CollectionDX Network

Mighty Max: The Maximum Man

Comments

24 comments posted
Though I would probably not

Though I would probably not buy one, I've always been somewhat intrigued by this toy, due to it's connection stylistically to the Henshin Cyborg/Microman universe but also to the 75cm Tomy Giant Robot that came out in the 60s, which uses a similar style to connect all the limbs and set the stage for the later Robot Factory jumbos..

"You can't sell it until you get it from him, but you gotta sell it to pay him to get it to sell it".
---Jerilock, talking about me trying to raise the money I need to pay for the toys I already bought....

NekroDave's picture
Posted by NekroDave on 1 May, 2010 - 14:18
Ooh...I would love to see a

Ooh...I would love to see a review of that bot. Looks pretty sweet.

The Enthusiast's picture
Posted by The Enthusiast on 2 May, 2010 - 21:49
And I would love to do a

And I would love to do a review of it.. but unfortunately, I don't own one. I do know it comes in two colors, gold and silver.

"You can't sell it until you get it from him, but you gotta sell it to pay him to get it to sell it".
---Jerilock, talking about me trying to raise the money I need to pay for the toys I already bought....

NekroDave's picture
Posted by NekroDave on 4 May, 2010 - 17:36
fantastic Review. I've seen

fantastic Review. I've seen this thing a few times, but never thought to pick one up. This review changed that. Awesome.

------------------------------
CollectionDX Admin

JoshB's picture
Posted by JoshB on 1 May, 2010 - 17:15
Me likey

and for 10$ that's cheap!

Berserk's picture
Posted by Berserk on 1 May, 2010 - 21:24
I remember this from my

I remember this from my youth. This toy is no joke, every kid wanted one, but then Star Wars happened I guess. All the other toys got obliterated by Kenner Star Wars.

I found a MM at a flea a decade ago and I can't seem to part with it. The figure itself is LIGHT WEIGHT, but sturdy and fun. Another variation is a stubby orange plastic screw driver that is sometimes included. This guy definitely holds his own in an "odd man out" sort of way

Materialist Zen's picture
Posted by Materialist Zen on 2 May, 2010 - 08:01
Wow, it's like you guys have

Wow, it's like you guys have been raiding my toybox lately!

I'm pretty certain I've still got my boxed Max upstairs in storage. LOVED this toy as a child. It never even occurred to me that his head was a Henshin Cyborg ripoff. Ha!

Lots of play value in this guy, and with no official backstory to get in the way anything was fair game. He made a great spaceman or robot, as the situation demanded. And the joints were so unique. The point was to lock him into funky poses on his vehicle, whether he was riding it or using it to climb. It he'd had floppy regular joints, it never would have worked. Jousting was particularly fun.

japester's picture
Posted by japester on 3 May, 2010 - 01:45
I had this as a kid. I just

I had this as a kid. I just thought of it as a giant Micronaut. In fact, not positive if I remember this correctly, but don't the holes on him line up to the size of Micronaut toys?

I tried to bid on one a few months back, but it went for over the $20-30 I bid.

turk
--
The time you enjoy wasting is not wasted time.--Bertrand Russell

turk96's picture
Posted by turk96 on 3 May, 2010 - 03:34
Most excellent...

I totally want one of those. That's the kind of cool Japanese offbeat toy I could really get behind. Now I must search one out for $10. Assuming I could find one for that price.

InfiniteHollywood.com

Newton Gimmick's picture
Posted by Newton Gimmick on 5 May, 2010 - 16:43
If you're referring to

If you're referring to Mighty max, it's an American toy, not a Japanese one. :-)

japester's picture
Posted by japester on 5 May, 2010 - 23:07
Japanese toy

Actually, this was also issued in Japan. I have a pic of it, if anyone is interested. I've been wanting one of these for a while, but other things come up. As turk96 said, they typically run a bit more than $10, but not too expensive.

Kingboy D's picture
Posted by Kingboy D on 6 May, 2010 - 16:26
Review

Lovely review.

Max is indeed a fantastic, and much overlooked addition.
He's a big solid toy, and displays beautifully, like a supersized Microman.

I'm pretty new here..long time lurker.. so just wanted to pop up to say hello.

I have a small collection of Gundam/Clover/Takara 70/80s stuff and a few big things like the 1/12 Gundam RX78-2. stuff..
I'll get pictures taken soon.

I draw comic books, so when I'm not doodling, I'm looking for the toys I wanted when I was a kid (I lived in Tokyo as a child).

Thanks for all the enjoyment this site has brought me..it's lovely to see collectors politely and kindly review toys, collections and their reminiscences.

