CollectionDX Network

King Dam 3 in 1

Comments

13 comments posted
I had this when I was a kid.

I had this when I was a kid. I remember losing the fists, and almost never combining him to form the robot because it was more fun as the three vehicles, and because it didn't look as cool as my Mazinger and Raideen robots did. And I remember wondering why it only had two pilots for three vehicles. Luckily, I had a cheap knock-off toy of (I think)Dairugger around, and it came with a bunch that were roughly the same, in different colors, so they would all work together to fight...whatever else I had. Brings back memories of 'whooshing' it around the living room, firing the missiles until they were all lost. Thanks for the review and the trip down memory lane!

seraph2011's picture
Posted by seraph2011 on 9 April, 2010 - 21:39
This (or a version of it

This (or a version of it anyway) was one of the few diecasts I had as a kind and I loved it. There is a Korean knockoff with Taekwon Vs head that I like, too.

"You can't sell it until you get it from him, but you gotta sell it to pay him to get it to sell it".
---Jerilock, talking about me trying to raise the money I need to pay for the toys I already bought....

NekroDave's picture
Posted by NekroDave on 9 April, 2010 - 22:13
If it wasn't for the fact

If it wasn't for the fact it's a bootleg (did CDX cover the original?), I'd say this is a pretty cool combiner.

------------------------------
CollectionDX Staff

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 10 April, 2010 - 00:05
King Dam and a tiny bootleg

King Dam and a tiny bootleg Irongear were my favorite Toys R Us finds as a kid. I played with this guy A LOT. So much fun. And I took great care of him, so as far as I know everything is still quite minty and complete.

I just looked at mine, thinking there was a price sticker still on it. Nope. But I can confirm that the number of missiles on the back is correct: 3 sprues w/3 missiles each. I also uploaded a pic of the unused sticker sheet, so you can see what was applied by the previous owner:
Photobucket
And as far as I know, that was it. There was no booklet included. I'm sure I would have kept that. Oh, and mine has a right and left fist. ;-)

japester's picture
Posted by japester on 10 April, 2010 - 01:08
you are also a fan of the

you are also a fan of the tiny irongear? Well stay tuned, I got a review coming up for that too. Thanks for the sticker sheet picture!

chachipower's picture
Posted by chachipower on 10 April, 2010 - 07:57
Cool beans. I think there

Cool beans. I think there are a couple of versions out there. Mine is minty and complete in a nice box, so if you want any comparison pics just let me know!

japester's picture
Posted by japester on 10 April, 2010 - 16:46
Bootleg or not, this is

Bootleg or not, this is awesome. Bootlegs are awesome, diaclone is awesome, Taiwanese knockoffs are awesome. The vehicle modes are amazingly solid. Much better, overall, than many of Combattler's vehicles.
I just got the taiwanese knockoff version of Popy's Compoboy, and I love it, rickety attachments, ugly head, and all. Best of all is that it has cardboard inserts with pictures of the real Compoboy on them. And a microphone that mini bullmarks can hold.

jacksauce's picture
Posted by jacksauce on 10 April, 2010 - 07:33
Timely Review

I just caved in to my nostalgia and picked up one of these guys on ebay last week. (Unfortunately, the specimen I got wasn't in very good shape.) I had King Dam as a kid. My mom originally bought it for a cousin's birthday and I convinced her I should have it instead. It's strangely charming with its gangly arms and contented expression on his face. He looks like he's just happy to be here. I'm glad the King is getting his due on CDX.

magicsp00n's picture
Posted by magicsp00n on 10 April, 2010 - 09:24
I just got one last week as

I just got one last week as well, though mine is incomplete. I do like it quite a bit and is perfect until I get the original. I think one of the only differences between this one and the Takara Diaclone version is the face sculpt, Takara's is much better. Other than that the quality is pretty close, though I am no expert on Diaclones. Mark (machinesoldier) would be the one to talk to about Diaclones.

Glad to see something related to the non-Transformers Diaclones on here, they really are great toys (and very expensive toys I am finding out).

Jeromy's picture
Posted by Jeromy on 10 April, 2010 - 15:22
"LOL" is used so much

"LOL" is used so much online,you forget what it really means. But I actually laughed out loud at my computer when I saw Kirk and Bones up there.

BTW my Transformer Classics Starscream has two right hands,so it's not just bootlegs.

---------------------------------------------
A master of mind control who hides inside a Ford Pickup

kidnicky's picture
Posted by kidnicky on 11 April, 2010 - 09:18
A friend of mine had King

A friend of mine had King Dam when we were kids. I was lucky enough to find one at a local comic shop for 20 bucks. Complete with unused sticker sheet, however only one set of 3 rockets including sprue. The fists are two of the same, not sure if lefts or rights. When I saw this guy on the shelf with a bunch of godaikins ( that I didnt have the money for) I asked the comic store owner what the prices were... he told me. When he got to the King dam he said hes just a knockoff you dont really want him. I said for 20 bucks I do!!!

The Question's picture
Posted by The Question on 14 April, 2010 - 08:58
Chachi , I echo kidnicky's

Chachi , I echo kidnicky's comment on the LOL. I literally did laugh out loud with your little wiseguy comments and speech balloons thrown in. Great to see your sense of humor come through in the review.

Nice job on the pics, and story as usual.

repairtechjon's picture
Posted by repairtechjon on 14 April, 2010 - 22:05
the fist problem

I bought one & so did a friend back in the day. both of ours had 2 right fists as well,

tmthor's picture
Posted by tmthor on 10 May, 2012 - 20:44
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net