CollectionDX Network

Rainbow Dash

Comments

13 comments posted
I know I shouldn't allow

I know I shouldn't allow this, but I see what you did there. Any more pony reviews go on OCDX, got it veef?

JoshB's picture
Posted by JoshB on 2 December, 2011 - 14:37
I apologize for the error

I apologize for the error cause by my haste.

This is what happens when the postal service is faster than FedEx.

VF5SS's picture
Posted by VF5SS on 2 December, 2011 - 14:49
But-But...

... If you don't open the toy, how will we talk about the cartoon on the DVD man?

Dkun's picture
Posted by Dkun on 2 December, 2011 - 14:54
I must admit I was half

I must admit I was half expecting a category for MLP because of our ties with Toyboxdx :3

VF5SS's picture
Posted by VF5SS on 2 December, 2011 - 15:00
Yeah, my wife and I got some

Yeah, my wife and I got some set with these ponies with molded hair, but that's about as close as we can get to "show accurate" right now. I'm probably gona skip all these until they do something more like the show. It's friggin' HILARIOUS. I'll totally get some ponies someday if they design 'em off the show.

Alexx's picture
Posted by Alexx on 2 December, 2011 - 21:28
Forever Mint In Box

Forever Mint In Box

Anavel's picture
Posted by Anavel on 3 December, 2011 - 14:07
What's going on? A pretty

What's going on? A pretty pony review on this site seems really odd. Is the world running out of chogokin and transformers? I guess it's funny or a joke? Tie in to destroy all podcasts?

Novacaine31's picture
Posted by Novacaine31 on 5 December, 2011 - 00:41
Destroy All Podcasts

We didn't post our podcast on the front page.

Destroy All Podcasts DX's picture
Posted by Destroy All Pod... on 5 December, 2011 - 00:54
Oh man, glad you mentioned

Oh man, glad you mentioned it. I thought you hadn't posted a podcast this week. I swing by on Sundays/Monday looking for your podcast post. Then I saw this pony review and thought it was a gag tied into the review you guys did of the pretty pony TV show.

Novacaine31's picture
Posted by Novacaine31 on 5 December, 2011 - 11:12
Every week.

We do a new podcast every week, but we didn't post this one or our My Little Pony podcast to the front page due to it being too far off topic. At any rate, this review is unrelated to the podcast, but enjoy it nonetheless. (Veef, open the toy up already!)

Destroy All Podcasts DX's picture
Posted by Destroy All Pod... on 5 December, 2011 - 11:41
Touhou? Sorry, but whoa nellie!

Not to make light of MLP or the scale of the meme craze it has generated, nor its prior history as a toyline well before ZUN first started making a certain modest series of indie shooter games all by himself (music, art, coding, everything) featuring a certain lazy Shinto priestess, a mischievous witch, and an ever increasing number of youkai, gods, and more....

But! Some perspective is in order, my comrades! *adjusts and taps mike*

Touhou is an open-source creation (and fandom), independently published and allowed to spread and grow exponentially in a variation of the Creative Commons license. MLP will never tread into that territory, being corporate-owned trademarked Hasbro property. You can compare MLP to, say Pretty Cure, Transformers, or even Star Trek, but to compare it to Touhou is an awkward analogy which ignores the entire self-feeding grassroots basis of the Touhou "movement". The scale of the output of Touhou fandom in so many genres of indie games, music (without exaggeration, I lost track of how many hundreds of different Touhou jazz remixes I have listened to, not to mention hard rock...), and so on over the last decade and a half is simply breathtaking. MLP may be the emergent popular newly revived fan obsession here, but it's just a foal when compared to what is out there under Gensokyo's sun.

And no, I'm not even talking about teh multitudinous Touhou pr0ns when I say that (which statistically are almost equal in number to non-pornographic Touhou fan published doujinshi--a very unusual ratio for such works), though I shudder to think of what the equivalent is for Bronies...

TL;DR: Touhou Project is entirely fan-based; MLP is a corporate cash cow...er, horse.

A better comparison for the open-source Touhou fandom? GLYOS SYSTEM. ;)

microbry's picture
Posted by microbry on 12 December, 2011 - 04:50
Don't question my analogy.

Don't question my analogy.

Jaaaoooooooooooooooo!

VF5SS's picture
Posted by VF5SS on 12 December, 2011 - 13:02
CHEEEEEENNNNNNN! *honk honk*

Hey, your analogy is great: it gave me a chance to rant about Touhou in a comment thread for My Little Pony on CollectionDX. My life is now complete.

microbry's picture
Posted by microbry on 12 December, 2011 - 13:31
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net