wasp. He was mistakenly identified to be a Decepticon spy, and was ejected from the Elite Guard training center while Bumblebee & Bulkhead were there. Since then (but before coming to Earth), Sentinel Prime was pursuing Wasp across the galaxy. Well, in a very Gollum-like moment at the end of that episode (complete with bobbing torso, flinching eye, and rubbing his hands), we hear Wasp talking alone to himself:

"Bumble-bot not hide from Wasp. Wasp swear he find Bumble-bot. Wasp make Bumble-bot pay for ruining Wasp's life!"

It wasn't the original voice of Waspinator, Scott McNeil (it was actually Tom Kenny [Starscream/Scrapper/Prof. Sumdac]), but you certainly can't deny the connection, including a similar size & pre-"Beast Wars" shape.
Well, David Kaye did say that Waspinator might make an appearance in "...Animated", but he didn't specify how or when.

(Of course, in the very last scene of the ep., we learn that the head of Autobot Intelligence, Longarm Prime- a 'classmate' of Bumblebee, Bulkhead, Ironhide, & Wasp- is the real mole: the size-changing Shockwave in disguise!)

[EDIT:] Aah- that's why Sentinel's voice sounded so familiar! He's even got The Tick's body shape (huge arms/upper torso, smaller lower torso/legs), giant chin, and ear-like antennae! I wonder if they changed Sentinel's shape after the toy was in-production, but just after the voice was cast; the lower body on the toy is much bulkier than his on-screen counterpart.
------------------------------
CollectionDX Staff

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 29 June, 2008 - 11:35
Tick Lines

I was wondering about who Sentinel's voice was but it really hit me when I heard him speak on the Halloween Episode "Rich Energon-y Goodness!" Only the Tick can say something that cheesy and sound so bold at the same time!

-------------------------
Rob
The Gundam Model Guy

Gunpla Rob's picture
Posted by Gunpla Rob on 29 June, 2008 - 19:01
Animated

I really like the Animated cartoon but I am not a big fan of this series of toys. I cannot help but think that they look very childish and really out of place beside my vintage Transformers. Also it appears a lot suffer from quality control issues. I must admit that I am tempted to get Voyager Bulkhead, Grimlock and Lockdown.

Mark M's picture
Posted by Mark M on 28 June, 2008 - 08:36
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net