CollectionDX Network

TOA Heavy Industries Synthetic Human

Comments

12 comments posted
Snatcher

Oh my goodness that mouth cannon means it's a Snatcher! Quick call Gillian Seed!

He's a Junker.

VF5SS's picture
Posted by VF5SS on 3 April, 2014 - 18:55
Can't wait for mine to come!

Can't wait for mine to come! The first production batch is supposed to ship over the summer. The final version should come with some more hands.

Anyone interested in picking one up can keep an eye on the TOA Heavy Industries site:
http://toa-1000toys.com/

The first batch is sold out, but they've said they are going to make more, so don't go paying some crazy price on ebay or picking up a bootleg from Taobao.

The 1000Toys guy is pretty active and helpful on Facebook, too, under the 1000Toys name. Good for keeping tabs on new offerings.

Prometheum5's picture
Posted by Prometheum5 on 3 April, 2014 - 18:59
Interesting

I must say that this a very interesting piece to me. It has esthetics that I don't usually see in a toy / figure. It is too creepy for my tastes to keep on shelf, yet I like to watch and study that design a bit. Also it is nice to see something from Nihei. His architecture work (as seen in his mangas) would make for an interesting dioramas or videogame landscape.

boz_manga's picture
Posted by boz_manga on 3 April, 2014 - 19:34
This is pretty much as

This is pretty much as amazing as the promo shots made it look. I'd love to see one alongside that unlicensed 1/6 Rick Deckard.
I wonder if 1000toys is a subsidiary of Sen-Ti-Nel....both of them use '1000' in their names, and Sen-Ti-Nel seems to be pretty big on wordplay.

SpaceRunaway's picture
Posted by SpaceRunaway on 3 April, 2014 - 19:48
Boomers!

Boombers have mouth cannons, too!

Ginrai's picture
Posted by Ginrai on 3 April, 2014 - 20:02
Articulating eyes

I think the preview and photos left out the articulating eyeballs.
The level of engineering is astounding on the head alone.

wutasi's picture
Posted by wutasi on 3 April, 2014 - 21:13
I just checked and it does

I just checked and it does indeed have articulated eyeballs. The head is VERY DIFFICULT to get open, so much so that I didn't think it did. Be careful! I'll try to update the review tomorrow. Thanks for the heads up!

JoshB's picture
Posted by JoshB on 3 April, 2014 - 23:10
Mouth Cannon—thing.

I think the "cannon" might be some sort of speake or vocalizerr. I think it'd be more reasonable if it was a sonic boom weapon.

AAarcher221's picture
Posted by AAarcher221 on 3 April, 2014 - 22:54
OOoohhhh...I want it. I want

OOoohhhh...I want it. I want it beyond all rational thought. Ya know, because I don't collect 12 inchers and that's a lot of money to drop. But...this is one of those cases where the size and price look worth it. Especially with that skeletal face underneath. This is one slick SOB.

Alexx's picture
Posted by Alexx on 4 April, 2014 - 01:18
excited

I can't wait for this figure to come out. I wish this figure was in 1/12 scale, but i'll take this in 1/16 scale. everything about this figure is phenomenal. awesome review! thank you.

rupertvalero's picture
Posted by rupertvalero on 4 April, 2014 - 06:56
Please be Three Laws Compliant!

That is one freakishly gorgeous piece!

It's going to be interesting with how they accessorize this figure. Hopefully it will be "Three Laws Compliant" otherwise we're going to have to say "LOOK! There's a Unicorn!" and see if it chases it.

Rob's picture
Posted by Rob on 4 April, 2014 - 07:26
Creeped out

I am actually starting to dread clicking on my CollectionDX link, because it means I'm going to see the thumbnail of this thing's face. I won't be sad when it scrolls off the front page!

Seriously, AMAZINGLY creepy. I love it.

Corduroy Bear's picture
Posted by Corduroy Bear on 6 April, 2014 - 11:57
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net