CollectionDX Network

Sixshot

Comments

18 comments posted
aaahhhhhhh

like an old friend coming to visit...a review on a transformer not a movie with van-diesel or a lunch box that goes back to getting ready for the first day of school after a great summer is welcome...bravo. Weird transformer but still cool

AJProDie-Cast's picture
Posted by AJProDie-Cast on 21 October, 2009 - 10:11
Great review with some much

Great review with some much clearer pics of the silly modes than I've seen before. I didn't realize the tank mode was so cool, and kudos for including Wingwolf! I love the design of Sixshot, but the articulation has always kept me from wanting to spend very much on him, as compared to the other figures from his time. The fact that he can't even actually raise his arms up without having the chest wings get in the way annoys me the same way that Overlord's arms bump into his chest panels when you insert the PowerMasters. He has an awesome robot mode, combining cool wings with the car-calves, a favorite of mine.

Prometheum5's picture
Posted by Prometheum5 on 21 October, 2009 - 13:08
Cool. This one came out

Cool. This one came out after I had come to realize that me and Transformers didn't mix (mine always broke so I focused on GI Joe), but I remember being jealous of my friend who had it.

"This must be settled the way nature intended....with a vicious, bloody fight!"
Onyx Blackman
Principal, Flatpoint High

NekroDave's picture
Posted by NekroDave on 21 October, 2009 - 13:21
Hey Andrew, You forgot to

Hey Andrew,
You forgot to mention SixShots brother from Brave Police, Shadow Maru

-Dan
CollectionDX LLC
Vice President/Co-Owner

Shogundan's picture
Posted by Shogundan on 21 October, 2009 - 13:27
but...

Does it turn into a Formula 1 Racer? :)

________________________________________
CollectionDX - Assistant Editor - Writer

Atom's picture
Posted by Atom on 21 October, 2009 - 13:52
Doesn't everything?

Doesn't everything? LOL

-Dan
CollectionDX LLC
Vice President/Co-Owner

Shogundan's picture
Posted by Shogundan on 21 October, 2009 - 13:58
I mentioned it in the video,

I mentioned it in the video, I guess I just forgot it here. There's also the Transformers Victory character Great Shot.

VF5SS's picture
Posted by VF5SS on 21 October, 2009 - 14:05
Yeah, the flashy colorful

Yeah, the flashy colorful Autobot version... sadly, I'll probably splurge for him before Sixshot, Almost got him once already... I love his Bravey chest with gold chrome.

Prometheum5's picture
Posted by Prometheum5 on 21 October, 2009 - 21:47
My Favorite

Transformers... the six mode doesn't feel strange.

Berserk's picture
Posted by Berserk on 21 October, 2009 - 19:08
just what the doctor

just what the doctor ordered, I recently picked up TRU Perceptor and Insecticons and am on a serious Transformers kick right now. God i love that feel of cold metal, the glint of chrome and the sharp edges of a foil sticker!

Great review, I'm anxiously awaiting a Sixy reissue!

Astronopolis's picture
Posted by Astronopolis on 21 October, 2009 - 23:57
Great toy

I've had my eye on a Sixshot ever since the IDW comic spotlight, and now my desire has only increased! Just wish it had a US reissue. Kinda pricey right now.

djinniman37's picture
Posted by djinniman37 on 22 October, 2009 - 08:06
killer

Dang dude, I wish you'd posted this review sooner. If I knew how cool this thing was and how to do all the different transformations I wouldn't have given mine away to this random prick I know on tbdx :-p

Jerilock's picture
Posted by Jerilock on 23 October, 2009 - 15:34
What do you all consider the

What do you all consider the *actual* ultimate transformers challenge? Sixshot is technically complex, but not terribly difficult or challenging to transform.

IMHO Masterpiece Megatron takes that title (or alternatively, ultimate frustrating mess). As for vintage? Off the top of my head, Roadbuster.

The Enthusiast's picture
Posted by The Enthusiast on 23 October, 2009 - 15:52
Neck & Neck

IMHO Masterpiece Megatron takes that title (or alternatively, ultimate frustrating mess). As for vintage? Off the top of my head, Roadbuster.

I'm not really sure which transformer holds the title of the most challenging because I hadn't experienced one to transform yet. Right now, I would have to say it's either MP-05 Megatron or BT-10 Grimlock, so the advanced skill rate between them is neck & neck on my side.

And I must say that as soon as I'm done with Grimlock, I'm gonna re-tool the hell out of Megatron to give it a more toy accurate appeal like his 80s toy version. Anime magic doesn't always suit well in linear physics in the world we live in because magic tricks are just illusions.

-r78

Rodimus78's picture
Posted by Rodimus78 on 24 October, 2009 - 00:31
Who me?

Who me?

VF5SS's picture
Posted by VF5SS on 23 October, 2009 - 16:28
Wow, that's pretty neat!

Wow, that's pretty neat! I'm not usually impressed by the original stuff, since the action feature back then was just the fact that they transformed (leaving the rest a sorta-moveable chunk). This one has a lot of play value, though! I love the jet and tank modes. I think part of the draw, for me, is that it doesn't turn into anything realistic. I always found the normal cars and jets kinda boring.

Alexx's picture
Posted by Alexx on 24 October, 2009 - 10:26
I have the Shadowmaru

I have the Shadowmaru remold/repaint of this. Awesome toy but i'm confused why official toy pics have his car mode's wheels so far back...

Roanstalker's picture
Posted by Roanstalker on 16 November, 2009 - 19:00
Guess who's getting an Encore

Guess who's getting an Encore release!?

http://www.tfw2005.com/transformers-news/japanese-transformers-40/mp-11s-sunstorm-and-encore-23-sixshot-174408/

VZMK2's picture
Posted by VZMK2 on 15 February, 2012 - 11:53
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net