CollectionDX Network

RX-78-3 G3 Gundam Version 2.0

Comments

12 comments posted
And I'm waiting for a 2.0 of

And I'm waiting for a 2.0 of GP02 and ZZ, both notoriously incapable of holding their own accessories.

Tetsuryu's picture
Posted by Tetsuryu on 5 September, 2013 - 12:02
Great classic styling

I much prefer the 2.0 to the recent 3.0 release, like was said in the review (nice work! Great photos and nicely detailed buildup of the kit itself!) it's like a classic Cadillac.

As an aside, where does the design of the 1.0 and 3.0 MG Gundam kits (along with the original MSIA toy) originate from? The feet, backpack and knees have a similar style, and one I've only seen in the kits and in no other media. Anybody else know what I'm talkin' bout?

Astronopolis's picture
Posted by Astronopolis on 5 September, 2013 - 13:06
V1 to V3

The Version 1 was a bare start for the model kits, pre-super computer CAD modeling and a post 1/100 scale High Grade economy.

The Version 3 is modeled after the 1/1 statue and the 1/144 Real Grade kits with the multicolored paneling and focus on metal plating on the inner frame.

Rob's picture
Posted by Rob on 5 September, 2013 - 13:40
Much better than the 3.0, I'm

Much better than the 3.0, I'm getting tired of Bandai trying to make kits less solid kits that are so detailed that you can't tell where the limbs end and the rivets begin. I'd also like to point out that in the novelization of the original series the G3 replaces Amuro's unit halfway through after it gets destroyed.

evaunit01's picture
Posted by evaunit01 on 5 September, 2013 - 21:47
I wonder if you can make a

I wonder if you can make a review of the 1:1 RX-78 Rob. LOL!

kurochan_24's picture
Posted by kurochan_24 on 6 September, 2013 - 00:57
Great idea

That sounds like an epic idea, but I'm going to need a lot of Gundammarkers to fill in the panel lines and I'll have to figure out where would I put it when I was done. I don't want to lose grazable land for my cows by having a mobile suit standing in the field behind the haybarn.

Rob's picture
Posted by Rob on 6 September, 2013 - 06:43
ahahaha, that's gold Rob.

ahahaha, that's gold Rob.

kurochan_24's picture
Posted by kurochan_24 on 6 September, 2013 - 12:43
I have this kit

Painted mine in the RX-78-1 colors....it long since got eaten by my dogs since they like to jump on tables and get whatever is sitting around....

but it was a treat to own and pose about....also, am I the only one who would idly spin the Gundam Hammer like it was being weilded by the Turn A Gundam?

blitzkriegomega's picture
Posted by blitzkriegomega on 7 September, 2013 - 00:45
Dog Gone It

That's a shame. I taught my dogs early on, that if it's made of plastic, you don't eat it, and let them just tear up my slippers or old stuffed animals. My sister's cat however was notorious for jumping into open kit boxes and stealing the heads off the model. I even had a Godfather moment where the cat just left the severed head of an HGUC S-Gundam on my bed while I was sleeping.

I've idly spun all of my Hammers too, so you're not alone!

Rob's picture
Posted by Rob on 7 September, 2013 - 10:50
I try averting this to get my

I try averting this to get my moms dog not to be in my room. My Mom is better at doing this than my Step-Dad (yes I'm a teen so why you ask why I live with my parents?) but even then

mrtrainfreak12's picture
Posted by mrtrainfreak12 on 7 September, 2013 - 11:19
Great review Rob! You bring

Great review Rob!

You bring up an interesting point about 2.0's design. Is it more accurate to call it the Okawara version or the Anime Accurate version as everyone was referring to it when it was announced?

ArshadAA's picture
Posted by ArshadAA on 8 September, 2013 - 15:19
Points for Accuracy

I hadn't thought of it being more designer accurate versus anime accurate, but it could go both ways.
The model is a well rounded throwback to the era it came from with a lot of modern influences.

Rob's picture
Posted by Rob on 8 September, 2013 - 17:10
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net