CollectionDX Network

Shinken Red Helmet

Comments

8 comments posted
Very cool to attempt to start

Very cool to attempt to start a full sized costume...too bad it didn't end like you wanted or it wasn't a great start however you want to look at it.

That is the problem with dealing with overseas transactions, their customer service isn't up to par in what we expect.

I still think you have a very cool item and over time I believe you will be glad to own it.....I would love to have a complete set of JAKQ helmets!

Good luck!

Leonardo

Modcineaste's picture
Posted by Modcineaste on 4 April, 2012 - 19:26
Don't abandon your quest for

Don't abandon your quest for a full costume. You can always just build your own helmet. I saw a great tutorial with cardboard and paper mache that still looks just like the ones used on screen.

Jmann's picture
Posted by Jmann on 5 April, 2012 - 13:10
Leonardo- It is true that the

Leonardo- It is true that the level of service can vary when you deal with sellers overseas. I have had both really bad experiences and really good ones.It would definitely be cool to get some of the the older helmets, like JAKQ. Too bad that most of the helmets that are available are from everything Zyuranger and later.

J-mann- do you have a link for the tutorial? I would like to check it out and maybe start on something simple , like a Saint Seiya headpiece.

Also, thanks for the encouragement guys!

SentaiSeiya's picture
Posted by SentaiSeiya on 5 April, 2012 - 15:40
No problem this was an

No problem this was an excellent review, I wish we had more like these with these great 1/1 scale items.

At first I thought it was one of those kid ones you can buy at the store, not until I opened the review I realized what this review was all about!

Good luck with making your own!

Leonardo

Modcineaste's picture
Posted by Modcineaste on 5 April, 2012 - 16:15
Linkage

http://www.instructables.com/id/Power-Rangers-Helmet/

That's the link to the tutorial. I wasn't sure what the rules were with direct linking, so there's the url. With some effort, you can get something that looks pretty awesome.

Jmann's picture
Posted by Jmann on 5 April, 2012 - 17:37
Thanks! I will check it out

Thanks! I will check it out

SentaiSeiya's picture
Posted by SentaiSeiya on 5 April, 2012 - 22:09
Pepakura is a better route

My advice would to try and build your own helmet using Pepakura, the only catch is that you'll have to find a Pep file for the helmet first. If you can find it it, with a bit of patience and lots of bondo, will produce excellent results, Pep and EVA foam are the methods/materials of choice amongst costumers these days. For more help I suggest popping over to the RPF over at http://www.thereplicapropforum.com/, you'll be able to find lots of advice on building your costumes and lots of tips on building using Pep. Best of luck to you.

Riceball's picture
Posted by Riceball on 16 April, 2012 - 18:20
Thanks for the info!

Thanks for the info!

SentaiSeiya's picture
Posted by SentaiSeiya on 25 April, 2012 - 17:28
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net