CollectionDX Network

Maximillian

Comments

17 comments posted
I love The Black Hole! I

I love The Black Hole! I don't suppose there's any hope for a coming review of the B.O.B figure?

SpaceRunaway's picture
Posted by SpaceRunaway on 16 July, 2008 - 08:24
I reviewed the medicom old

I reviewed the medicom old bob here

http://www.collectiondx.com/node/627

but i dont have the mego one, sorry

------------------------------
CollectionDX Admin

JoshB's picture
Posted by JoshB on 16 July, 2008 - 10:53
Cool! Another commercial

Cool! Another commercial with a toy terrorizing a cat!

Plaid Stallions just recently auctioned off some old promotional materials with pics of V.I.N.C.E.N.T. and more Black Hole prototypes; like games, walkie talkies, etc..

"This must be settled the way nature intended....with a vicious, bloody fight!"
Onyx Blackman
Principal, Flatpoint High

NekroDave's picture
Posted by NekroDave on 16 July, 2008 - 10:20
I remember having toy lust

I remember having toy lust for the Maximillian when I was a kid. I would get my birthday or Christmas presents and try to figure out if it was an action figure, then hope that it was Maximillian. I only saw the Mego commercial once, but that was enough for it to stick in my brain.

xiombarg's picture
Posted by xiombarg on 16 July, 2008 - 10:46
Heaven & Hell

That short six year period of Disney films, under the Direction of Card Walker and Tom Wilhite, produced some of the best cinema of the period: the Fox and The Hound, Tron, the Black Hole, The Black Cauldron, the Last Flight of Noahs Ark and a film that I hear is disturbing as well that I haven't seen The Watcher in the Woods. They all had a dark and intellectual themes about them and have stuck deeply with me to this day.

The Moment they realize the "robots" are humans and they pull off that Chrome mask.....is still one of the most disturbing scenes I've ever seen. I wish they would upgrade a special edition of the DVD. All around a beautiful film.

I had the Mego V.I.N.CENT as a kid and loved it and wished I still had it. Great review and I love when DX-ers break out these 7T's Mego Toys.

Thanks!
LF

We'll fight them on the Beaches!

Modcineaste's picture
Posted by Modcineaste on 16 July, 2008 - 10:53
Watcher in the Woods is now

Watcher in the Woods is now on DVD and I recommend you watch it. Seeing that movie, even now at 34, freaked me out. Seeing it at age 5 arguably scarred me for life, as did Black Hole.

Another in that group of distinctly mature films was the adaptation of Ray Bradbury's "Something Wicked This Way Comes".

duke togo's picture
Posted by duke togo on 16 July, 2008 - 11:15
You know, the only one I

You know, the only one I have not seen (and loved) out of that list is Watcher in the Woods. We have such similar tastes, Leonardo.

You are going to SDCC?

------------------------------
CollectionDX Admin

JoshB's picture
Posted by JoshB on 16 July, 2008 - 11:18
The Black Hole has a special

The Black Hole has a special place in my heart. I saw it in the theater at the tender age of 5. Having seen Star Wars at age 3 in the theater, sci-fi was pretty much burned into my psyche early on, and this one was almost cooler to me than Star Wars. It was so much darker and human than Star Wars, and even though the movie has some very rough spots where reality flies out the window, (even though just prior to it the science of vacuum and pressure was made clear) it is more akin to 2001: A Space Odyssey with some Star Wars thrown in.

I had the Mego figs, all I have left is Vincent, several moves and 30 years later is hell on toys you had as a child. The medicom toys are excellent, where Vincent and Bob are near perfect re-imaginings of those figures in modern style, Max is unfortunately made stubby due to the Kubrick nature of the toys.

I do have the model kits and those are exceptional in spite of the fact that MPC is a horrible model company with fit issues and shoddy molding, even by 1979 standards. Just about every gimmick the robots do in the film is represented in the kits, with the lack of a Bob and Star kit being the biggest injustice.

Nice to see these mentioned.

duke togo's picture
Posted by duke togo on 16 July, 2008 - 11:04
Ernest Borgnine kicks ass.

