CollectionDX Network

Takemikaduchi

Comments

8 comments posted
Looks okay...

I've yet to build a Kotobukiya kit, as I've heard bad things about them, and the prices are way too much for what you get imo. That said, the mechs from this series look pretty neat, they remind me of the mechs from LineBarrels of Iron.

gamedingo's picture
Posted by gamedingo on 19 March, 2011 - 00:04
Volume Pricing

I hear you on the Kotobukiya pricing, they are a bit more expensive by comparison to Bandai Gunpla, but its mostly a case of construction volume. There are a lot more parts in a standard Kotobukiya non-scale kit than there are in a comperable 1/144 HG or 1/100 non-grade kit.

The plastic can be a little offputting. I still can't get over my attempt at building the Super Robot Wars R1 1/144 scale kit, which ended in misery because of the plastic.

However, the Armored Core model kits have much better plastic quality and are pretty great!

Gunpla Rob's picture
Posted by Gunpla Rob on 19 March, 2011 - 08:08
Or FSS

I was thinking that this looks like an FSS mech with a bunch of FN P90's stuck on it.

RobotBastard's picture
Posted by RobotBastard on 21 March, 2011 - 13:10
What I've found is that the

What I've found is that the older Kotobukiya Super Robot Wars model kits from a few years ago were much more brittle. However the newer ones, along with their expanding line of different models for different series have become increasingly better. I rarely ever touch my R-Gun or Wildfalken. However, the Gespenst Mk II-M feels so solid that I'm always fiddling with it at home.

Also, Kotobukiya model pieces are a lot pointier.

Dkun's picture
Posted by Dkun on 19 March, 2011 - 08:36
Out of Touching

Like I said earlier, the Armored Core kits are pretty good with their quality. Kotobukiya's metalic injection somehow holds up better than their regular grade plastic, I do the same thing with my old Crest Assault Type whenever I see it in the cabinet..

The only other thing I seem to agree with my dad (he's been my biggest fan/contributor) is that kits like the Takemikaduchi is that when they're finished, thats it, There's no room for display points like you get with a Bandai (Master, High, Perfect) Grade. but I still stand by my opinion of Kotobukiya's value is in its construction efforts.

Gunpla Rob's picture
Posted by Gunpla Rob on 20 March, 2011 - 07:50
Great details!

Great review and great details, Rob. Mine is waiting for some summer down time before I can build it. I'm an enthusiastic fan of the property, and I think Koto's kits are a great option to Wave's much more exclusive A3 figures.

Muv Luv's extensive selection of TSF designs has been explored very thoroughly via Wave's A3 line, and gotten a lot of coverage in Hobby Japan. Unfortunately, they are PVC figures, and have no where near the detail of a plastic kit. The A3 line has the benefit of a couple dozen entries at least, however. Hobby Japan and Tech Gian have 3 volumes of collected coverage of their Muv Luv Total Eclipse collaboration, and the books are great!

When I build my kit of Meiya's Takemikaduchi, I'm thinking of adding a pearlescent coat to the purple. I'm also considering if and how I might cover it in BETA blood and gore, from her final battle during Operation Cherry Blossom...

Again - a great review with a lot of excellent tips! The TSF and a SRWOG R-Gun Powered are waiting on my shelf, to be my first Koto plastic kit projects.

AcroRay's picture
Posted by AcroRay on 25 March, 2011 - 12:19
More Knowledge

Wow. Cool thanks! I'm surprised to find someone who actually knows about these things. I tried reading a scanslation of ML: Unlimited and scuttled around Youtube for videos of the game but came up empty short of a still frame cutscene of a woman getting her face eaten and the game's intro theme.

Cool idea with the dose of extra effort you have planned. I tried to do a gel coating of clear red over a flourescent red for the knee parts to match the clear coat, but the first coats didn't bond well and I was lucky that I was able to start over, and just do a thick coat of Guards Red instead. but overall I really left this kit at its minimum to save time and have the review up in time. but the extra bit of paint work I did on the blades of its swords really did spice it up a lot.

Gunpla Rob's picture
Posted by Gunpla Rob on 26 March, 2011 - 07:45
Some in-game material

A portion of the Yokohama base battle, from Muv Luv Alternative. Several Takemikaduchi units are in use here.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FC6P6SccYtI

AcroRay's picture
Posted by AcroRay on 30 March, 2011 - 16:22
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net