CollectionDX Network

Vehicle Zord System Dino Megazord

Comments

46 comments posted
Tank Mode

Isn't the Tyrannosaurus in tank mode supposed to be able to lean forward more?

baltmatrix's picture
Posted by baltmatrix on 10 December, 2009 - 11:23
I agree, but- not having

I agree, but- not having this toy yet- BA may have removed the extra ratcheting point in the knees to simplify it.

Good review, but I think I'll keep my original. If I come across a complete Daizyujin someday, I may go for it.

Here's my thing: the Dragonzord connected to the shoulders via thin tabs that slips between the joint (good-old cleaver design!). But there's no space between the arms and torso on this, so it makes me wonder if they're gonna remake the Dragonzord at all (stupid move, BA!), or if it will connect in a different way here? baltimax: are there any unused connecting points on this toy?

Oh, and WTF BA made it to limb-swap is just plumb stupid and over-gimmicky. Stop defiling the franchise, BA!!!
------------------------------
CollectionDX Staff

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 10 December, 2009 - 13:33
Ruining the franchise?

Eva, Bandai Japan have been killing it in their own way, to be honest. At least Kamen Rider Double is the most awesome thing since Ryuki.

Rankarana's picture
Posted by Rankarana on 10 December, 2009 - 14:17
I was referring more to BA's

I was referring more to BA's regular use of limb-swapping that allows them to add-on things like motorcycles 'n such for 'additional playability and interaction'. (I have a whole other argument for BJ's gimmicks that I won't bring up here.)

On the other hand, I suppose this remake could be comparable to the Transforming Fury Megazord Set [that I covered] which had everything that the original Dlx. did, were solidly build & designed, and then added on without sacrificing anything.
------------------------------
CollectionDX Staff

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 10 December, 2009 - 14:42
The bikes?

Oh, I dunno, the bikes don't look that bad. It's not like they've totally screwed up the main Megazord in the process, unlike, say, the DriveMax. They're totally optional, and they do add a different look.

Rankarana's picture
Posted by Rankarana on 10 December, 2009 - 14:46
And ordinarily I'd agree

And ordinarily I'd agree with you on that. But there's actually two sticking points here:

  • The Megazord's head cannot turn side-to-side (you're telling me that in 15 years, they couldn't figure out a way to get that in there!?)
  • To accommodate the limb-swapping option on the knees and make sure they were stable, functional knees in Megazord mode were once more sacrificed. (I.e., they put more resources into making it limb-swappable than increasing poseability!) As an 90s toy, I can understand that it may not have been possible, but- again- they had 15 years to work on a solution, and went the gimmicky-route...again.

There are people out there, like myself, who also like transforming toys that don't have additional gimmicks beyond a fit-in-the-slot weapon and combining with similar-classed sets. "Transformers Animated" was a very good example of this- they transformed, they were highly screen-accurate (aside from differences in scale), and then each had a unique gimmick unto itself which did not significantly interfere with everything else, and was not a collector's gimmick (beyond simple repaints) that was spread across the entire line.

The problem that BA can't quite seem to wrap its head around is that it is okay to have a stand-alone Dlx Zord system just like it is in the series, especially when it comes to their own remakes. Instead, they put all their effort into frilly weapons, figures, motorcycles, command trucks, ATVs, and f***ing Battlizers which never appear or are mentioned in said-series, to the detriment of the stuff that does appear in the show(s)!
I think that if BA and Disney made an effort to put more of this wacky merchandise into the show(s) itself, then I might not have as much a problem, and both kids & collectors might be more inclined to get said frilly stuff.
Make original materials that differ from the Super Sentai Series if you must, BA, but be sure to remain faithful to your own creations!
------------------------------
CollectionDX Staff

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 10 December, 2009 - 15:46
Ah yes, thin, easily broken tabs. My favorite.

They could just as easily have come up with an alternate method of connection considering the limbs in regular Megazord mode connect in a completely different fashion.

Ginrai's picture
Posted by Ginrai on 10 December, 2009 - 16:15
It can.

It can lean forward more in tank mode but that looks really stupid.

Ginrai's picture
Posted by Ginrai on 10 December, 2009 - 16:11
Dino Thunder DX

I know we are talking a completely different price range, however, I will stick with the Jap. releases of the Dino Thunder DX sets.
This toy lacks too much playability. I don't think it was worth a re-release imo.

Grandzinga....

Grandzinga's picture
Posted by Grandzinga on 10 December, 2009 - 14:29
Huh?

But the Dino Thunder toys are a completely different robot and look nothing like this at all. How is that supposed to cure a jonesing for the original Megazord?