Ernest Borgnine kicks ass. He was in Gattaca, another great sci-fi movie.

"Dinobots, destroy Devestator!"-Optimus Prime TFTM

Goldenage's picture
Posted by Goldenage on 16 July, 2008 - 12:31
Watcher in the woods is a

Watcher in the woods is a great eerie film. Loved it.

xiombarg's picture
Posted by xiombarg on 16 July, 2008 - 12:39
Watcher In The Woods

Agreed, it's a must see. I remember being a bit disappointed by the ending and I know there were some problems with that aspect of it. But overall, it's a great movie and scarier than 99%, maybe even 100% of the horror movies you see today.

"This must be settled the way nature intended....with a vicious, bloody fight!"
Onyx Blackman
Principal, Flatpoint High

NekroDave's picture
Posted by NekroDave on 16 July, 2008 - 12:53
This movie is great, and

This movie is great, and really has a dear place in my heart as well. My neighbors and best friend had one of the first VCRs ever, and The Black Hole was one they owned. We watched this everyday, and just let it run in the background while we played Star Wars or whatever. It was great, and the end of Norman Bates still ranks as one of the most disturbing scenes of my young life, right below the Lost Ark melting Nazi faces off.

Oh, and I had one of these MAXIMILLIANs, too. Wish I knew where it was these days.
----
"Hey, uh...let's volt in."

Gigamach's picture
Posted by Gigamach on 16 July, 2008 - 18:54
An era of unloved villains..

This figure is a glaring reminder that villains were still somewhat in an era of often being lower on the priority scale. You would think that Maximillian would be given the royal treatment of action figure design as he is perhaps the most memorable and most charismatically designed of the Black Hole figures, but alas, nay.

xiombarg's picture
Posted by xiombarg on 16 July, 2008 - 23:36
Model Rectifier Company

Model Kits? Did someone say Model Kits!? I completely forgot about those Black Hole model kits, now I've have to locate them, hopefully they are not too expensive these days.

One thing I hate about those MPC/Ertl/AMT kits is all that soft plastic used in the kits but I'm glad they were around as they made some killer subjects that no other model kit company would touch by the late 70's. Check out their Giger "Alien" Model kit...for kids!!

Josh, our history of how we got into anime and such match very close, especially after hearing your Destroy all Podcasts interview by Jeremy....just replace the shops you went to to Pony Toy Go Round and Funny Business and change the locations we lived at.

I'm not going to the convension but I don't mind driving down to San Diego and meeting up for a pint...let me know what days you'll be out here.

I'm quite surprised we only have one Mego toy review on DX, I'll have to see if I have any in my collection somewhere, but if we are going to kick it off this is one of the finest to start with.

Cheers!
LF

We'll fight them on the Beaches!

Modcineaste's picture
Posted by Modcineaste on 17 July, 2008 - 00:26
OMG disney made that film...

OMG disney made that film... wow

_____________________________________________________________________________
Transformer and other robot art by me on my DA site blitz-wing.deviantart.com

Blitz's picture
Posted by Blitz on 19 July, 2008 - 11:37
I havent watche the black

I havent watche the black hole since i was a kid but there is a scene where maximillian has a closeup shot of his face that has become etched in my memory. I have to use scarred because that is pretty much the effect this movie has on a lot of people who watched it as a kid. Very powerful stuff to watch as a young kid

chachipower's picture
Posted by chachipower on 14 December, 2011 - 13:10
There are a lot of great hair

There are a lot of great hair raising scenes in the film.

The scene where Anthony Perkins looks into his own reflection in the chrome face of the drone while in the garden is fantastic.

Second is when Robert Forster is walking through the former quarters of the crew. That entire, wordless moment in the film, maybe a three minute scene at the most, is so well done and acted and paced brilliantly and is important to the mood for the rest of the film. Always love that scene.

We also must not forget the John Berry Soundtrack that just sets the tone of the film. I really did to find the CD/LP of it!

Leonardo

Modcineaste's picture
Posted by Modcineaste on 14 December, 2011 - 14:08
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net