CollectionDX Network

Robot Lilliput

Comments

13 comments posted
I don't know. The metal

I don't know. The metal content is pretty good, but the lack of a rocket punch is a real mark against it, IMHO.

TimF's picture
Posted by TimF on 25 April, 2010 - 14:41
Fascinating. I do enjoy the

Fascinating. I do enjoy the tin aesthetic, but don't collect. This guy is something I could see owning, though, for its historical significance. Very cool!

http://prometheusrising.wordpress.com

Prometheum5's picture
Posted by Prometheum5 on 25 April, 2010 - 14:51
Awesome review, Charles.

Awesome review, Charles. Great to see zenmai love. There are more Lilliput colorways (repro, of course) available here.

--
Sanjeev

Sanjeev's picture
Posted by Sanjeev on 25 April, 2010 - 15:18
Thanks, I got my eye on the

Thanks, I got my eye on the D-73 version!

chachipower's picture
Posted by chachipower on 25 April, 2010 - 22:25
I think the box displays an

I think the box displays an interesting design sensibility. It really shows its age. The toy takes up the least amount of space, while the children and the name take up the most. It's more like an image meant to show a moment between two children than toy packaging. Imagine if the Revenge of the Fallen Devastator was inside an enclosed box, covered in a painting depicting two boys playing with their Devastator under a tree in the midst of a new england autumn, while their mother beckons from a hill in the background.

jacksauce's picture
Posted by jacksauce on 25 April, 2010 - 18:53
bravo

that I almost bought this thing is a testament to your review.
Kudos

AJProDie-Cast's picture
Posted by AJProDie-Cast on 25 April, 2010 - 23:08
Thanks, its not something

Thanks,
its not something you desperately need to have but there is a certain charm in knowing that although this is made of tin, it has also been assembled by hand. All those tabs need to be lined up and adjustments made before they are bent in place. The figure needs to be checked to make sure there are no dangerously sharp edges an if there is, they are carefully filed down. You can see that although this is mass produced in China, it has gone through the hands of humans who take the time to build and handle it and pack it. This is something I don't feel with other modern CAD designed mass produced robots.

Like I said if you find yourself with an extra 15-20 bux laying around, take a stab at it. There are many variations available. If anything, buy it to remind you of the roots of which robot toys originated from. Good conversation piece.

chachipower's picture
Posted by chachipower on 26 April, 2010 - 10:29
check..

how about this version http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=400116165775&ssPageName=STRK:MEWAX:IT

AJProDie-Cast's picture
Posted by AJProDie-Cast on 26 April, 2010 - 15:04
face

I have always found Lilliput's face terrifying.

recognizer's picture
Posted by recognizer on 26 April, 2010 - 16:41
Is it just me? Or in that

Is it just me? Or in that first pic of him opened, is he thrusting his crotch out? I think he is! :)

djinniman37's picture
Posted by djinniman37 on 27 April, 2010 - 08:17
Awesomeness.
Newton Gimmick's picture
Posted by Newton Gimmick on 28 April, 2010 - 17:35
Shameful though it is for me

Shameful though it is for me to admit to watching it - this toy actually features in one of the few vaguely amusing scenes in the Uwe Boll movie "Postal".

I wouldn't recommend anyone watch said movie to see this toy in action or anything... I just felt the need to point it out :p. It just goes to show that you never know when these toys will make a media appearance.

quinjester's picture
Posted by quinjester on 3 May, 2010 - 15:21
Had to share these pics

I saw what I'm pretty sure is an old one of these at a store called 'Group W Bench' in New Haven, CT. They were closed when I went, but I took these pics of their Lilliput in the window. I was amazed to see it, among the other old robot toys that I think are probably part of the owners own collection.
http://i837.photobucket.com/albums/zz299/Seraph2011/0509101147b.jpg
http://i837.photobucket.com/albums/zz299/Seraph2011/0509101146.jpg

seraph2011's picture
Posted by seraph2011 on 9 May, 2010 - 18:47
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net