CollectionDX Network

Megazord

Comments

16 comments posted
Sad Laughter

I remember thinking "WTF" when I watched the Toys that Made Us episode about Power Rangers. How Haim Saban has made all these mega money making decisions throughout the brands history.......only to take the brand license from Bandai America, who was devoted to it, and hand it off to Hasbro, who's never going to put their best foot forward with it.

Yes, they make money if Power Rangers does well, but it'll never line their pockets like Transformers, Nerf, or any of their other creations will. The Megazord's head looks nice, but this otherwise looked like crud from day one.

Does not inspire hope for the Thunder Megazord.

Optimal III's picture
Posted by Optimal III on 26 August, 2020 - 19:41
Yeah whatever

You're an idiot. Hasbro actually has put good effort into Power Rangers - more than Bandai America was doing from post-Operation Overdrive. I'm pretty sure the reason Saban skipped adapting Go-Busters was because Bandai America were incapable of adapting the much-more-articulated-than-normal Go-Busters mecha to their budget and pricing needs. By the time you posted this Hasbro had already done what Bandai America could not in that regard, and by this point have continued to excel with both the Dino Fury line and a Lightning Collection masterpiece version of the Dino Megazord.

This is basically the 2010 Zordbuilder recreation of the Dino Megazord except with arm articulation beyond shoulder rotation, and for $5 less than a WFC Leader. Not too shabby by today's costs and prices.

ZeldaTheSwordsman's picture
Posted by ZeldaTheSwordsman on 1 April, 2022 - 03:37
Do not call that other user

Do not call that other user an idiot. You're responding to a two-year-old comment, and you may know something now that they didn't have access to previously.

Also, Hasbro needed a spin-up time from when they got PR in 2018; this was their first attempt at an in-house design after they literally scrambled to make "Beast Morphers". More-than-likely Hasbro used stuff that BA had given them as inspiration for the PRBM line, and then Hasbro had to learn to do it on their own from customer feedback.

So I think you need to lay off a bit.

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 20 April, 2022 - 18:04
Without knees, all that hip

Without knees, all that hip and thigh articulation is pretty much useless. Damn Hasbro, I am disappoint.
Either this is it, or they have a more expensive, better one planned for fans, and this one is just simplified for kids.
Here's hopin'.

netkid's picture
Posted by netkid on 26 August, 2020 - 22:06
Hardly useless

The hip articulation is for transformation first and foremost, as per the original. And the thigh articulation helps the Tyrannosaurus, and can still pull off some poses (feet turned outwards instead of pointing straight ahead, for instance) even without knee articulation.

Knee articulation is certainly doable and even straightforward with the Dino Megazord, but it's a bit more work than you might think. The way the Tyrannosaurus' legs collapse (rendering its knees useless for the job) means that giving the Megazord knee articulation requires engineering the Triceratops and Saber-tooth Tiger's combining sockets to be separate pieces from the rest of their bodies and mounted on ratcheting swivels.

As for "simplified", the only simplifications are that the Sabertooth and Triceratops lack working wheels and the Triceratops' gunbarrels are molded as one with the tail. A downgrade from the original, but it was also seen with the Zordbuilder recreation (which, unlike this, was just as much of a brick in the arms department as the original so...)

And hey, you got your wish of an expensive collector-aimed one.

ZeldaTheSwordsman's picture
Posted by ZeldaTheSwordsman on 1 April, 2022 - 03:50
This is definitely for kids

The almost simplistic transformation, lack of detailing and the toy feels it's a few steps away from being a Happy Meal toy reeks of a kid's toy. Plus, kids won't even recognize this Megazord at all. Factor in the price and availability - good luck on that.

I don't know anymore what's worse - the Beast Morphers Zords or this one.

makaikishi's picture
Posted by makaikishi on 31 August, 2020 - 08:37
Yeah, for the full price when

Yeah, for the full price when it's all said and done after sales tax, they really should've just put all 5 of these in a single box for like $45-50.

netkid's picture
Posted by netkid on 3 September, 2020 - 08:34
Neither

Your whiny ass, that's what's worse

ZeldaTheSwordsman's picture
Posted by ZeldaTheSwordsman on 1 April, 2022 - 03:51
Boo-hoo

Maybe you need to call yourself a whiny ass instead, seeing as your posts are mostly whining in this site. And calling people names over a toy review? This is why tokusatsu fans will always be stigmatized as man-children as long as people like you continue to act like babies on the internet. GROW UP, kid.

makaikishi's picture
Posted by makaikishi on 4 April, 2022 - 19:31
Hey, cool off. His attitude

Hey, cool off. His attitude is not "man-children".

I can tell you with absolute certainty that, after what Hasbro has been doing since 2007 with their Transformers line, their early attempts at PR are definitely below-the-line in terms of quality. Not only are they inheriting a toy line with significantly-simpler transformations and combining, but they probably didn't have the exact same people working on PR early on that they had committed to Transformers.

That DOES NOT make the other user a "man-children" for calling out Hasbro over a legitimate issue. I just-so happen to agree that there were a lot of BA-quality decisions that Hasbro made early on, which are reflected in the above figure, so much so that I didn't get it either.
There are many things to complain about PR's toy lines over the decades, and the above is simply one of those, not the only one.