Ginrai's picture
Posted by Ginrai on 10 December, 2009 - 16:17
Exactly

That is what I am saying: I would never "jones" for this because, if I want a Dino themed robot, the Dino Thunder Zords blow the holy hell outta this guy!
You still did a very nice review though- Thanks

Grandzinga....

Grandzinga's picture
Posted by Grandzinga on 10 December, 2009 - 16:44
I am pretty impressed with

I am pretty impressed with your review and this toy, having a significant nostalgic attachment to the original toy. That said, I really don't understand why we've never gotten any higher-quality collector's Sentai toys besides Battle Fever. I think this guy as an SOC as good as the second version Voltes V would be a serious hit with the generation of collectors (myself 110% included).

Prometheum5's picture
Posted by Prometheum5 on 10 December, 2009 - 16:35
SOC Daizyujin

Because Japan doesn't care about Zyuranger? That being said, I'm surprised Toynami hasn't made a stab at it.

Rankarana's picture
Posted by Rankarana on 10 December, 2009 - 16:58
I agree- I would also like

I agree- I would also like to see some special collector-quality versions of Super Sentai main mecha beyond the Battle Fever Robo. I'd like to see updates for most of the early combiners- DynaRobo, BioRobo, LiveRobo, Flash King, Jet Icarus- because they set the standards of all to follow later. Unfortunately, a lot of that 'blocky charm' has gone by the wayside in favor of collecting gimmicks and elaborate decoration in the main toylines now.

And, going slightly off-topic for a moment, I truthfully wouldn't mind seeing a three- or one-part combining robo in a modern series. (The Galaxy Mega/Astro Megazord was the only other attempt at that after the Daidenjin from "Denjiman" in 1980! Everything after that had two-or-more components.)
------------------------------
CollectionDX Staff

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 10 December, 2009 - 18:16
The Popy DX/Godaikin

The Popy DX/Godaikin Dynarobo is one of the best robot toys in history.

--
Sanjeev

Sanjeev's picture
Posted by Sanjeev on 11 December, 2009 - 10:39
20$

a 20$ megazord? I'm in... sorry if this question been repeated over and over again, the reason for reruns is it because Shinkenger to Japanese for Power Ranger or the ratting hit the floor?

Berserk's picture
Posted by Berserk on 10 December, 2009 - 19:02
I have read that Disney has

I have read that Disney has actually fired a lot of the current PR staff that have been around all these years.

The reason- IMO- that Disney did this and went back to MMPR is because a lot of Japanese tradition and kanji is involved in "Shinkenger", including the all-important battle scenes.
For this, it would be very difficult to weed out enough of the original visual material to use generically in a PR season without bringing up consistent errors & questions in continuity. And, they are restrained enough by budget that they're not gonna make up a bunch of new stuff, and take the time to Photoshop all that out.

Now, getting rid of the staff for a year makes sense if they're not doing anything, right? So, around July-September 2010, we need to watch and see what Disney does:

  • If they re-hire staff, then PR 2011 will be based on "Goseiger".
  • If not, then it will be another rerun, and we will have to reevaluate what their ultimate plans are for the future of the franchise.

We will also need to check on the Japanese side of things- contracts and agreements surely need to be renewed from time to time, right? Perhaps that is part of all this as well, but I haven't heard- or know- anything about that end of things.

...But that's just how I see it.
------------------------------
CollectionDX Staff

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 10 December, 2009 - 19:22
I tried to get this the

I tried to get this the other day at Target but they didn't have any of the new PR line. I got TF ROTF Mixmaster instead.

I'll try after Christmas, I really want this badly.

VZMK2's picture
Posted by VZMK2 on 11 December, 2009 - 09:10
OT... How is ol' Mixxy? I'm

OT...

How is ol' Mixxy? I'm debating getting him to review, 'cause I liked his cannon-tripod alt mode in the movie.
------------------------------
CollectionDX Staff

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 11 December, 2009 - 12:31
Mixmaster's okay...

His vehicle mode is awesome, his robot mode is pretty neat (and if you like the movie asthetic, it's excellent) but his artillery/tripod mode is a terrible bundle of kibble. It's reminiscent of some of those bizarre Beast Wars Neo weapon modes.

Rankarana's picture
Posted by Rankarana on 18 December, 2009 - 05:20
Well, I'm about to find out

Well, I'm about to find out if it was worth the money, as I picked one up yesterday.

If you watch the movie, he more-or-less just does a half-handstand, legs in the air, and flips the cannon over his back. Pretty simple yet awesome. That's why I got him, but it'll depend on how articulate the figure is.

