CollectionDX Network

L-Gaim MK-1

Comments

10 comments posted
Strike a pose!

I love L-Gaim's vague attempts at wielding his weapons. Very funny.

Rankarana's picture
Posted by Rankarana on 16 January, 2010 - 21:58
Nice review of one of my

Nice review of one of my favorite mecha.

VZMK2's picture
Posted by VZMK2 on 16 January, 2010 - 23:21
This little one is nice. I

This little one is nice. I didn't realize the HCM was so good. I should've known, the way the rest of the line is. I've avoided this one in the past, due to loving the 1/100 Hi-Metal biggie size version, but may have to reconsider. Vincents previous modern L-Gaim review, and now this, ..may have to add a couple more.

And yeah, the mecha design is one of THE coolest, visually.

repairtechjon's picture
Posted by repairtechjon on 17 January, 2010 - 00:00
If you haven't seen L-Gaim I

If you haven't seen L-Gaim I highly recommend it. It's a classic 80s mecha show that kind of has a Road Warrior in space vibe early on. A very fun show. The later episodes are a little more typical space opera, but still good nonetheless. L-Gaim itself is super badass.

One thing I'd recommend, if you aren't adverse to a little customization, is that these old toys tend to have fantastic detail molded into them with no paint to make it 'pop'; panel lines, exhaust vents, and whatnot. Have to considered filling some of these details in with a Gundam Marker or something similar? It can really make the toy look much better but some people think it comprimises the figure somehow.

Either way, nice review.

GHoooSTS's picture
Posted by GHoooSTS on 19 January, 2010 - 15:59
Absolutely. Drifand's

Absolutely. Drifand's customization (featured on TBDX, with photographs superior to my own) is breathtaking, and I am giving serious consideration to attempting to duplicate his workmanship. This review was intended to give an "out of the box" perspective.

The Enthusiast's picture
Posted by The Enthusiast on 19 January, 2010 - 23:34
This reminds

This reminds me of the MG Nu Gundam model kit that contains some diecast parts to make the legs stern and firm for the sake of balance. This is definitely an amazing gem to keep.

-R78

Rodimus78's picture
Posted by Rodimus78 on 19 January, 2010 - 23:16
Right, I have that NG. I

Yup. I have that Nu Gundam, and appreciate the comparison. I also really like the PG strike, which features strategically placed diecast leg parts, which bandai has really perfected over the years. I hope to review the Strike soon.

The Enthusiast's picture
Posted by The Enthusiast on 19 January, 2010 - 23:28
If you think that's mind-blowing

If you think that's mind-blowing, you should definitely checkout the 1/60th scale PG Gundam Astray. It's not just the die-cast joints that makes it worth the experience, It's the super- intricate engineering, the dynamic poses, light-up camera eyes, clear armor that exposes the inner red frame mechanisms, exotic weapons, etc. It's a mecha model builder's milk & honey moment come to fruition. Everything on that thing is freakingly unbelievable. Bandai's going above & beyond the edge on their Gundam model kit franchise. These toy corp. people in Gundam HQ really mean business in what they do, but they do it with pride and honor.

-R78

Rodimus78's picture
Posted by Rodimus78 on 20 January, 2010 - 00:11
Well isn't it actually true

Well isn't it actually true that Bandai's model kit people are completely separate from their toy people? Their Gundam toys are usually kinda lackluster...but their plamo continue to evolve at an amazing pace.

--
Sanjeev

Sanjeev's picture
Posted by Sanjeev on 20 January, 2010 - 09:37
Yeah,I have some of the

Yeah,I have some of the Gundam figures from the anime craze earlier this decade,and while I do like them (espescially since I bought most on clearance) they're.....wierd. They're like a strange kind of plasticy rubber,and they fall apart if you breathe on them.

I'll echo an earlier poster and reccomend watching the L-gaim show. I'm not some kind of curmudgeon,I watch and enjoy some current anime shows,but it just isn't the same. Shows like Heavy Metal L-Gaim are a throwback to how anime used to be,and in my own opinion,still should be.

kidnicky's picture
Posted by kidnicky on 21 January, 2010 - 00:14
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net