CollectionDX Network

Super Phantom X Robot

Comments

7 comments posted
Another cool bootleg review,

Another cool bootleg review, with an interesting story behind it.
At times I'm surprised by how global the collecting community can be.

TimF's picture
Posted by TimF on 5 April, 2010 - 23:37
Yes, it is true. I am from the future.

The toy review was "Submitted by NekroDave on 6 April, 2010 - 00:14."
My comment was "Submitted by TimF on 5 April, 2010 - 23:37."

Huh.

TimF's picture
Posted by TimF on 5 April, 2010 - 23:43
Jumbo Archeologist Dave.

Jumbo Archeologist Dave. Great story. Please keep sharing the personal background of these rare finds. It is a good part of collecting.

Thanks for letting us see and handle this crazy, cool thing in person. I do like those extra stickers, and ankle joints.
I guess the ball and socket elbow joints have a little less movement than the original?

repairtechjon's picture
Posted by repairtechjon on 6 April, 2010 - 00:21
COOL

No doubt Dave, when it comes to obscure jumbos- you is the man!

I think his face is very similar to Taekwon V. Wadda ya think?

Grandzinga....

Grandzinga's picture
Posted by Grandzinga on 6 April, 2010 - 13:49
You guys like some weird

You guys like some weird stuff! :) But I can understand--it's a very interesting piece with the new colors and stickers and slight changes. I wonder what the packaging on these things looked like.

I have one Korean Jumbo in my collection, albeit a very recent one. It's an oversized Deckerd from Brave Police J-Decker, based on the smaller Sofubi version. It's actually licensed by Sunrise and Takara. I only regret that they didn't include any accessories with him--he's rather plain without a revolver or police badge /=)

JeffStein's picture
Posted by JeffStein on 7 April, 2010 - 07:08
For those who don't know

For those who don't know what Jon is talking about, about a month and a half ago me, him, Mason and Sanjeev paid a visit to the real jumbo kingpin, Tom Franck, where I surprised him with this toy, which we'd both always wanted. Tom was quick to show his "support".... LOL

Photobucket

Also, just for fun, here is the original picture that I first saw. You can tell mine is the same specimen by the missing stickers and the crease in the chest sticker.

Photobucket

"You can't sell it until you get it from him, but you gotta sell it to pay him to get it to sell it".
---Jerilock, talking about me trying to raise the money I need to pay for the toys I already bought....

NekroDave's picture
Posted by NekroDave on 7 April, 2010 - 21:03
Best voltron I've ever seen.

Best voltron I've ever seen. Of note is that these jumbo collectors were drinking mountain dew throwbacks. Or, as Men say, hogging throwbies.

jacksauce's picture
Posted by jacksauce on 8 April, 2010 - 16:48
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net