They had Sup Devvy at Walmart for $89, and I had an odd urge to get it. Still too expensive for the simplicity, but if it goes below $70, I might more-seriously consider it.
------------------------------
CollectionDX Staff

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 18 December, 2009 - 13:47
Dx Version

re you sure this is the Dx version of the megazord ?
I sure do hope not, cause i don't see how either the dragonzord or Titanus (wich robably will not be re-re-released) could combine withe this one. Especialy the dragonzord - battle mode (because of the knee thing)
i will be waiting to see how the dragonzord will be released before grabbing this one. Being a huge fan of the original one (i even got the original (converted) japanese version of the trio), i don,t want to be disappointed again by BA

"Awww man, that's one ugly zord..." Tommy about BA Drivemax Megazord.

Christopher Andre's picture
Posted by Christopher Andre on 17 December, 2009 - 17:41
DX

This is definitely the DX toy. As I started in the review, it is not a reissue of the old DX, though. It is about an inch shorter than the original. I put a battery in one of the pictures so you could judge the scale.

Ginrai's picture
Posted by Ginrai on 17 December, 2009 - 21:07
Oh crap

Thanks for the info. Well, i guess i will pass. No chrome, no additionnal poseability and smaller size. BA is really making fool of us.

"Awww man, that's one ugly zord..." Tommy about BA Drivemax Megazord.

Christopher Andre's picture
Posted by Christopher Andre on 18 December, 2009 - 12:01
Wow.

You totally didn't read my review at all, did you? This IS more poseable than the original.

Ginrai's picture
Posted by Ginrai on 18 December, 2009 - 12:50
I did read the review

But the point is that the original also had the arms and legs joints and even the knee joints to some extend. So i higly doubt that it will be much more poseable...

"Awww man, that's one ugly zord..." Tommy about BA Drivemax Megazord.

Christopher Andre's picture
Posted by Christopher Andre on 18 December, 2009 - 19:15
Articulation

It's definitely more poseable than the original. The original couldn't really move the legs at all! Now it's not modern Rovoltech levels of articulation, but it's a definite improvement.

I like this toy.

Ginrai's picture
Posted by Ginrai on 18 December, 2009 - 19:53
Well, let's see here- the

Well, let's see here- the places I'd expect improvement on:

Knees (bending backwards)? Nope.
Neck (twisting side-to-side)? Nope.
Elbows (twisting side-to-side and bending forwards)? Nope.
Wrists (twisting side-to-side)? Nope.
Hips (swaying outwards)? Nope.

So... how exactly is this an "improvement" over my Dlx Megazord from 1993, other than having the right decals on it?
------------------------------
CollectionDX Staff

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 18 December, 2009 - 20:57
And

being smaller, losing the chrome and not being «backward compatible» wich might be important since titanus probably won't be released...

Why does BA has to destroy my favorite mecha ? WHY ?

"Awww man, that's one ugly zord..." Tommy about BA Drivemax Megazord.

Christopher Andre's picture
Posted by Christopher Andre on 19 December, 2009 - 17:47
Ch- you think this is bad?

Ch- you think that is bad?

Just a few minutes ago, I finished a 20-minute marathon to combine my "TF- RotF" Leader-class Optimus Prime and Jetfire sets together for the first time.
I have never seen such a convoluted P.O.S. combo in my life. I thought I was doing it wrong, so I had to go onto YouTube and watch one of the pro Transformer reviewers (Peaugh; though I usually refer to Optibotimus since I like him more) walk me through it to get it straight. It wasn't that I was doing it wrong, but that the tolerances were so dammed tight I couldn't see what the hell I was doing.

Power-up OP might have been cool in the movie, but this toy combo sucks eggs... badly. RotF Leader-class OP (which I covered for CDX, BTW) was complex but very well engineered; this combo is complex and limiting for no dammed good reason and scarcely looks like his movie form at all!

"Taking one for the team", Josh? Yessir-yessir. -_-;

Oh, sorry- OT. ^^;
------------------------------
CollectionDX Staff

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 19 December, 2009 - 20:22
Not only does the toy

Not only does the toy combination suck, but the Jetfire toy is crap as well. I've only had the thing for a month now and the two engine parts have both broken off the figure. What the hell?!?!

baltmatrix's picture
Posted by baltmatrix on 20 December, 2009 - 22:29
Hooray for reading comprehension.

I like this toy a lot and said so in my review. I do not think it is a "piece of crap".

Ginrai's picture
Posted by Ginrai on 22 December, 2009 - 03:31
My opinions on the future of this line

How come, I keep on having thoughts that the MMPR 2010 Megazord will have follow up Zords like the Dragonzord? I know most of us would be thinking how the hell BOA will make a Dragonzord that is compatible with it. Well think again boys, remember, BOA likes to pack their stuffs in big boxes so I am expecting that there will be a DX MMPR 2010 Dragon Zord in Fighting Mode soon enough. That will possibly be the next release under the DX MMPR 2010 line. As far as screen accuracy is possible, I don't see how the bikes attaching as arms fit in to the piece, I really DON'T AT ALL. As for Titanus, maybe they might skip or maybe they'll just pop up a smaller scaled version of the Ultrazord (maybe even in Action Zords form) and say, YES WE DO OFFER ULTRAZORD FOR YOU HUNGRY FANS!!!

redracer2004's picture
Posted by redracer2004 on 22 December, 2009 - 10:28
How dare.

