CollectionDX Network

DX Tensou Gattai Gosei Ground

Comments

19 comments posted
Sky Lion

I believe that "SkyLeon "is supposed to be a GRIFFIN. You know, the mythical flying beast with a lion's body.

And personally, I like the Gosei Machines. They're a step up from the needlessly-complex Origami from last year.

Which makes it all the more shameful that the Goseiger series is so painful to watch.

SirAzrael's picture
Posted by SirAzrael on 14 November, 2010 - 21:37
Problem with the griffin

Problem with the griffin theory is none of the Gosei Machines or Headers are based on mythical animals except for the Dragon and Phoenix. The Mythic Brothers Set is based on an ostrich.
Besides, Groundion and Sea Lion are both lions, so to have a griffin in there would throw the trend off (read: Geki Touja).

The Origami were complex because they had a lot of parts-forming as well, but less block-forming that the Gosei Machines do.

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 14 November, 2010 - 22:49
Block-Forming

Well I guess I just like block-forming more than parts-forming.

And at least the Gosei Machines don't have the stupid "Hidden Disc" gimmick.

SirAzrael's picture
Posted by SirAzrael on 14 November, 2010 - 23:05
The Hiden Discs were a good

The Hiden Discs were a good idea, IMO, just not well executed. Same with the Gosei Cards.

I can tolerate a little parts-forming (G1 Transformers, for example), but too much combiner kibble and I'm out. But I can't stand block-formers nowadays. I like the puzzle that is a transforming toy/model, and when you just snap components on to make something else, that's boring as all Hell.

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 15 November, 2010 - 00:33
About the mythical theory...

Not only is there a precent for mythical animals, but you'll notice those two are both Skick- maybe the whole Skick theme is mythical animals? Skyleon might be EXACTLY AS PLANNED

And while I'm not going to get this guy (mini-pla are always superior) I think much of your ragging on him is a little over the top; I agree about the lack of a new head being a bit lazy and he's certainly very overpriced, but YOU'RE MAKING ME SICK sounds a wee bit too much for a ten-inch piece of plastic.

Rankarana's picture
Posted by Rankarana on 15 November, 2010 - 14:40
How is it I'm getting drilled

How is it I'm getting drilled on Skyion both here AND YouTube at the same time...? Sheesh.

Skyion = sky + lion

It's no more difficult than that. It was meant to round off Groundion (ground + lion) and Sealion (sea lion) so that all three of them would be lions. Now, WHY all three of them are lions is the part I'm having difficulty with since there is no "sky lion".
And if it was a griffin, it would have been called Griffin since those have been used in Super Sentai before. Besides, a griffin has the head and wings of an eagle while the rest is a lion. Skyion has a lion's head and no legs, implied or otherwise.

And, oh BTW, that's Engrish for ya. Don't fight it.

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 16 November, 2010 - 22:02
What.

Yo so we heard you like shoulders, so we took your forehead robot and put shoulders on top of the shoulders.

No, seriously, is this the same PLEX of 20, 10, or even 5 years ago? I'm not really a fan of (most) Sentai, but if I was, this stuff would have me frothing at the mouth. Instead, I have to resist the urge to just post 400 lines of hysterical laughter.

....At least the legs are cool.

SpaceRunaway's picture
Posted by SpaceRunaway on 14 November, 2010 - 22:29
Agreed, this is the ugliest

Agreed, this is the ugliest POS I've seen in ages. Is this what kids like? Imagine paying 85 bucks for this. I think plex just figures that if it spends $0 on design, then it will make more money in the end.

Txos's picture
Posted by Txos on 16 November, 2010 - 19:55
You're going to review that

You're going to review that new big DX ship one?

VZMK2's picture
Posted by VZMK2 on 14 November, 2010 - 22:56
No, I am not reviewing Gosei

No, I am not reviewing Gosei Ultimate. Even though it's the only actual transformer in the whole Gosei Machine line (in retrospect, that's sad), it has too many glaring flaws with it for me to over look them.

For that matter, I am flat-out DONE with Goseiger.

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 15 November, 2010 - 00:35
All issues with gimmicks and

All issues with gimmicks and transformations aside, there's still the problem that these bots are ugly as sin.

jacksauce's picture
Posted by jacksauce on 15 November, 2010 - 09:04
errors

I noticed a couple errors in the review...Unless it's "Gosei Ground" or "Gosei Great" or "Ground Gosei Great" the term "Gosei" isn't used with the Gosei Machines in this review

ProjectW's picture
Posted by ProjectW on 16 November, 2010 - 18:18
Okay... What about it? =?

Okay...

What about it? =?

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 17 November, 2010 - 12:05
Well, considering your normal stickling for insane accuracy...

Maybe he's more or less saying EDIT EDIT EDIT?

Not that it really matters, I mean, I call them Gosei Griffin and Gosei Seal and Gosei Itano Circus so eh.

Rankarana's picture
Posted by Rankarana on 17 November, 2010 - 12:31
Goseiger makes ur braaaaains

Goseiger makes ur braaaaains rot, so it's no small wonder I goofed up a few times on the last review.

But, in this case, "meh".

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 17 November, 2010 - 14:17
I think what's happening to

I think what's happening to you is what's happened to me with PR/Super Sentai. I'm glad to own all the ones I do but just don't like the modern ones even if I still pay attention to see what the new robot releases are.

VZMK2's picture
Posted by VZMK2 on 17 November, 2010 - 08:29
It is the Headswapping thing...

It is the Headswapping thing that puts me off mostly. I love super sentai, but there is nothing about these loose flying heads that appeals to me. Partsforming I can forgive, even the huge shoulders, but not the heads sticking out everywhere... I'll probably skip this line.

Btw, Eva? I Would like to thank you for all the reviews you've posted so far. I've learned much from them, and you have a very pleasant way of reviewing the toys, (despite the occasional rants )

Symbiot's picture
Posted by Symbiot on 19 November, 2010 - 12:00
one of the goseiger gimmicks

one of the goseiger gimmicks is a head swapping gimmick yet they could not give ground gosei great a new head ?! also the goseiger get a card just like that?! they must be handing those cards out like candy

redblueranger621's picture
Posted by redblueranger621 on 22 January, 2011 - 14:34
Gosei Ground looks like the same as the Korean version

Gosei Ground set that I have is in Korean though the Deluxe Gosei Ground set Korean version is that same as the Japanese version apart from the Gosei Card, Instructions, paper work and the packaging are different because Tensou Sentai Goseiger is named "Power Ranger Miracle Force" in Korea

Optimus Convoy 1984's picture
Posted by Optimus Convoy 1984 on 17 November, 2012 - 12:09
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net