CollectionDX Network

OMFG! Series 3

Comments

14 comments posted
I'm actually sort of put off

I'm actually sort of put off by the name, only because it reminds me that the days of toys made for kids is over. Dumb name. It breaks me out of enjoying this series like a kid with a stack of Garbage Pail Kids.

Scrubby's picture
Posted by Scrubby on 10 November, 2013 - 13:59
Yup

I thoroughly agree here. I started writing up a big rant following up on this, but I'll just say that the name will prevent me from buying these for my kids.

fujikuro's picture
Posted by fujikuro on 11 November, 2013 - 11:22
Toys are no longer made for

Toys are no longer made for kids because the product is named after an internet phrase kids use all the time...?

VF5SS's picture
Posted by VF5SS on 11 November, 2013 - 11:38
So you don't see a problem if

So you don't see a problem if a company like Schleich released a Smurfs "Oh My F*cking God" figure set in Walmart? Like that's perfectly acceptable for five year old kids?

Scrubby's picture
Posted by Scrubby on 11 November, 2013 - 23:12
Maybe, maybe not. I do have

Maybe, maybe not.

I do have an issue with someone griping about how, "the days of toys made for kids is over" when that's definitely not true. In fact, collectible randomized figures are at an all time high these days.

VF5SS's picture
Posted by VF5SS on 12 November, 2013 - 07:33
Have you been to toy fair?

Have you been to toy fair? How about Comic Con? Do you watch the CollectionDX videos with Adam's comments? Have you noticed that the bulk of Japanese toys being made are small stripper dolls with an emphasis on their breast size?

In all seriousness though, I would like to think that most toys are really still made for kids, but it's really not true anymore. Even Star Wars figures and super hero action figures are made with the adult figure collector as their target.

Scrubby's picture
Posted by Scrubby on 12 November, 2013 - 11:12
You do realize that's not

You do realize that's not what it stands for, right? It says so right on the package, to avoid any confusion. So the kids get the meaning as stated on package, and the adults, get the double meaning. It's a win-win.

JoshB's picture
Posted by JoshB on 12 November, 2013 - 09:28
That OMFG doesn't stand for

That OMFG doesn't stand for "Oh My F*cking God"? Uh huh, right.

Scrubby's picture
Posted by Scrubby on 12 November, 2013 - 11:07
It's your dirty mind, not

It's your dirty mind, not mine.

JoshB's picture
Posted by JoshB on 12 November, 2013 - 11:10
I agree 100% with your take on designer toys

Josh, I agree 100% with your take on designer/art toys! Toys are art - no need for the delineation. However, the OMFG line is a cottage industry which I can support - an interesting, well designed, high quality line which enhances the M.U.S.C.L.E. legacy. I purchased my first set just a couple of weeks ago. My kids love this style of toy and so do I! Their cutesy-creepy designs are just plain fun! These toys owe their lineage to the early Keshi Gomu capsule toys all the way. Also, the populous aspect of their design is reminiscent of how some early Kinnikuman fan designs later became production sculpts. Another similar toy line to check out is "Mystical Warriors of the Ring" - a PVC, "flesh" colored mini figure line focused on the Pro Wrestling theme.

MaakuZ's picture
Posted by MaakuZ on 10 November, 2013 - 17:52
So true about them acronyms...

Funny thing... not long before I came across this review, I watched that recent Futurama episode where they spoofed GI Joe, battling a COBRA like organization aptly called... A.C.R.O.N.Y.M. (A Criminal Regiment Of Nasty Young Men).

Harvey's picture
Posted by Harvey on 11 November, 2013 - 12:34
C'mon Let's not pretend what

C'mon Let's not pretend what OMFG means, and it's clear out of all the acronyms in the world the producers of this toy choose it for what it's common meaning is.

I typically equate Designer toys with and older teen and adult toy phenomenon and it's clear the producers chose it for the irony or in-joke. To pretend otherwise is missing the irony/ In Joke that the people who produced the toy intended. These designers are adults and they are clearly aware what name they were choosing for this project.

This could be marketed as a kids toy but clearly the makers wanted to keep this in the Adult/older Teen market by the name they chosen for the product. I'm sure they're very comfortable with that choice.

There is nothing wrong with toys marketed to adults as there is nothing wrong with parents choosing what not to buy for their kids.

LF

Showapop's picture
Posted by Showapop on 12 November, 2013 - 12:44
My own opinion aside, this

My own opinion aside, this would make an awesome kids birthday party present but there is no way I would risk letting my kid give away a present with a name like this. The mother's in my neighborhood would not find this funny at all, and I could see many of them getting rid of it before their kid noticed what it was. I would seriously encourage these guys to consider putting out a repackaged version with a more kid / family friendly name because the price is perfect for a kid's birthday party gift.

Scrubby's picture
Posted by Scrubby on 12 November, 2013 - 18:00
I think it would have been

I think it would have been more funny if they just wrote "Outlandish Mini Figure Guys" on the package and then let adults and teens figure it out for themselves.

Now that would have been funny!

I'm a big fan of Find A Grave and when referring to it online I always have to write out the entire website for obvious reasons.

LF

Showapop's picture
Posted by Showapop on 12 November, 2013 - 19:10
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net