CollectionDX Network

Powerglide

Comments

17 comments posted
Gahh- I wanted to cover

Gahh- I wanted to cover this one months ago, but was too tied-up... oh well. Good review!

Only things that bugged me were that:

--the forward landing gear didn't keep the Gatling cannon off the ground
--there wasn't more variety to his sound effects in robot mode
--why in thee hell he has that valentine in his chest!

Otherwise, great toy. I didn't know G1 Powerglide, so his coloring was no problem with me.
------------------------------
CollectionDX Staff

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 24 June, 2009 - 13:37
Heart

Eva, if you had read the review you would know why Powerglide has a heart in his chest.

Ginrai's picture
Posted by Ginrai on 24 June, 2009 - 17:17
Yeah I know- the tribute.

Yeah I know- the tribute. But... I mean, couldn't it have, like, glowed like it didn't the show or something more effective?
------------------------------
CollectionDX Staff

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 24 June, 2009 - 19:07
Y'know, there have been too

Y'know, there have been too many Transformers that I don't hate covered of the last couple of months. Fantastic review! (And yes... we DO look forward to your reviews!)

"This must be settled the way nature intended....with a vicious, bloody fight!"
Onyx Blackman
Principal, Flatpoint High

NekroDave's picture
Posted by NekroDave on 24 June, 2009 - 14:27
Want him in red

Transformers Powerglide Japan Takara Universe is on ebay classic color if you really must have it. Nice toy he looks all grown up. What's about his Decepticon repaint... who is that guy.

Lizardspock's picture
Posted by Lizardspock on 24 June, 2009 - 14:56
No idea, not buying so it's

No idea, not buying so it's not my problem, really :) As for the Japaneese Powerglide you mentioned, worry not, he's next thing to get covered by me here :)

Wallas's picture
Posted by Wallas on 24 June, 2009 - 15:13
rattler

You know it would be very cool if Hasbro painted this in dark Blue Cobra Rattler colors.

Cheers
LF

Leonardo Flores
CollectionDX Staff Writer-West Coast Bureau

Modcineaste's picture
Posted by Modcineaste on 24 June, 2009 - 15:30
ComeOn!

No one is going to complain about his big droppy man breast??

happosai8's picture
Posted by happosai8 on 24 June, 2009 - 19:20
Naw- while it's odd to see

Naw- while it's odd to see the exhaust nozzles pointed forward (were he a spacecraft, I'd say they were retro-thrusters), the placement of the engines is fine with me.
------------------------------
CollectionDX Staff

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 25 June, 2009 - 00:52
Its grows on me

I was initially turned off by Powerglide's man breasts aesthetic but the design is growing on me the more I look at it.

I think Hasbro has done a wonderful reimagining of the small Autobot and would like to see the likes of Warpath and Cosmos in the same leader / voyager class forms.

ivanko's picture
Posted by ivanko on 25 June, 2009 - 01:33
Stormcloud

The military / moss green Decepticon repaint in question is Stormcloud :)

ivanko's picture
Posted by ivanko on 25 June, 2009 - 01:35
Another awesome review of an

Another awesome review of an under-appreciated toy, Wallas. Thanks!

And, yeah, I thought the subtle hint at the end that you were gonna cover the red version was obvious enough. That's cool. Incidentally, I have an extra red version if anyone's interested. E-mail me! (What a shameless plug! ;P )

Anyway, Leonardo, I am SO with you! We were just discussing the other day how cool it would be to repaint this Powerglide as a Rattler and the new Leader Jetfire as a Raven!

--
Sanjeev

Sanjeev's picture
Posted by Sanjeev on 26 June, 2009 - 17:18
Sanjeev Interested in

Sanjeev

Interested in picking up the red powerglide off you but it seems you're not accepting e-mails when I tried the Contact tab from your profile here in CDX?

Can you let me know?

Thanks
Bambang

primetimex's picture
Posted by primetimex on 30 June, 2009 - 03:01
Heh...whoops! My account is

Heh...whoops! My account is normally set up to accept e-mails. I guess some options got reset at some point. Anyway, you're not accepting e-mails right now, but I've fixed my account...so feel free to e-mail me!

Back to toys...and less shameless self-promotion! ;)

--
Sanjeev

Sanjeev's picture
Posted by Sanjeev on 30 June, 2009 - 08:16
You know, speaking of

You know, speaking of underestimated toys, my lot from Hasbro Poland with ROTF toys arrived and I'm seriously considering making a Gravity Bot review for the laughs of it. That could be quite interesting, don't you think? :P

Wallas's picture
Posted by Wallas on 1 July, 2009 - 15:45
Absolutely! Actually, I was

Absolutely! Actually, I was gonna suggest to JoshB that we do a tandem HD video review of a couple (I got Prime and Starscream) and just talk toy and what makes these dumb things so fun! :D

Could be a lot of fun!

Sometimes, I just feel too old/busy/jaded/whatever to get into modern Leader class stuff because it feels like such a committment to sit down and transform the things. Besides, I almost never remember how! LOL

--
Sanjeev

Sanjeev's picture
Posted by Sanjeev on 1 July, 2009 - 15:53
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net