CollectionDX Network

Super Change Animal DX Mechanism

Comments

10 comments posted
Aah you beat me to it! Ah

Aah you beat me to it! Ah well... Did you get one of them that was on ebay maybe a year ago? Still shrink wrapped? I think someone found a case of new/old stock.

Great review, as always.

------------------------------
CollectionDX Admin

JoshB's picture
Posted by JoshB on 20 March, 2010 - 17:20
nah, I just got this set

nah, I just got this set recently, after watching a few slip through my fingers!

The Enthusiast's picture
Posted by The Enthusiast on 20 March, 2010 - 17:26
Dude! this set rocks! I want

Dude! this set rocks! I want it, I have to have it, I NEED IT! Where can I find one?

-Dan
CollectionDX LLC
Vice President/Co-Owner

Shogundan's picture
Posted by Shogundan on 20 March, 2010 - 17:42
This was from the 1984 anime

This was from the 1984 anime Okarawi-Boy Starzan S. The toy was originally made by Bandai.

http://www.geocities.co.jp/playtown-Dice/4403/bantaka/okawari/okawari.html

VZMK2's picture
Posted by VZMK2 on 20 March, 2010 - 19:20
Bravo on another superb review!

This is an awesome looking toy- I adore the hawk and buffalo modes. How much do these usually go for? You say they aren't rare, but that still doesn't make 'em necessarily cheap. Still, this is awesome.

Rankarana's picture
Posted by Rankarana on 20 March, 2010 - 20:03
OP to the anime of

OP to the anime of this.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=c25LqnFD-8A

VZMK2's picture
Posted by VZMK2 on 20 March, 2010 - 20:28
You're the man, VZ. Thanks

You're the man, VZ. Thanks for the hook up! "Show me your space!" For the record, this set cost me five dollars.

The Enthusiast's picture
Posted by The Enthusiast on 20 March, 2010 - 20:40
If you were at a scifi

If you were at a scifi convention or something,and a rep from a company was talking about a new upcoming cartoon where the main dude's plane could turn into different robot animals,and polling people on what animal modes they wanted to see,I'm pretty sure NO ONE would say water buffalo,but there it is,and it's awesome.
Things were so much better before there were focus groups. Don't get me wrong,I -like- the 82 different remakes/retellings/regurgitations of Gundam,but where's the originality?

---------------------------------------------
A master of mind control who hides inside a Ford Pickup

kidnicky's picture
Posted by kidnicky on 21 March, 2010 - 08:42
The buffalo mode kind of

The buffalo mode kind of looks like it was designed to be a triceratops...

In any case, this is a pretty amazing set. Combines the manic design style of the Time Bokan serieses with modularity.

recognizer's picture
Posted by recognizer on 22 March, 2010 - 18:08
StarZans

I just recently discovered this series a few months.

The singer of the closing credits is Ai Takano the lead singer for the 6T's Group Sounds band The Carnabeats.

The Carnabeats covering the The Tigers Love Only For You

Starzans was produced by Tatsunoko and was released in 1983 right around the time Macross.

I feel in love with both closing and opening themes for the Starzans and it was extra cool for me that the closing theme was sung by one of the icons of GS. Accordingly I just bought the Starzans 45rpm and will be posting it on the CollectionDJ portion of our YouTube channel. Sadly Ai died only a few years ago in 2006 .

http://nippop.com/artists/Ai__Takano/

Having hung out on the Y-Auction page for Starzans over the last few months I sort of fell in love with the look and feel of this show. I hope to find some model kits when I'm in Japan in May but no toys from this show ever popped up for sale and didn't think they even existed, but low and behold you put this beauty up!! Thanks for the review.

BTW I think the Elvis ( Eburusu! ) character drove the sea monster in the show. Isn't that far out? An Elvis impersonator character in an Anime!!! Brilliant!!!

Leonardo Flores
CollectionDX Staff Writer-West Coast Bureau

Modcineaste's picture
Posted by Modcineaste on 23 March, 2010 - 10:55
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net