CollectionDX Network

Trigore

Comments

9 comments posted
Super ugly and oozing with

Super ugly and oozing with funk. I love it!

-Dan
CollectionDX LLC
Vice President/Co-Owner

Shogundan's picture
Posted by Shogundan on 19 October, 2009 - 21:20
Is this for Halloween or

Is this for Halloween or April Fool's? This is a real toy? Hahahaa... man, that looks fugly, particularly the eyes! Crazy.... I don't suppose you have the packaging for this guy? Would love to see some more Power Lords reviews as that was one of the few toy lines I didn't have much of as a kid.

"This must be settled the way nature intended....with a vicious, bloody fight!"
Onyx Blackman
Principal, Flatpoint High

NekroDave's picture
Posted by NekroDave on 19 October, 2009 - 23:08
The whole line was funky

Power Lords was a strange bird, it was a smart idea to merge Star Wars and He-Man, both lines were top-sellers at the time. But the designs were both the greatest strength, and biggest weakness of the line. Every piece was oozing with originality, but it was sometimes so original that it turned people off, some figures were actually frightening to children. Two of the characters - including the main hero - had an alternate mode that looked like they were inside-out.

The story is a familiar one, no cartoon to back it up means a fast-lane to obscurity, and it then becomes a line that people remember - but probably never had. There were other vehicles in the line, all of which were equally strange.

duke togo's picture
Posted by duke togo on 20 October, 2009 - 10:53
Congratulations

I'm surprised that you made it through the entire review without discussing what the sculptor could possibly have intended when he made the "saddle" region.

RobotBastard's picture
Posted by RobotBastard on 20 October, 2009 - 11:52
this is a family website.

this is a family website.

The Enthusiast's picture
Posted by The Enthusiast on 20 October, 2009 - 21:27
Mount up!

Mount up!

kidnicky's picture
Posted by kidnicky on 20 October, 2009 - 22:41
Wild!

Wow! Forget the bootlegs, mainstream 1980's toys had a lot of funk going on. This would be something I would see in a Sears Christmas catalog, think it was far out then turn the page to see the GI Joes and remember what it was all about.

These figures are downright scary and its hard to believe Revell was responsible for all this!!

The toys you review and own are just amazing, I thought I brought up some weird toys!

Leonardo Flores
CollectionDX Staff Writer-West Coast Bureau

Modcineaste's picture
Posted by Modcineaste on 20 October, 2009 - 13:04
This reminds me of a later

This reminds me of a later toyline that I loved as a kid, Jayce and the Wheeled Warriors.

It looks like H.R. Giger designed a toyline with these Power Lords!

Astronopolis's picture
Posted by Astronopolis on 20 October, 2009 - 13:08
Iguana toys! HooHoo! This

Iguana toys! HooHoo!
This totally reminds me of other iguana type toys out in the 80's for some reason.

Remember the sticky rubber toy phase? There were tons of variations with a handle shaped vaguely like an iguana, with stickers looking like one on the sides, and the "tongue" part was like a sticky rubber whip, that you could zing out, and yoink somebody's test paper right off their desk in an instant! Yay!

I know there were other iguana-ish toys, just have to remember the details. So long ago...

repairtechjon's picture
Posted by repairtechjon on 20 October, 2009 - 22:57
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net