Now, both of you need to take a step back, breathe, and think. There's no reason to be toxic over a ____ing children's toy that is very clearly aimed at adults who grew up with such nostalgia.

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 20 April, 2022 - 18:15
Uh, yeah...

"The almost simplistic transformation, lack of detailing and the toy feels it's a few steps away from being a Happy Meal toy reeks of a kid's toy."

I think I already pointed out the issues with the toy itself in the first place and the mere fact that it's still a kid's toy (the label says ages 4+) despite aiming for adults as well due to nostalgia. Also, Josh already pointed out the issues on his last paragraph that I agree with.

I don't know what else to call a person other than a "man-child" for his consistent condescending attitude towards people and whining for the sake of whining but the only toxic person here is the one calling people names for having a different opinion and whose comments are nothing but whining in the first place especially on reviews that have been made years ago. People may have valid opinions that are different than mine once in a while but at least I don't call them idiots firsthand.

makaikishi's picture
Posted by makaikishi on 23 April, 2022 - 04:56
By the way...

Regarding Josh's comment on the Beast Morpher Zords...

"Not only did it look bad, but each component was so expensive, I would have easily spent over a hundred dollars to get the whole set, that is if you could ever find them at stores."

I didn't believe these Zords were expensive at first but upon seeing just one Wrecker Zord set in a local toy store, it was priced at $42 and the rest of the Zords were unavailable everywhere I looked. Forking more than $100 to build an Ultrazord that's not really well-made is utterly ridiculous.

makaikishi's picture
Posted by makaikishi on 4 September, 2020 - 07:12
You know so little it's almost cute

Zords and Megazords have largely been bricks for years and years and years. That is their default design standard.

But the mecha of Tokumei Sentai Go-Busters (the source Sentai for Beast Morphers) were a radical departure. They were substantially more articulated, both in the individual mecha and the combined robos. On par with modern Transformers. Go look up a review of Go-Buster Oh. I have no doubt in my mind that this complexity is why Saban wound up skipping Go-Busters - with how much Bandai America had to water toys down, there was no way they could successfully adapt those designs, and to try would have been a garbagefire.

But Hasbro did what they could not. Hasbro adapted the Go-Busters mecha designs for the American market, articulation intact. It made them cost more than the usual bricks would have, but it was very successful.

As for the Beast-X Ultrazord not being well-made... If you think it's ugly, that's most likely PLEX's fault rather than Hasbro's - after all, it's PLEX's design rather than theirs. If you think it's not well-made quality-wise, then by all accounts I've heard from people who own the thing, you're wrong.

ZeldaTheSwordsman's picture
Posted by ZeldaTheSwordsman on 1 April, 2022 - 04:13
More whining so pathetic, it's almost funny.

Good luck to people taking you seriously after your meltdown, seeing as you're COMPLETELY incapable of handling other people's opinions whatsoever.

makaikishi's picture
Posted by makaikishi on 4 April, 2022 - 19:28
You're an inept whiner.

Sooo much of what you said in this is wrong, or just you being a whiny smeghead with no perspective.

See my comment above for why you're talking completely out your ass when it comes to the Beast Morphers Zords.

For my money, you have exactly one valid complaint: The molded fake wheel nubs on the Triceratops Dinozord. I agree that the treads should have been left flat if they weren't going to do actual wheels. Unless the fake ones help it perform better on carpet.

That hole on the top edge of the Tyrannosaurus' chest that you keep whinging about is small and easy to overlook - I don't know why you find it so hard to do so. And it was the best solution for connecting the Mastodon head to the chest - it was a hole there on a spot that's easy to tune out due to the angle (especially when you have the head to focus on instead), or a much more obtrusive hole or clip on the *front* of the chest.

The Pterodactyl is only leaning too far back in tank mode because you HORRIBLY screwed up the transformation. The Tyrannosaurus is supposed to be leaned forward on its hips all the way (as if it were in standalone dinosaur mode), and the Mastodon arms should be straight at the elbow and rotated at the *shoulder*. Congratulations: You made all the people who forget to push the Tyrannosaurus' hip buttons on the 1993 version to tilt the knees forward look competent by comparison.

Why does the head not rotate? Because of the way its transformation works. Accommodating both that and head rotation, while keeping it structurally sound? That's a bit beyond the reach of this price level.

Why no knees? Because they'd be more complex than you'd think thanks to how the Tyrannosaurus' legs collapse, and sadly it seems that was a bit more than the budget for this could deliver.

As for the price... You do realize that, collectively, you're getting a 5-component combo comparable in overall size (although not mass, most likely) to a CW combiner... for $5 under the price of a WFC Leader, yes?

ZeldaTheSwordsman's picture
Posted by ZeldaTheSwordsman on 1 April, 2022 - 04:35
Oh look, the little whiner returns with more complaints.

'Nuff said. Get over it, baby.

I'm surprised that Josh allows people like this baby to openly call him names in his own site.

makaikishi's picture
Posted by makaikishi on 3 April, 2022 - 22:30