Rufus

RUFUS_DAYGLO's picture
Posted by RUFUS_DAYGLO on 8 May, 2010 - 11:38
Welcome, Rufus! I think one

Welcome, Rufus!

I think one of the strengths of CDX is its civility and inclusivity (though Macross discussions can still be a little prickly). I'd love to see your collection or artwork. Most of us are old-skool comic nerds, so we'd all love to see your work, maybe in a blog entry.

The Enthusiast's picture
Posted by The Enthusiast on 9 May, 2010 - 21:43
And that one Valvrave kit

And that one Valvrave kit review.

Tetsuryu's picture
Posted by Tetsuryu on 11 August, 2014 - 12:28
malaise

"A rare glimpse of malaise-era Tomy goodness."

"It’s like something out of a Russian Constructivist painting, angular and severe. And just look at this poor bastard. He may have a sweet motorized skateboard, but this man has known sorrow."

Your grim tone here really cracks me up.

recognizer's picture
Posted by recognizer on 10 May, 2010 - 17:30
Many thanks Mr E! I'll get

Many thanks Mr E!

I'll get photos taken of my collection ASAP.

I draw the new Tank Girl books, so if you google my name, you'll find art pretty easily!
We have a couple of face book pages, and our official TG website too.

Just had another Clover Gundam DX arrive this morning, (The one that fires the plastic disks out of it's chest)..and Dougram Magnetic model. I am 10 years old..hear me roar!

RUFUS_DAYGLO's picture
Posted by RUFUS_DAYGLO on 12 May, 2010 - 10:47
Wow!

You drew the new Tank Girl stuff? Wow! That's awesome!

Ginrai's picture
Posted by Ginrai on 12 May, 2010 - 12:25
Thank you..I hope you enjoy

Thank you..I hope you enjoy them!
I really want to talk Alan into writing a Giant Robot/Mecha story..but maybe I'll save that for a seperate project!
I'd love to do a take on Dougram.

RUFUS_DAYGLO's picture
Posted by RUFUS_DAYGLO on 13 May, 2010 - 03:54
Robo Wheels

The first thing that came to my mind when I looked at this was the Hot Wheels Robo Wheels line that came out in the 90's. I wish I would've picked a few up back then...

Scarfang_The_Slayer's picture
Posted by Scarfang_The_Slayer on 9 August, 2014 - 12:16
Ah Robo-Wheels! Those were

Ah Robo-Wheels! Those were awesome. Plex designed those for mattel. I remember they were release in the early 2000's decade. The line lasted for a year or two. Fun toys, but a little fragile. Their torso limb posts where the arms and legs would clip onto could bend easily if you were not careful posing them. And NEVER pull the robots from their metal car chassis. Always pop the arms and legs free from their connection points with a fingernail and then remove and unfold the robot from its compacted car mode, otherwise you could bend the torso limb joints.

netkid's picture
Posted by netkid on 9 August, 2014 - 16:14
Early 2000's sounds about

Early 2000's sounds about right. Lol. I remember seeing those during my youth. Unfortunately, like many other cool but not very well known toylines, as soon as they appeared on store shelves they would somehow vanish into the unknown...:-(

Scarfang_The_Slayer's picture
Posted by Scarfang_The_Slayer on 9 August, 2014 - 19:23
Vanish? Pfftt!!! Those Robo

Vanish? Pfftt!!! Those Robo wheels sat and sat and sat on pegs around me. Though as a kid on a small allowance and birthday money, this was to my advantage. Only the second series was somewhat hard to find, that is until KB toys got it in stock. The tire-headed humvee robot, race tracks, and jet-to-robot car transports sat on shelves the longest.

netkid's picture
Posted by netkid on 9 August, 2014 - 22:28
Car transports? Were there

Car transports? Were there playsets and different size classes in the second series? If so, dang. Missed that bus. Lol.

Scarfang_The_Slayer's picture
Posted by Scarfang_The_Slayer on 13 August, 2014 - 21:41
Yep. Came in two colors (one

Yep. Came in two colors (one good, one evil). Transforms from space shuttle/pane to robot and fires a missile.

These sat, and sat, and sat on my ToysRus store's shelves. They couldn't give the things away. Same with the two track sets. The little cars sold well though.

http://tulispendek.blogspot.com/2014/02/nostalgia-2.html

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Hot-Wheels-Robo-Wheels-Tranz-Blaster-Blue-Positronz-Mega-Transformautos-2001-NEW-/281399403221?pt=Diecast_Vehicles&hash=item4184b622d5&nma=true&si=GGErv5FncAAItS9xvshdLD2bDuo%253D&orig_cvip=true&rt=nc&_trksid=p2047675.l2557

netkid's picture
Posted by netkid on 14 August, 2014 - 10:10
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net