CollectionDX Network

Voltron

Comments

17 comments posted
I need to kick myself in the

I need to kick myself in the ass and go look for one of those recent reissues of the original DX toy or the all-plastic MP Voltron someday; I always feel left out of that circle [in CDX] even though I never watched the show. I saw the original toy as a kid and wanted it, but I never had any chances to get one. Even today with the, umm- complexity?- of Super Sentai DX robos, I still want a Voltron.

Nice review and photos, chachi. Good call on spotting the similarities and putting the two side-by-side.

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 28 February, 2011 - 01:16
Looks Good!

Looks good! I love these premiums and never heard of this one, Still a classic toy for any kid. I had some Gashapon lions from a vending machine when I was a kid but I could never score the black lion! I should still do a review and hopefully somebody might hook me up with the black lion.

excellent review!

Cheers!

LF

Modcineaste's picture
Posted by Modcineaste on 28 February, 2011 - 11:40
Interesting piece. I'm going

Interesting piece. I'm going to look into this and see if anyone knows anything about it.

JoshB's picture
Posted by JoshB on 28 February, 2011 - 12:01
Please do, It would be

Please do, It would be interesting to find out some more history on this toy. Let me know what you find out.

chachipower's picture
Posted by chachipower on 28 February, 2011 - 12:11
Sweet.

I want a cool Happy Meal toy like this.

If restaurants did stuff like this in the US, it'd be a big hit. Even if it wasn't Voltron... But the idea that you have to buy 5 meals to complete the figure is awesome.

Newton Gimmick's picture
Posted by Newton Gimmick on 28 February, 2011 - 16:52
Way back when MicroMachines

Way back when MicroMachines were getting their start, Wendy's had six (seven?) flying vehicles that could each hold a standard MM car, and then all the vehicles could combine into a super vehicle. Awesome idea, and I actually got one of them (though I really wanted the others too).

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 28 February, 2011 - 21:01
I would love to see that

Eva-san,

I would love to see a review of that. I don't remember seeing that back then. It could be something I forgot.

Cheers!
LF

Modcineaste's picture
Posted by Modcineaste on 1 March, 2011 - 12:20
I don't know if I still have

I don't know if I still have it. And even if I did, the box where it might be is buried. =\

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 1 March, 2011 - 12:59
Voltron Rocks!!

This figure or set of figures was released by a fast food chain in the Philippines in 2008. It was a Jolibee kiddie meal offer that almost all adult collectors try to grab..(i know i have 2 of these). The black lion was the hardest to find because parents tend to buy it first and disregard the rest, Its kind of nifty for a kids meal..but sad to say sold out a bit to fast.

badman1014's picture
Posted by badman1014 on 2 March, 2011 - 00:10
Not just Voltron

Jollibee didn't stop at Voltron. He's actually the second gestalt to come out of the pipeline in the Kids Meal toy offering. The honor of being the first goes to Power Rangers Dino Thunder. It also had the same cap cover / base feature AND they combine exactly like its DX brother.

Other releases (though no gestalts) were Macross / Robotech, Power Rangers Operation Overdrive and Gundam.

ivanko's picture
Posted by ivanko on 2 March, 2011 - 03:56
What were the Macross

What were the Macross items?

thanks
LF

Modcineaste's picture
Posted by Modcineaste on 2 March, 2011 - 18:19
That's Bad Ass just on

That's Bad Ass just on principle alone. What an awesome give away toy.

hal9000's picture
Posted by hal9000 on 3 March, 2011 - 22:39
Macross toys

The Macross toys in question:

- Veritech Guardian (Blue) - fires missiles, can transform into (semi) gerwalk mode by pulling down the legs
- Veritech Space Fighter (Red) - pull back and watch in "fly" (care off the wheels underneath)
- Veritech Battroid (White) - action figure comes with gun.

ivanko's picture
Posted by ivanko on 11 March, 2011 - 02:45
i live in the philippines but

i live in the philippines but sadly, i was only grade 2 at that time and don't know yet who voltron is. I wish i could find one of those somewhere here.

marcodabatman's picture
Posted by marcodabatman on 2 November, 2012 - 04:35
You can try check out local

You can try check out local ads sites. I remember seeing one somewhere.

Not sure about the condition of the toy though,

Chachi seems to have everything in pristine condition.

kurochan_24's picture
Posted by kurochan_24 on 2 November, 2012 - 04:56
Very interesting.

Just when you think you've seen all Voltron variants there's another.

Very cool. Now if I only knew where to find one.
Ill have to add this to the list with the mini lb.

Demonseed's picture
Posted by Demonseed on 19 January, 2013 - 03:55
Is there a video rewiew for

Is there a video rewiew for this?

Demonseed's picture
Posted by Demonseed on 31 December, 2012 - 21:59
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net