CollectionDX Network

Red Lion (with Lance)

Comments

9 comments posted
Don't return it dude!

First and most important: DON'T return it.
Matty.com plays games with you big time. You will ONLY get a refund, and NOT a new lion set. They play games with their backstock big time. They probably have thousands of these in stock for defective items/returns, but only issue full returns for those who are either very nasty, big time writers/PR folks, or complete fails (legs fall off, head is cracked, etc.) I have several times returned other Matty.com items and only received credit, being told "they are completely sold out"- then, 3-4 days later, they go back onsale on the site.

The only thing to do is to try to buy it again and THEN return the broken one for credit.

Thanks for reviewing this man. I was SO excited to see this subscription when announced and was excited to join up. Then I saw the price vs. QC, the low cockpit detailing, the lack of chrome on the legs, the Infinite Heroes-type figures (I love that line but the QC was horrible especially on the later figures) and the shipping price hike with the separate figure/lion boxes (really, you couldn't put it all in the same box? It's not like these are being sold separately in any way, it's obviously to justify a shipping price hike on the website.) - had to pass.

Now I am very happy I skipped.

Glad I skipped this one now. Maybe when everyone dumps theirs for super cheap in a few years I'll be able to get one and it won't sting as bad. Because it does look cool. I complain a lot about price and quality, but I don't nit-pick the details, like "this isn't accurate" or "his blue was slightly blue-er." I only complain when the price grossly outweighs the quality. It's ok if it's a "toy" but this is clearly marketed and priced for collectors not kids. The slop and problems everyone is having is just an insult. And to think THIS is why we can't get a gokin Dairugger here in the US??? this is one case where it's just a slap in the face. Again.

The Big R's picture
Posted by The Big R on 6 April, 2012 - 09:22
Auto transform

I plunked my money down and subscribed to Matty's Club Lion Force to get this guy and I agree with you about it being a mixed bag. My problem is the back leg isn't properly tightened down, so instead of laying flush against the body it presses out just enough that the thing springs open at the slightest touch. So when I have my full Voltron, Red Lion is always gonna be shooting that leg out and kicking Voltron in the face.

I'm a big fan of the MOTUC line Mattel does, and while that line has some flaws, I wish the Voltron stuff would be more in line with MOTUC. What I mean is the no gimmicks approach the MOTUC line takes. The auto transform feature is really pointless and tacked on. All it does is pop the legs out for lion mode. Plus, when Mattel hyped the feature, it was a "one touch transformation" and I disagree. Yeah the legs shoot out, but not into any position to stand. The feet and legs still have to be put into place for a standing position. I personally would have preferred that the legs be completely removable in order to get a cleaner show accurate look, like the Blazing Sword Voltron Mattel did.

In the end, I'm wondering if the people at Mattel couldn't decide whether they were making an adult collectible or a straight up toy and it shows in the overall execution. I don't plan on displaying the lions individually though, and having a big doofy Voltron is something I look forward to.

GetterVolt's picture
Posted by GetterVolt on 6 April, 2012 - 10:09
Packaging

@The Big R

100% agree with you on the packaging. Not that I'm a tie-dyed hippie or anything, but I generally try to be green. Matty sends the big white overbox, the lion in his box with lots of empty wasted space, and the Lance figure in another waste of space box. Everything should have gone into 1 package like you said.

GetterVolt's picture
Posted by GetterVolt on 6 April, 2012 - 11:02
So glad I did not buy

This review makes me so sad. I am glad you reviewed it. I guess I will just look to pick up an old school Voltron. For the price I would be happier with the old LionBot bootleg.

Sigh

ActionAwesome's picture
Posted by ActionAwesome on 6 April, 2012 - 12:16
I was a little interested in

I was a little interested in this, but the price is outrageous, and after trying some of their other products I'm tired of Mattel's shit. This thing looks like a $30 toy at best, but the final price is going to be $400? That's just insane to me.

Jesta's picture
Posted by Jesta on 6 April, 2012 - 14:40
Yeah, the third party

Yeah, the third party shipping service is pretty dang slow. They DO have UPS on there, but you've got to remember to change it to UPS when ordering or you get the crap service all the way through your sub. Made that mistake with my current MotUC sub. I know I'm getting my figures and it is a little cheaper....but it's still a minor annoyance.

Anyway, sad to hear that Matty seems to be doing the same job in terms of customer service no matter the toyline. Many people complain about quality control with MotUC, but I've honestly not had many problems and I love the figures. The thing that worries me is the customer service, and I am afraid of the day that I do get a bum figure that i'll have to return ('cause every toyline is gona have bum figures). I just don't know if I'd be able to get it resolved. Some folks have horror stories, others have simple and quick transactions. You just never know.

On topic, however: I would have loved to get this, but the MotUC sub pretty much dictates that I won't be getting any other subs due to cost. I still like the looks of it and how it works, but the painted elbow joint just BAFFLES me. I mean...how long has Mattel been in the business? Who the heck DOES that? I can't even...I don't know. I can't think of a single toy in my collection with painted ratcheting joints. It's just so against common sense that I can't wrap my brain around it.

Alexx's picture
Posted by Alexx on 7 April, 2012 - 09:56
Red you make me want to cry!

I was so happy last year when i did my sub for Voltron and for the price i was paying per-lion i was expecting something on par with the Star Wars vehicles if not then better... The lion feel fine in the hand but i would take a Snowspeeder or Tie Fighter over this anyday. I get the feeling that at an early stage they wanted to get this in to a major high street retailer but there wasn't any interest from them. If He was $30-40 in toysrus then its a no brainer

It's not that the Lion is bad but he just look's like he's lacking in so many areas. Maybe Reprolables will do a set of stickers once all five Lions are out. He's very plan and that doesn't help.

Tho i know one thing next year Matty has to pull something amazing out of its behind for me to sub to them again... The first thing they need to learn is the meaning of the words Premium and collectible.

geadun7's picture
Posted by geadun7 on 7 April, 2012 - 11:21
It's a Relief I Passed

I was very eager to look for a friend based in the US who can get this for me last year, but since no one is sure if they're staying up to 2012 or not, I had no other choice but to wait for online sellers. I mean, who would pass on something like this? A gigantic Voltron? That's ridiculous!

But it's a blessing in disguise that I did not throw away my $400 (i can get a lot with that amount here in my country! lol) after reading this review. Thanks a lot! Sigh.. I guess I'll have to wait for another Voltron.

henry.ph's picture
Posted by henry.ph on 10 April, 2012 - 18:09
Go-Lion!

Well....amazing, there are still people in the world who love Go-Lion...lol

I know, for maniacs in the world, Go-Lion was(has been?) a masterpiece of anime.
I was in the very "real time" generation for Go-Lion, but I've totally forgot about Go-Lion.
(Japanese kids around that times appreciated the new design..animal-motif...but they forgot it very soon.)

Tomino, the Gundam author, often used to say "Unlike design works in the US movies, design works on robot-anime in Japan are always boxlike. I always want to break the bad habit!".
Syd Mead also said the same kind of thing.

After many years has passed, such a typical design work "Go-Loin" is still alive...among maniacs outside of Japan, surprisingly.

SamuraiAvenger's picture
Posted by SamuraiAvenger on 13 April, 2012 - 17:40
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net