CollectionDX Network

U.S.S. Enterprise NCC-1701 (HD Edition)

Comments

13 comments posted
Glue that ball socket!

I have sold dozens of the Star Trek spacecrafts and I have to agree that the stands are terrible. The people who buy them though, usually stick them on the stand put them on the shelf and that's it. I haven't had one returned because of problems related to the stand, I did have one that when put in play mode, would not shut up but that's been the extent of it. The warp pylons, well just the sheer nature of the design of the ship makes them wobbly, at least if you want show accuracy. Again not a real problem if its just a display piece. I think they look great overall!

cosmo773's picture
Posted by cosmo773 on 27 February, 2010 - 12:17
I hear that clear nail

I hear that clear nail polish works good on ball-and-socket joints. I haven't tried that technique before yet, but I know of others who swear by it for their Transformers 'n such.

------------------------------
CollectionDX Staff

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 27 February, 2010 - 22:49
EVA, DST's customer service

EVA, DST's customer service is great, I'm sure you could return it to get a new one. While DST's toys sometimes have some QC issues, they are only behind Hot Toys and Bandai on customer service- fixing any problem presented to them quickly and for free.

I had the Khan 1701, and the clear "radar dish" popped out right out of the box, and I couldn't fix it. One email and 2 photos later, I had a FedEx account number to bill my return to, and within a week, they sent me a brand new one in the box.

The Big R's picture
Posted by The Big R on 27 February, 2010 - 13:13
Cool. Thanks for the

Cool. Thanks for the info.

And the funny part is, I'm not gonna show them just one-or-two photos, but an entire review plus a video!
------------------------------
CollectionDX Staff

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 27 February, 2010 - 13:23
If I can find any more, I'm

If I can find any more, I'm aiming for a clean-hull Enterprise-refit/-A, -D (maybe an "All Good Things..." but only as a last resort), and a clean-hull -E. I'd also like to get a TOS Black Handle and TWoK Phaser(s).

In our NYTF photos, I saw they are not only making an Enterprise-B (I'd rather get an Excelsior), but a Klingon Bird of Prey, and a re-colored Enterprise-A (gray highlights instead of light-blue, which I didn't like even though it's screen-accurate).
------------------------------
CollectionDX Staff

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 27 February, 2010 - 13:28
I saw

I saw that too, the Enterprise-B looks pretty nice, and I'm sure that will be a *huge* hit for DST. That was very difficult to get in the 90's and had a $200+ price tag for years (They originally sold for around $20-30 each.)

Actually, this scale of ship (not sure what the slang is, but we used to call them "Large scale") is hugely popular with Star Trek fans, and for many a complete set of the ships is the cornerstone of a ST collection, along with the 70's 8" Megos. There is a subset of modelers that will strip the DST and Playmates ships, fill seams, do some work to make it more accurate, repaint them, etc.

You'll notice that despite DST making newer, more detailed ships, the Playmates ones are still very desirable. I think a lot of it is that the plastic will yellow (especially if it's kept in a smokey or cold environment) and the electronics sometimes don't work, so to find one a MISB one with a "try me" that actually works or a nice loose one is a catch. They're durable and look nice on the shelf. Plus, they don't have all the seam lines and shading/color details that many fans complain and you mention in your review about with the AA/DST ones.

I just don't have the room for these, but if you're into ST they are really nice for the money you pay. I did pick up a few of the Hot Wheels "diecasts" Mattel made last year.

The Big R's picture
Posted by The Big R on 27 February, 2010 - 14:33
I saw someone on YouTube

I saw someone on YouTube make a review of Playmates Toys' Classic Enterprise, and I have to say it was pretty impressive. (When it came out, I didn't appreciate the classic ship like I do now, so I passed it up. Now, however, I wouldn't mind a reissue sometime soon...
Some friends of ours had kids, and they had a 14" Playmates Toys Enterprise-D, which I did want at the time. (Ironically, these are the same friends who forbade Power Rangers...)
Their Enterprise-E, however, was pretty bad, and was obviously based on near-production concept artwork rather than the final design.

I wouldn't mind a Voyager, Deep Space Nine, and a few of the shuttles from AA.

[Ack- I have to keep reminding myself that Art Asylum makes these; DST only does marketing and distribution!]
------------------------------
CollectionDX Staff

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 27 February, 2010 - 22:46
Don't

Don't hold your breath for those Voyager and DS9 ships, EVA.

The DS9 in specific was a bomb at retail, and was stuck on many store shelves well into the 2000's. My local shop had Voyagers and DS9's for years and years at $5 and it took a long time for anyone to buy them. Now they are pretty expensive.

Folks who have been into TNG and DS9 and Voyager had a great run of cheap good quality collectibles in the 1990's. But ultimately those properties were very bad for retailers. Tons of overstock now floods the market. While the ships always sell better than figures for Trek, TNG and Voyager in specific is very vividly remembered as peg-warming to the extreme, and since the latest round of TNG stuff did so poorly at retail, I can't see them going full steam into doing lots of merch for these shows in the near future. It's 2010, and I can still buy any ST: Voyager or DS9 figure or mini-ship I want from those shows at comic shop retail for $1 or less.

So if they do those ships you mentioned, I'd pick them up as quickly as you can and not wait around. Shops won't order very many, if at all.

The Big R's picture
Posted by The Big R on 1 March, 2010 - 10:09
Your Toy

I see those flaws your version of the toy is a little fired up, but it still looks cool... what did you pay? Also, this toy looks great when light up... very cool. Keep up the good Trek reviews.

Lizardspock's picture
Posted by Lizardspock on 27 February, 2010 - 20:38
What'd I pay? Same as

What'd I pay? Same as everyone else- $50.00 off-the-shelf. I thought I'd be pushing my luck with The Comic Stop if I asked for a discount in addition to them holding it for me for two weeks...
------------------------------
CollectionDX Staff

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 27 February, 2010 - 21:50
Mine didn't have nearly the

Mine didn't have nearly the quality control issues yours did, but I'm still not happy with it. The "rust ring" weathering detail they put on the upper side of the saucer looks like someone took a pee all over the enterprise. Also, while I really like the one, long running engine sound, the rest of the sounds don't sound as good as the initial release. I think this one is going on ebay...

paulvg's picture
Posted by paulvg on 28 February, 2010 - 16:55
"...The "rust ring"

"...The "rust ring" weathering detail they put on the upper side of the saucer looks like someone took a pee all over the enterprise."

Ohh- so I wasn't the only one who noticed that! I literally said the same thing to myself too! XD

Yeah, the sound FX are kinda lame. He says ready the transporter, and the next sound we get is a photon torpedo going off and then we hear the transporter in the next clip!
I wish we coulda gotten at least three torpedo shots go off (like most of the other classic Enterprises had), and a few other phrases. The box indicated there was a Phaser FX, but that didn't happen, nor did a Tractor Beam. I also wish there had been one-or-two other voices (like Spock and Scotty).
------------------------------
CollectionDX Staff

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 28 February, 2010 - 20:44
Enterprise

Awesome EVA,

That right there is one of my all time favorite incarnations right along with the Reliant & Enterprise-A. I don't think anything can beat the original Enterprise nor the old series. Well...except for DS9 maybe. The one thing that show & TOS have in common were constant fights, shoot-em-ups, hard-hitting melodrama, & comedy. TNG had all those ingredients despite the Love Boat vibes in the early seasons, but then it got boring with all the techno-babbles and elevator drama. But yeah, TOS Enterprise all the way for me.

Diakron's picture
Posted by Diakron on 27 December, 2010 - 04:15
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net