CollectionDX Network

Blazing Sword Voltron

Comments

8 comments posted
Thank you!! I was kinda on

Thank you!! I was kinda on the fence about this figure, but you've made up my mind. As you said; Mattel kinda didn't take great pics of this to really show off what it could do. You've made Mattel some money here, and helped me out. Thanks again!

Alexx's picture
Posted by Alexx on 22 July, 2011 - 23:05
Yeah Mattels press photos

Yeah Mattels press photos kinda killed it for me. But the fact that you said shockingly good, It must be great. This will be going on my shelf soon enough. Your pictures are great and make it hard to resist.

chachipower's picture
Posted by chachipower on 23 July, 2011 - 13:36
Excellent!!!

I never had a doubt it was gonna be awesome! I pre-ordered one a long time ago and should be getting it next week. I think I'm gonna try to get a second one from Matty too. Love the anime accurate colors on it, but the sword should've been silver IMO. Nothing I can't easily fix once I get it.

}D

The Mazinger Z's picture
Posted by The Mazinger Z on 24 July, 2011 - 02:11
*cough*Retrofire*cough*

I still want the deluxe transformable one from the 80s, but this doesn't look too bad.

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 24 July, 2011 - 10:47
You dont own one? I thought

You dont own one? I thought it was mandatory to own Voltron in the 80's

chachipower's picture
Posted by chachipower on 25 July, 2011 - 05:07
Oh it was indeed mandatory.

Oh it was indeed mandatory. I even got to handle one a few times. But I still never got one.

If I could get that all-plastic Masterpiece Voltron from a few years ago (for me die-cast is NOT mandatory, just a quaint bonus feature), I'd go that route over the original Deluxe.

But I still want a big fully-transformable version of Voltron. Not because I liked the show (on the contrary, I didn't see any of it when I was younger, and nowadays I can't stomach even the first few episodes), but because it is iconic, and I have to have one because it was cool back then and I still have a liking for it now.

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 31 July, 2011 - 10:18
Thanks for the good review.

Thanks for the good review. Covered all the bases nicely. It also helped me decide whether or not to pick one up.

Having him in hand he's definitely a lot of fun. I also dig the packaging he comes in, but due to the fact they used industrial grade glue to weld it together it takes a box cutter and much patience to free the mighty robot. I think that's short sighted on behalf of Mattel for those who want to keep the box (it even says "adult collector" on the box), but none the less I'm glad to have him.

Drakenfel's picture
Posted by Drakenfel on 24 August, 2011 - 16:44
Got this!

I picked up this guy purely based on this review and I have to say thank you. I love this figure. You are spot on!

ActionAwesome's picture
Posted by ActionAwesome on 18 April, 2012 - 22:02
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net