CollectionDX Network

Phalanx / Spartan

Comments

11 comments posted
Nice review. Silly kid I

Nice review. Silly kid I was, I didn't know to get more of these then.
I only remember the drab tan colors, glad to know of the variant colors too.

I sure remember thinking these were so big and solid, compared to other popular robot toys of the day.

Yes, that box art would be great available as a complete print!

repairtechjon's picture
Posted by repairtechjon on 3 February, 2010 - 22:38
Cool but....

What a disappointment that those missile launchers don't do anything. That oil painting really sells the toy and yet the toy isn't able to open the hatches and doesn't fire projectiles? That would be a real bummer at any age.

Grandzinga....

Grandzinga's picture
Posted by Grandzinga on 4 February, 2010 - 10:25
To be fair, the box picture

To be fair, the box picture is kind of a trace-job off of the Imai Phalanx box.

VF5SS's picture
Posted by VF5SS on 4 February, 2010 - 10:33
Great Points

You all make great points:

I was noticing after I made the review that the hatches didn't open, which now I would think as a let down but as I kid I thought it was the coolest figure and didn't even notice it.

A trace job it might be but the energy of the painting really projects. We've all seen trace jobs of mechs before but there is a lot more to this painting the simply tracing something. Check out the Comico Robotech comic books and see how passionless a trace job could be.

AHHH!!! PLEAZE don't remind me that I didn't pick up more of these as well!!! I'm sure if I asked my parents they would have picked them all up for me. If I could only go back to the 1980's for the weekend.

Thanks for the comments everyone!
LF

Leonardo Flores
CollectionDX Staff Writer-West Coast Bureau

Modcineaste's picture
Posted by Modcineaste on 4 February, 2010 - 11:35
Comico did the best they

Comico did the best they could with translateing Robotech into comic book form. Recall that when they started, the plan at Harmony Gold was just a strait Macross translation (Comico released Macross #1, the company never released Robotech #1) but by the time the second issue came around HG had optioned the Robotech name, Southerncross, and Mospeada and started production of the show. Comico was then left with trying to put three books out at once under deadline with artist unaccustomed with anime/manga style

BraveMSW's picture
Posted by BraveMSW on 4 February, 2010 - 19:48
Comico

I gave away all my Comico Robotech comics about a year ago although still own that Macross #1 as at the time it was the most expensive comic I ever bough ($20.00!) which was a lot of money for a comic book which were 60 to 75 cents a pop at the time. Macross #1 was a beautiful and well drawn and painted comic and the rest of the comic series had those high standards it would of been a great series. But the artists were terrible! Reggie Beyers had his own manga style comic called Shuriken but his art did not translate well with Robotech. Last year I thought "Why do I still have these...I hated them!" but kept a few choice pieces such as Macross #1 and the 3D issue. I also kept an autographed issue and a page of original Comico ink and art that was used in the third issue The New Generation I picked up at the SD Comicon back in the 8T's.

I wonder why they just didn't hire Japanese artists, but this was the early days of "Japanimation" people were still trying to figure things out.

Cheers,
LF

Leonardo Flores
CollectionDX Staff Writer-West Coast Bureau

Modcineaste's picture
Posted by Modcineaste on 5 February, 2010 - 01:41
Opening hatches? How could I

Opening hatches? How could I miss that? I distinctly remember the regular tan colored version had opening hatches, but only a cluster of red missle tips molded inside, that didn't actually come out, or fire off.
Must be this blue version has just the sticker on the arm pod?

repairtechjon's picture
Posted by repairtechjon on 4 February, 2010 - 20:04
Different Phalanx

I think you might be getting the larger Matchbox Robotech Phalanx confused with the smaller Die-cast Takatoku re-releases, The larger Matchbox version that you are referring to had opening missile hatches while the smaller one did not.

Leonardo Flores
CollectionDX Staff Writer-West Coast Bureau

Modcineaste's picture
Posted by Modcineaste on 5 February, 2010 - 01:26
Yeah, the bigger plastic

Yeah, the bigger plastic ones (that were later reissued under the Exosquad) line had opening hatches and red missile tips inside. I dunno if I could deal with a Spartan (or Phalanx, if you prefer) with non-opening hatches...but the diecast is really nice.

If only TT could've gotten it together to release a diecast Destroid line in 1/55 scale! Imagine that!

--
Sanjeev

Sanjeev's picture
Posted by Sanjeev on 5 February, 2010 - 15:49
speaking of robotech

speaking of robotech comics....
http://www.armagideon-time.com/?p=3263

kidnicky's picture
Posted by kidnicky on 4 February, 2010 - 21:13
Great Comic!

I still have both of those comics, a fun read although it had nothing to do with Dougram. I think Josh B has a soft spot for those comics as well.

I Think I might have some Shogun Warriors comics like those as well. I don't think I've even touched my Paper/Comic anime related items yet and I'm barely just getting to review my Matchbox Robotech and GI Joe Items.

So much to Review!

Leonardo Flores
CollectionDX Staff Writer-West Coast Bureau

Modcineaste's picture
Posted by Modcineaste on 5 February, 2010 - 01:22
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net