CollectionDX Network

Spinner

Comments

14 comments posted
one word...

wow...NJ

AJProDie-Cast's picture
Posted by AJProDie-Cast on 28 December, 2011 - 18:24
Great job! But I think you

Great job! But I think you have the car/flight modes miss-labeled. Still a great job!

Anyway if you love the spinner but can't build a model, this is still available:
http://www.hlj.com/product/MEDMAV-83830

BraveMSW's picture
Posted by BraveMSW on 28 December, 2011 - 19:36
Thanks, all fixed now!

Thanks, all fixed now!

chachipower's picture
Posted by chachipower on 28 December, 2011 - 20:01
Nice review, chachi. Liked

Nice review, chachi. Liked the slight scratch marks and lighting you added.

So wait, there are covers on the front wheels that lift up for when it's driving around? I didn't know that.
I always though that gray band just behind the driver's door was a track upon which the red light shifted around to the bottom-side when it was flying. Guess I was wrong.
Here's my question: if it uses directed-air vents to fly, then why are there no vents along the front of it like there are so many along the back?

(Probably stems from me having seen the film not even a half-dozen times...)

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 28 December, 2011 - 21:39
Thanks, I have to watch it

Thanks, I have to watch it again now to see if that track moves, The kit doesn't allow for movement. My original plan was to have every single LED light up but as I've come to find out, that will be a wiring nightmare. Not impossible, just very very time consuming especially since everything is so tiny. I will probably do two at a time so I don;t lose my mind. If it was like a 1/18 scale the LED gimmick would have to be mandatory. When all is siad and done I should have about $60 worth of lighting in it. Lets just hope I keep motivated to finish it. As it is, it is costing me $13 just to buy the paint to finish the window trim.

chachipower's picture
Posted by chachipower on 28 December, 2011 - 23:06
It's nowhere near as iconic

It's nowhere near as iconic as the spinner, but has anyone ever made a kit of Deckard's car? Also, nice job, looks really nice lit up!

SpaceRunaway's picture
Posted by SpaceRunaway on 28 December, 2011 - 22:39
Yup

Yup it's resin, poorly cast, and costs way too much for something 4 or 5 inches long.

This however looks great, and I'll be getting a few so I can paint them in different colors.

The Big R's picture
Posted by The Big R on 29 December, 2011 - 07:21
I see that Deckard's car is

I see that Deckard's car is getting the Fujimi treatment. I'm not a model guy, but this makes me happy.

SpaceRunaway's picture
Posted by SpaceRunaway on 30 March, 2012 - 11:54
Great build! I recently had

Great build! I recently had the chance to inpect this kit it person and was quite impressed.
It is a good size, bigger than what I thought and the spinner logos in photo etech were a great touch.

Some of the weaker points are the sparse interior and the lack of rubber tires.

Since Ridley Scott is going to remake Bladerunner soon I'm wondering if this is a newer version of the Spinner that is goung to be in the next film which is why there are some sculpting issues?

This kit was a long time coming and finally glad it has come out!

Great lighting as well!

Leonardo

Modcineaste's picture
Posted by Modcineaste on 29 December, 2011 - 14:35
Thanks and coming from you is

Thanks and coming from you is a plus since you do a good deal of builds. Like I said in the review, I have plans of just squeezing LEDs wherever I can and when I get the funds I will. I may also tackle the aftermarket pieces to get it just right and accurate. I may possibly even just pick up another kit and really take my time. I just wish it wasn't so darn expensive.

I've seen a good deal of modded interiors using styrene and putty which makes me want to mod this one. I failed to mention that the top windows peer into nothingness which is strange. As for the lack of rubber tires, I still can't really get over it, I mean I used to mod old Japanese car model kits with those wide Yakuza style Fujimi rim and tire sets yet they included simple plastic wheelsets. Modding it to use any 1/24 scale wheel combo should be no problem at all.

I just hope Autoart does a 1/18 scale diecast spinner someday. That would be a definite buy for me.

chachipower's picture
Posted by chachipower on 29 December, 2011 - 20:37
1/18 scale

Me too. I'd kill for anything in a bigger scale of the Spinner. I loved the Mad Max that Autoart did a while ago. I had to sell mine to finance a vacation :( but I'm on the hunt for it before it becomes Jumbo-priced. Which it will.

That's something to note about BLADE RUNNER. Actually, ALIEN as well; the merch becomes INCREDIBLY expensive and difficult to find. Almost all of it. And it holds its value too. I find it funny folks who bought all the RAH figures or early SOCs and held onto them for "investments" ignore the "real value" stuff like Halcon model kits, Ma. K, Blade Runner merch, etc. I financed a LOT of my vinyl LPs and comics collection with vintage kits from garage sales in the 90s. Many of them are still in demand even with many reissues! This will most def be one of them!!

Disappointing that the wheels are plastic at this price. But that is the land of JP model kits: high prices, lots of work, tremendous results for anyone who takes their time. Fans of Space Battleship Yamato know what I'm talking about... Hopefully, someone will bootleg the crap out of this and offer a cheaper alternative... which I'm sure they will, soon.

The Big R's picture
Posted by The Big R on 30 December, 2011 - 07:12
Pictures

Mr. Chachi, I just read your interesting review but I don't see the pictures. They're not processing on my screen for some reason. I don't think it's my web browser because it allowed me to process other jpgs.well in other websites. I like to see your finished model when the glitches have been neutralized.

Diakron's picture
Posted by Diakron on 31 December, 2011 - 23:38
hmm. I dont know if its

hmm. I dont know if its anything I can fix on my end but maybe try another browser. Maybe your browser cant handle the awesomeness. lol

chachipower's picture
Posted by chachipower on 1 January, 2012 - 15:30
We're having technical

We're having technical difficulties, please be patient.

Josh

JoshB's picture
Posted by JoshB on 1 January, 2012 - 16:11
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net