CollectionDX Network

Optimus Prime

Comments

17 comments posted
I am envious of you on so

I am envious of you on so many levels right now, Rob...

Damn, that's a beautiful bot!

EDIT: Ohh, and his eyes are supposed to be blue, not red.

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 16 January, 2012 - 13:34
Flash Alert

Yeah, I could have touched that photo up before posting, but it actually is painted blue but hard to see when installed on the face. I did some quick touch ups with a blue sharpee but it changed the tint of the lens when the light from my camera hit it.

Can't make all of them perfect.

Rob's picture
Posted by Rob on 16 January, 2012 - 16:14
Absolutely Stunning Job.....

Absolutely Stunning Job..... Stunning !
A truly master job and a fantastic looking piece.
My Striker Prime looks just so lame in comparison.
Please make me one :)

Jessiedart's picture
Posted by Jessiedart on 16 January, 2012 - 15:38
That is a sexy robot! Great

That is a sexy robot! Great job!

SentaiSeiya's picture
Posted by SentaiSeiya on 16 January, 2012 - 23:01
That may have blown Buster

That may have blown Buster Prime away. I'm very tempted to pick this up after reading this. Excellent review!

Jmann's picture
Posted by Jmann on 17 January, 2012 - 00:52
Best of Luck

Good luck,

"Remember your training and you will come back alive!"

-Dead nameless Sarge from Starship Troopers.

Rob's picture
Posted by Rob on 17 January, 2012 - 08:39
Just threw up after seeing

Just threw up after seeing aftermarket prices. Of course, it may still be worth it, because I could convert it into Ultra Magnus easier than a non-model kit.

Jmann's picture
Posted by Jmann on 17 January, 2012 - 13:55
Good luck Part 2

Yeah. When I first went hunting for this kit I thought the price was going to be bad too especially for some Domestic US dealers, but fortunately it was found by my father through an A+ Ebay dealer overseas. Don't dispair, maybe Hasbro/Takara will give this a second release and make it more available locally.

Rob's picture
Posted by Rob on 19 January, 2012 - 08:27
A boy can dream. I saw some

A boy can dream. I saw some stuff on it on TFW2005 before it released, but didn't take the time or energy to actually do anything about it. Kinda regretting that decision.

Jmann's picture
Posted by Jmann on 21 January, 2012 - 03:01
Expertise

GunplaRob, have you ever made clicking joints before? If not, do you know if it's possible if can they be homemade by using the right molding tools?

Diakron's picture
Posted by Diakron on 17 January, 2012 - 03:58
Disadvantage

You've got me at a disadvantage there. I'm a 10 year+ career builder and still getting the hang of a few techniques and touches like aftermarket mono-eyes (something I'm starting to use now). I'm guessing you're refering to a ratcheting joint? If so the DMK-01's joints are prebuilt around polycap sleeves and rods.

Rob's picture
Posted by Rob on 17 January, 2012 - 08:37
Ratcheting Joints

Yes, exactly. With all the custom made toys & kits blooming all over the web market, I've been fascinated & intrigued with the technique of producing ratcheting joints used for making custom transformable bots. I'm not sure if they've been used for those nifty garage kits I saw every now and then. The most recent one was movie Prime toy that I similar to this kit you've just built & reviewed for us.

I thought I should ask if you know some other modellers & toy makers like yourself who made their own ratcheting joints from scratch..

Diakron's picture
Posted by Diakron on 17 January, 2012 - 13:46
Well no then

Nope, sorry, scratch building is still one of those techniques I haven't picked up to learn yet. Only joint technique I know is drying glue on the ends of polycaps and stems to tighten a weak joint.

Rob's picture
Posted by Rob on 17 January, 2012 - 13:56
Online Stores

Okay then--if I can ask you this one last important question, are there any other speciality stores online that sells polycaps or ratcheting joints separately?

Diakron's picture
Posted by Diakron on 17 January, 2012 - 14:12
Hobby Link Japan has a huge

Hobby Link Japan has a huge selection of joint parts for scratchbuilding/kitbashing. There's balljoints and polycaps galore, and either Kotobukiya or Yellow Submarine sells imitation Revoltech joints that are pretty good.

Prometheum5's picture
Posted by Prometheum5 on 17 January, 2012 - 14:16
Appreciation

My humble thanks to you for the helpful tips Mr. Miniberg. I've been wanting to make a custom robot for sometime now. This information will be beneficial for the upcoming modeling projects I have in store for my studio.
An aspiring review Mr. GunplaRob. Thank you also for your time & input.

Diakron's picture
Posted by Diakron on 18 January, 2012 - 17:07
Thanks not necessary

The swell of gratitude is not necessary good reader,I'm always happy to answer questions to which I know answers to and defer to others with higher knowledge (I'll let Prometheum take it from here). I'm juggling the ideas about getting into the aftermarket add-on parts such as the Kotobukiya machine parts (vent covers, mono-eye cups, etc) because I'm starting to use gel decal mono-eyes by Hi-Q Parts with my fledgling Zeonic models. I'll post something in my blog to show something I just threw together over the holiday.

Again, thanks for reading!

Rob's picture
Posted by Rob on 19 January, 2012 - 08:24
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net