CollectionDX Network

Ultimate Bumblebee

Comments

15 comments posted
OUCH

You said it all right here:
The doors came right off, with the small black tubes holding them on crumbling in an instant. The clips inside the front fenders also broke off.
Aside from that though, the rest of the transformation is trouble free.
-WTF?
Thanks for the sacrificial flushing of your own $ on this, but was it worth the review?
I would never buy any of these "Giant-Card Boot" releases = Overpriced, garbage-quality.

You could get a MISB Sorokage for double that money and have had a real toy.

Grandzinga....

Grandzinga's picture
Posted by Grandzinga on 7 December, 2009 - 14:47
It satisfied my curiosity,

It satisfied my curiosity, so i guess in that regard I got what i paid for it. Keep in mind, when I say things like the above quoted - I am coming at it from an expectation of crap quality, because it is a bootleg after all. So the fact that those were the ONLY major problems with it is actually surprising.

Or maybe I am just glutton for punishment.

------------------------------
CollectionDX Admin

JoshB's picture
Posted by JoshB on 7 December, 2009 - 15:49
For whatever strange reason,

For whatever strange reason, I keep thinking that CDX already covered Ultimate Bumblebee in 2007...?

------------------------------
CollectionDX Staff

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 7 December, 2009 - 16:42
Bootleg

If you had read the article, you would know this was a review of a bootleg of Ultimate Bumblebee.

Destroy All Podcasts DX's picture
Posted by Destroy All Pod... on 7 December, 2009 - 17:01
Re: Bootleg

=[

I know that this toy is the bootleg. What I was trying to say is that I thought we had already reviewed the original toy.
------------------------------
CollectionDX Staff

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 7 December, 2009 - 19:06
OH.

Oh, my bad. I didn't see any articles about the original toy when I did a search.

Destroy All Podcasts DX's picture
Posted by Destroy All Pod... on 7 December, 2009 - 20:08
Me either; that's why I was

Me either; that's why I was puzzled.

------------------------------
CollectionDX Staff

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 7 December, 2009 - 23:56
the oneness

Ever since Pennsylvania, it's been all Ween, all the time. Oh, and thanks for throwing away and not photographing the only thing about this I might have been interested in. ;)

"This must be settled the way nature intended....with a vicious, bloody fight!"
Onyx Blackman
Principal, Flatpoint High

NekroDave's picture
Posted by NekroDave on 7 December, 2009 - 20:57
Look what I found

I know i took shots of them in card, and just couldnt find them... Lo and behold...

------------------------------
CollectionDX Admin


JoshB's picture
Posted by JoshB on 8 December, 2009 - 07:08
Walmart had the real thing

Walmart had the real thing for $35 at one time. There was a mad rush to buy them up then. Whole pallets of them gone in one day. Story was that there was a mistake somewhere down the line and it was corrected within a week.
Who knows, maybe it will happen again.

Robonurse's picture
Posted by Robonurse on 8 December, 2009 - 08:33
I miss giant blister carded

I miss giant blister carded bootlegs from flea markets. Josh, remember that Season 2 Power Ranger Megazord with the Tiger Zord, limbs, and really random original power-up torso piece that came on a super big card? That was a really, really good one :D These days, I get my bootleg fix from Tuesday Morning, and their bootlegs are tiny.

JeffStein's picture
Posted by JeffStein on 7 December, 2009 - 21:38
Hogwash

There's no such thing as an Ultimate Bumblebee. Hasbro & Tomy misdeveloped the whole, blasted toy up. It's hogwash.

-R78

Rodimus78's picture
Posted by Rodimus78 on 8 December, 2009 - 11:12
I agree. I was never into

I agree. I was never into the figure either- the transformation wasn't solid, and there was too much kibble.

------------------------------
CollectionDX Staff

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 8 December, 2009 - 12:44
Reason

The reason that I've said that is the very fact the giant-sized Bumblebee that came out in 2007 and this year is because it doesn't validate the word 'Ultimate' as the Buster Optimus Prime that's nearly $100.

That IMO is an ultimate ripoff.

BTW, I'm looking forward to reading your Star Trek DVD movie review. I've just bought a copy but I haven't opened it yet. Thought I read the review first.

-R78

Rodimus78's picture
Posted by Rodimus78 on 8 December, 2009 - 23:31
Chinese toys are bad for us

In Vietnam , we've sold tons of Chinese toys and they were very cheap , the DX Juuken Gattai Geki Touja made in China was just about $10 :| , and when I bought it , the PVC were smelly , and guess what , the tails have broken :( . I hope Japanese toys would be more cheaper so that everyone in my country can buy it , most of people who play Japanese toys in Vietnam are very rich .

generationofdawn's picture
Posted by generationofdawn on 11 April, 2011 - 01:44
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net