CollectionDX Network

Mad Max:The Road Warrior Interceptor

Comments

12 comments posted
Mad Max

I'm not a car person, so I'm not gonna comment on the review above because that would be unfair of me. (Although, I don't think that's how you spell "booby trap"...)

Heretical as this sounds, I've seen the first two MM movies... did not like either one. You have to see the second to get what's going on in the first, and the second was disjointed. So far as I can tell, the only reason people like these films is the open road and the car in the review above.

*hides*

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 7 March, 2011 - 21:06
fixed

was not edited out because " quotes" but you were correct and I fixed.

AJProDie-Cast's picture
Posted by AJProDie-Cast on 7 March, 2011 - 21:41
Wow, this thing is sweet. As

Wow, this thing is sweet. As a kid I would be entranced by the movie and I would always want to watch it but it only came on once in a while. The second I had a chance to buy it for myself I did. I now have all formats. Mel Gibson is annoying to me now but this movie is darn good. Not for everybody I can tell you that much.

I really want to pick up this piece, and dont get me wrong, it deserves a spot in my collection, but I always get sidetracked with robots. I hope one day this ends up being an impulse buy that I later feel buyers remorse about and then soon after end up being glad I bought because its awesome. Thanks for the review, I enjoyed it.

chachipower's picture
Posted by chachipower on 7 March, 2011 - 21:44
But

Can you put a figure in it?

I've always wanted a 3 3/4" scale Last of the V8 Interceptors. For my imaginary custom Max Rocketansky figure.

Hell when they made the MM/Road Warrior toys I wanted an Interceptor in scale (that the figures wouldn't be able to sit in because they had piss-poor articulation).

As to the gent above who decried the series - to quote the dude: "Well, that's just like your opinion man."

Having seen the second movie first (as I'm sure a LOT of Americans did since Mad Max wasn't even released in the US when "The Road Warrior" hit movie screens in 1982) I can honestly say that the first movie is completely irrelevant to enjoying the second movie. And that the second movie is NOT just a rehash of the first, it actually has a lot less character arc and story. It's a straight-foward balls-to-the-wall action/adventure flick with great, great car chases. If you can't like it for just that...well I dunno man...your loss.

wildwill's picture
Posted by wildwill on 7 March, 2011 - 23:01
No

No, you can't put a figure in it. It's a little too small in there to fit any 3-3/4-inch figures in there.

There's a guy on eBay from Japan who's been making and painting these 1:18 statues that are simply incredible and look great with the car. The detail is amazing. He's sold a bunch so far and they usually go for $175+.

As a kid, my dad and my uncle were obsessed with the 1st "Mad Max" - actually the 1st film was shown in New York City in a theater in Times Square in 1979 or 1980, well before "Road Warrior" made it's way here to the US. I remember standing outside in line with my father in new york, waiting on line for the video store to open, the day of the release of "Road Warrior" on VHS. I remember that it was over $150, and I had never seen that much cash before, or my father so excited to bring it home. It was well-worn out and wouldn't play anymore by the time I hit high school in the mid-90's.

A classic set of films, despite Mel's drunken inexcusable idiocy. I really can't think of a movie that did post-apocalypse better. I also can't think of any post-apocalypse movies that haven't ripped it off utterly, from Terminator to today... Fist of the North Star is a complete stealing of a lot of stuff in Mad Max and I can't get past it to watch the show and enjoy it. Each one of the Max films has it's own vibe (horror, action, fantasy) and are a lot of fun, especially when viewed with a healthy sense of humor.

The Big R's picture
Posted by The Big R on 8 March, 2011 - 12:42
cool...but

cool they make figures but more than the car seems wrong somehow...still searching for a scale hans solo for my code 3 millennium falcon...

AJProDie-Cast's picture
Posted by AJProDie-Cast on 8 March, 2011 - 21:25
Mad Max was released in the US in 1980.

It didn't do very well.

Most car culture movies then had gone the Smokey and the Bandit comedy route at the time. And I first saw it when I was 11 or 12 on HBO (would have been 1980-81). Most of my gearhead classmates had seen the film by the time Road Warrior came out...The title change confused us, the first film had a cult following by then.

But it doesn't surprise me that younger generations aren't fans. :P

BraveMSW's picture
Posted by BraveMSW on 8 March, 2011 - 13:33
niice

I love the fact that CDX can try something new every once in a while and do a review like this about a model car rather than just stick to robots. Any chance we'll get to see KITT from Knight Rider or the DeLorean from Back to the Future anytime soon?

Mazinkaizer's picture
Posted by Mazinkaizer on 10 March, 2011 - 10:02
KIt of KITT

Quite funny Tuesday a co-worker received a box hot wheels and other car relate items and was going around to every desk asking if people wanted to buy anything. I asked him if he had any kits and he said yes. The kit was the ATM model of KITT from Knightrider! Don't know when or if I will get to it but at least one of us from CDX has one!

Cheers
LF

Showapop's picture
Posted by Showapop on 10 March, 2011 - 11:40
well

I have both versions in diecast...i think a car based on a sci-fi tv show should count on this site...It is why I collect chogokin but have those tow cars the mad max one and some bat-mobiles/Mach 5

AJProDie-Cast's picture
Posted by AJProDie-Cast on 10 March, 2011 - 22:10
Both versions? are you

Both versions? are you talking about the weathered version? Which do you prefer of the two, I saw the weathered one on HLJ and it looked pretty awesome.

chachipower's picture
Posted by chachipower on 14 March, 2011 - 20:25
yeah..

Yeah the weathered version is so much better...because part II was all about wasteland...how could the customize car for an apocalyptic environment... ever be so clean...wish the clean version was the unaltered Mad Max version...but will deal. It goes for like 50 dollars more than regular, so waiting until it hits the US

AJProDie-Cast's picture
Posted by AJProDie-Cast on 14 March, 2011 - 21:15
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net