How dare they make toys for kids with play features children would enjoy? Those evil men.

Ginrai's picture
Posted by Ginrai on 22 December, 2009 - 13:16
Does anyone ever have

Does anyone ever have numbers on BA each year on their sales from PR and which types of figures specifically? How many units sold, locations of good sales, etc.?

------------------------------
CollectionDX Staff

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 22 December, 2009 - 14:28
That information should be

That information should be publicly available in their fiscal year end information that is sent to stock holders and given to the SEC.

baltmatrix's picture
Posted by baltmatrix on 22 December, 2009 - 17:35
we are not criticizing the toy itself

If this guy was a `stand alone`, and not a remold, it would be nice. Heck, i mean, if i had this one back in 1993, i would have been the happiest kid on earth!
But when you compare it to the ol' good one, you get very disappointed, especialy if your are a collector. Many good points were droped from the old mold, but they didn't add much play value exept for the arm swapping gimmick -wich is not even used in the show.
Beside, you have the right to love it, and once again, maybe i would have too, if i wasn't so afraid of what will happen to the dragonzord (the awesomness itself) or the ultrazord (wich is the uber awesomness to me).
And the fact that here in Canada we will get it for twice the price you bought it for, well, it doesn't help either.

"Awww man, that's one ugly zord..." Tommy about BA Drivemax Megazord.

Christopher Andre's picture
Posted by Christopher Andre on 22 December, 2009 - 22:56
What?

It's NOT a remold. This shares zero parts with the original Deluxe Megazord and is way better looking than that toy. It's ridiculous to criticize this toy on its ability or inability to connect with toys that may or may not exist in the future. There may be new Dragozord and Titanus toys or there may not be. If there are, they may connect to this in a different fashion than the old one. Toy technology has come a long way in the last 15 years.

Also one of the previous posters specifically called this toy "a piece of crap" which is ridiculous. It's pretty nice for a $20 toy you can buy at Target right now and looks much better than the original.

Ginrai's picture
Posted by Ginrai on 23 December, 2009 - 19:41
megazord

i like it....but dont see it as an improvement.....what bothered me the most was, why they put fake wheels on fake trails at the triceratops....the should leave just fake trails

omgc88's picture
Posted by omgc88 on 24 December, 2009 - 13:23
Improvement

It looks way better than the original. How is that not an improvement?

Ginrai's picture
Posted by Ginrai on 24 December, 2009 - 15:58
that's a matter of taste

The dino's look are beter in the old one IMO. Same for the tank mode. and i liked the blocky look of the old one

"Awww man, that's one ugly zord..." Tommy about BA Drivemax Megazord.

Christopher Andre's picture
Posted by Christopher Andre on 24 December, 2009 - 23:38
Yeah, no.

This is a review. Of course it's a matter of taste. It's my review so it's a matter of my taste. Why did you read my review if you didn't want to hear my taste?

Ginrai's picture
Posted by Ginrai on 26 December, 2009 - 06:41
you know how the arms can

you know how the arms can disconect well maybee the dragonzord will haave somthing to do with that and that may be the way he connects to the dino megazord beecause they obsiulty probaly havnt done it just for the combination with the bikes

jordanB's picture
Posted by jordanB on 26 April, 2010 - 11:49
i think you're on to something

I was thinking the same thing. Instead of attaching the whole mastodon/mammoth to the dragonzord, you just slap the arms on. And then if you have some bikes you can have both megazords(sorta) at once.

That and the new leg connectors on the dino megazord means when(if) we get the dragonzord, it won't have tyranno's knees sticking out of it's feet(like the original does)

BigTransFan's picture
Posted by BigTransFan on 2 May, 2010 - 01:33
remember how in the original

remember how in the original how the dragonzord just slided into the shoulders well i think that you detatch the dino megazord arms and the dragon zord will clip into the the connector pegs and the arms of the megazord will clip on to new pegs that were formed by the dragon zord and thats how the dragon zord forms that helmet and shoulder guard thing (were dragon zord splits apart and the goes on top of the megazord);D

jordanb

jordanB's picture
Posted by jordanB on 2 May, 2010 - 07:45
shoulder brick things

BTS That may look betten than the original to boot-hope we get him

BigTransFan's picture
Posted by BigTransFan on 9 June, 2010 - 10:23
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net