CollectionDX Network

Maia Sterling Shadow Fighter Vol. 1 - REISSUE

Comments

16 comments posted
1st Review

Great job Sushispook! Hope you will do more. :)

________________________________________
CollectionDX - Assistant Editor - Writer

Atom's picture
Posted by Atom on 5 March, 2010 - 17:18
So many toys fall through

So many toys fall through the cracked, thanks for the in depth review. I won't buy one until you, Atom or Josh approve it like the Beta.

Cheers
LF

Leonardo Flores
CollectionDX Staff Writer-West Coast Bureau

Modcineaste's picture
Posted by Modcineaste on 5 March, 2010 - 18:35
Fantastic first review, sir!

Fantastic first review, sir!

servbot30's picture
Posted by servbot30 on 5 March, 2010 - 20:13
great review

And good luck with the cats... btw I like the purple-ish color...

Berserk's picture
Posted by Berserk on 5 March, 2010 - 20:38
Pat yourself on the Back

For a job well done! Nice diction throughout the review and many details were covered. I think you're a more than capable reviewer.

Mechaninja's picture
Posted by Mechaninja on 5 March, 2010 - 20:59
Nice review

Nice 1st review, man! Keep 'em coming!

Personally, after getting two bad Veritechs and two very, very bad Alphas, I am done giving Toynami money for this toy. Obviously they still need to recoup for all that development money.

If they really wanted to fix it, they'd completely re-do the arms and legs, and make sure the thing can transform into Fighter mode without the arms on top flopping about. Until then, I can't get behind it.

I am still kicking myself for not getting the old Gakken one when I had the chance, and SushiSpook, if you don't have one, that's a great toy.

The Big R's picture
Posted by The Big R on 5 March, 2010 - 21:44
excellent debut! I was eager

excellent debut! I was eager to see how the second release came out. Keep 'em coming!

The Enthusiast's picture
Posted by The Enthusiast on 5 March, 2010 - 21:57
Good review

Nice to see that they have stepped up quality. My Alpha is being sent back this weekend (one of the green VFA-6I) after the quality being so bad I couldn't stand it anymore. My Green Beta fighter is sad and lonely, and will stay that for a long time, if not ever.

synic's picture
Posted by synic on 5 March, 2010 - 22:17
After owning my

After owning my indestructible Gakken version, I thought, gee, let me buy the Aoshima version(pretty much same as regular toynami version with slight updates) without reading any reviews. Got it, opened it and stabbed my face for buying it. Absolutely horrid. Cracked legs and arms out of the box, crumbs falling out of box but guess what? At least the factory worker decided to GLUE it back together before shipping it out. HLJ assured me that this wasnt a resold return item and I trust them. Told me to return it but I wasnt even down to even bother, what a waste. So that is indeed the very last Alpha I ever buy from Aoshima/Toynami. Id get the CMs but they look weird to me

Anyways good review!

chachipower's picture
Posted by chachipower on 5 March, 2010 - 23:59
I've got all 3 of the large

I've got all 3 of the large Gakken versions (in varying states of quality, none quite mint), and the 3 versions that only go from Armo-Diver to Legioss mode. I know there's another version that does all 3 that I had as a kid, but the way the wings had to come off and on during transformation ensured that their days were numbered (in one case, it wasn't days, but hours).

Even with that, it's clear that I could probably use them as a melee weapon for home defense. I know many people have opined that someone would snap-up the molds and re-release them, but who knows where the molds are, and the development costs would be pretty huge for such a gamble.

I'm with you on the CM's - they're crazy durable, but outrageously expensive and the proportions are far too cartoonish. Putting on side by side against a Toynami/Aoshima, it just looks *off*. I will say that the CM's Beta version transforms buttery smooth, like it almost *wants* to transform - but again, ugh... the price is off-putting.

SushiSpook's picture
Posted by SushiSpook on 6 March, 2010 - 14:00
My love of purple and the

My love of purple and the Legioss design isn't strong enough to make me want to buy this despite its flaws. Poor Armo-Diver, you're even worse off than gerwalk mode.

Mike's picture
Posted by Mike on 6 March, 2010 - 01:07
I wish my first review was

I wish my first review was this good!

"You can't sell it until you get it from him, but you gotta sell it to pay him to get it to sell it".
---Jerilock, talking about me trying to raise the money I need to pay for the toys I already bought....

NekroDave's picture
Posted by NekroDave on 6 March, 2010 - 01:15
Nice review sir... I do own

Nice review sir...

I do own this figure,but like the other comments, seems that i've been shortchanged by toynami....The last that i got from them that i would have no complaints is the 25th anniversary voltron...This figure though, has a lot of defects..sad to say my figures foot slides back down and the hands are not sculpted right..the flaps for the missile flap came off when i slowly opened it up..such a shoddy performance for a supposed to be limited figure...

badman1014's picture
Posted by badman1014 on 6 March, 2010 - 11:25
Holy smokes!

Guys, thank you for all the kind comments - I really appreciate it!

My focus is pretty much on Macross/Mospeada/Robotech, so I'm not sure how many reviews I'll churn out in the future, but I hope I get the chance!

BTW - Apologies for the quality of the pictures (especially the first fiew, showing the flaws as I unboxed it). At that point, I hadn't even considered writing a review and was hastily "liveblogging" my unpacking to a couple of forums. I've got a camera tripod on order, and I'm gonna pick up a small studio box to take better pics in the future. Once I get the tripod, I may consider tossing up a video review as well.

Thanks again for the nice comments - it's a good start to my Saturday!

SushiSpook's picture
Posted by SushiSpook on 6 March, 2010 - 13:24
Haha, dude, the picture

Haha, dude, the picture quality is already leagues ahead of anything I could do, you shouldn't be apologizing.

Mike's picture
Posted by Mike on 6 March, 2010 - 13:56
Excellent review!

Great review!
I have to point out, though, that you transformed the arms wrong in plane mode. This is a common error, due to the fact that Toynami often shipped these things incorrectly transformed. When I opened my Scott version, the hands weren't in the arms properly, and the jet covers were popping up.
When you transform it into plane mode, you have to make certain of two things: 1) carefully transform the arms first when going into plane mode and 2) make sure the legs are pushed all the way forward/up (toward the intakes).
Carefully pre-setting the arms allows you to know how far forward the legs should be in plane mode. When they are alligned properly, there will not be a gap between the shoulder and the forearm, as in your picture. That is, of course, until you touch it, and it will promptly pop out.
Such potential for one of my favourite mechs.
Again, excellent review!

RainBot's picture
Posted by RainBot on 14 March, 2010 - 10:51
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net