CollectionDX Network

TOS Black Handle Phaser

Comments

9 comments posted
Playmates

How does this stack against the Playmates version?

I can imagine the older 90's ones, which were pretty cool in my opinion, are going to become super-cheap now that this is out.

Cool that DST put this out- a classic ST toy (a classic toy in general for that matter!) that for far too many years has only been in high-priced collectors hands only...

The Big R's picture
Posted by The Big R on 29 November, 2010 - 11:56
Honestly, I didn't research

Honestly, I didn't research any other toys when I made this review. (I was also anxious to get this review over with, so I missed a few other points too.) Sorry.

Well, next I'll be shooting for the TWoK phaser, and if they make the Assault Phaser and 2009 phaser I'll go for those as well.

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 29 November, 2010 - 14:22
It would be nice to have

It would be nice to have comparisons with the old ones, so folks can decide which one they like better (i seem to hear a lot of complaints about DST's products, then again, ST fans are known to be aggressive about details)... sometimes just because something is old, does that make it no good anymore, even when the new model comes out? not a big deal, but oh well. Can't wait to hear about the other ones.

The Big R's picture
Posted by The Big R on 29 November, 2010 - 18:40
Re: It would be nice to have

After I posted that, I went onto YouTube to see if I could find any reviews of the Playmates Toys' version, but oddly there weren't any. Now I'm curious to know about them.

--EVA_Unit_4A

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 29 November, 2010 - 19:56
I kind of hoped TRU would

I kind of hoped TRU would clearance this,but no dice-they only clearanced the 2009 stuff,not the classic. Nothing against 2009,I loved the movie,but this is the definitive version IMO.

kidnicky's picture
Posted by kidnicky on 29 November, 2010 - 13:41
Be gentle with it

I've had two of these and the tab that locks the smaller one into the larger breaks with incredible ease.

Robokeith's picture
Posted by Robokeith on 29 November, 2010 - 17:08
Re: Be gentle with it

Oh? I've heard about the LED, but nothing else. I thought these were well received by collectors.

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 29 November, 2010 - 19:58
LED brightness

EVA, I don't know if you tried this or not, but on my phaser if you turn the silver part of the "muzzle" that will change the brightness of the light. It's not much, but it does have a noticeable effect.

Heavyarms's picture
Posted by Heavyarms on 1 December, 2010 - 22:11
Re: LED brightness

No, I know about that; I think it's called the Beam Intensity dial-something-or-other. I demonstrate it in the video. But even when turned up all the way, it's still too dim.

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 1 December, 2010 - 22:49
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net